We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marmite”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Some people will love this place - others not. I liked it. It has a nice sense of itself - unassuming and rather old fashioned. The service was very good if rather 'old school'. You certainly have to be a fan of relaxed shabby chic. We ate in one evening and this was a bit of a disappointment. The setting was wonderful, the menu appealing and a good wine list. But food was small in quantity and poorly presented. The kitchen could do with a kick! What I liked most was the refusal to glitz up, to create an over priced spa and instead maintain a wonderful, freezing open air pool, and you can't beat the beach.

I'd happily go again, but I can understand why some reviewers are less generous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Wow.. Glamping - yes Please
We had such a good in the in the Yurt. Fantastic Views over looking the sea. We felt so special staying here. Any minor nigles that people may have about the hotel in their reviews are more than surpassed in the Yurt. The most comfy bed. Gorgeous bathroom, Lovely toiletries.(Molten Brown).
We had dinner in the island room, which was lovely. Walked back to the Yurt in the dark with a candlelamp ( we forgot the torch provided in the yurt). It was beautiful.
We woke up to the sound of the waves lapping the shore. No better sound. Breakfast was wonderful. Our waiter for breakfast was superb. Breakfast was amazing, Fruit, pastries,Salmon, Cereals, Jams ( I am still dreaming about the homemade strawberry and vanilla jam). every fruit juice one could imagine then a wonderful full English. We will be back next year without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The welcome, quality and cleanliness of room, delicious meals, service, and location all combined to permit us to enjoy our first trip to the IoW.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel could be incredible but doesn't quite do it. Its in a great place with its own (very attractive) private beach. Lots of grounds and extremely pleasant staff. Restaurants were OK rather than brilliant and cooked breakfast was a bit average. The grounds needed some work doing. We were given Room 20 initially which we found rather depressing but we were able to change to Room 3 which was fully panelled and overlooks the patio. My overwhelming impression was that the owners are economising on maintenance which, given the price they charge, seems inappropriate - at £240 a night B&B on the Isle of Wight I expect things to be in top order. The grounds and some of the decoration certainly were not up to standard

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyscout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I loved the setting, the parkland grounds, the small private footpath to the beautiful sandy beach, the outside pool, numerous terraces and overall feel of the place is fantastic. The Bar menu is great, but was dissapointed in the 'Fine Dining Menu', thought it was unispiring (not a fan of vast menus) but this menu was too limited and the waiter said the Brasserie menu was not available in the restaurant (found that petty as we were residents) we had booked in. The game starter was Chicken (is that game?) and Pheasant ( Is that in Season?) But the staff were attentive and friendly, and the whole vibe was pure relaxation, apart from the Extractor Fan in the bathroom which came on when the light was turned on and lasted at least 35 minutes, it was beyond annoying, like trying to sleep with a generator in the room!!! Still, the whole feel of this hotel was wonderful and I will return (but will insist on a different room) and will eat from the Bar/Brasserie Menu next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We (my husband and I and my 74 year old mother) arrived on Friday evening having made a last minute booking at Priory Bay. We wanted to relax and unwind and the hotel, staff and hotel grounds certainly helped restore us all to a sense of well-being. The staff were friendly and helpful - they offered to arrange our ferry crossing with our booking, and to take our bags on arrival. During our stay, I personally prefered the unobtrusive, considerate attendance which we experienced. We stayed in main hotel and the rooms were what we expected and had experienced in the past - one was very light and airy - the other rather romantically lit. This is not a brashly modern 4 star chain hotel - nor is it overtly opulent in the style of Le Manoir for example - it is simply a quiet, relaxing country house hotel. It has a certain ambience, a shabby chic, that exudes charm if that is what you are happy with - and which was very relaxing . The outdoor pool is bathed in sunlight and stands to one side of an old ruined building surrounded by a lawn with plenty of chairs and loungers to relax on. The pool is relatively large and unheated and utterly refreshing after a stroll on a hot summer's day - it has a 2m deep end tapering to about 50 cm at the shallow end - but keeping a depth of about 1.2 meters for most of its depth meaning you can swim reasonably good lengths. The beach accessed from the hotel grounds is simply divine - clean, quiet as it is isolated from the rest of the island except via long coastal footpaths, and sandy with clear water (i.e. not muddy). With the new A3 Hindhead tunnel recently opened this was all accessible in just 21/2 hours door to door. The food was excellent - we had a taster menu with taster wine one evening and found this very reasonably priced - do try the sea bream if you get the chance. A place to relax and enjoy a slower pace of life.

Room Tip: Do mention if you want a light airy room or would like to be adventurous or rather more romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saucisson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Fabulous! What a wonderful, positively different experience we've just had staying at The Priorys yurt. Set in woodland, overlooking the beach a short walk to the hotel where a bounteous breakfast and friendly service awaited. Befuddled as to how this place could get anything buy good reviews! The most comfortable bed I've slept in, molten brown products, iPod dock, games, books and quirky furniture they had thought of everything. Beach fab, service friendly and unpretentious, grounds a wonderful mix of manicured and wild, great for kids, dogs or just couples looking for a relaxed romantic get away.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbd2008-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
459 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
441 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range: £78 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing