We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting for a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Lovely setting for a wedding. Food was great and Reception staff were excellent especially for all their help with our 2 month old baby. Just watch the service charge added to drinks served at the bar!

Room Tip: Room 14 - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    77
    60
    56
    29
See reviews for
132
170
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a 2 night stay with our 2 young children in the first week in September 2011, Priory Bay is a delightful place to stay, we loved the shabby chic look, the service, the private beach and swimming pool. The high tea for children at 5.30 was excellent, the staff were flexible and responsive. We stayed in rooms 14 and 15, which worked well as the kids were at the end of the short corridor, 15 is noisy in the early part of the evening, however we were undisturbed after 9pm ish and not at all at breakfast. Room 14 is lovely, airy and light with mute shades and very relaxing. We enjoyed both restaurants, seafood was excellent. We would recommend highly and will be returning.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholsonDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you want to have a relaxed and enjoyable break with the ability to dip and and out of the facilities as and when you choose, this is the place for you. Service was excellent - understated and not intrusive; the hotel may not be pristine but reflects the qualities that you want - to feel at home and not in an interior design masterpiece; the beach superb - on a warm day with the boats bobbing at anchor, it is not too far a leap of imagination think that you are somewhere far further south. The hotel is what you make of it - if you want to enjoy it, there is everything there for you to do so.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Some people will love this place - others not. I liked it. It has a nice sense of itself - unassuming and rather old fashioned. The service was very good if rather 'old school'. You certainly have to be a fan of relaxed shabby chic. We ate in one evening and this was a bit of a disappointment. The setting was wonderful, the menu appealing and a good wine list. But food was small in quantity and poorly presented. The kitchen could do with a kick! What I liked most was the refusal to glitz up, to create an over priced spa and instead maintain a wonderful, freezing open air pool, and you can't beat the beach.

I'd happily go again, but I can understand why some reviewers are less generous.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Wow.. Glamping - yes Please
We had such a good in the in the Yurt. Fantastic Views over looking the sea. We felt so special staying here. Any minor nigles that people may have about the hotel in their reviews are more than surpassed in the Yurt. The most comfy bed. Gorgeous bathroom, Lovely toiletries.(Molten Brown).
We had dinner in the island room, which was lovely. Walked back to the Yurt in the dark with a candlelamp ( we forgot the torch provided in the yurt). It was beautiful.
We woke up to the sound of the waves lapping the shore. No better sound. Breakfast was wonderful. Our waiter for breakfast was superb. Breakfast was amazing, Fruit, pastries,Salmon, Cereals, Jams ( I am still dreaming about the homemade strawberry and vanilla jam). every fruit juice one could imagine then a wonderful full English. We will be back next year without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The welcome, quality and cleanliness of room, delicious meals, service, and location all combined to permit us to enjoy our first trip to the IoW.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel could be incredible but doesn't quite do it. Its in a great place with its own (very attractive) private beach. Lots of grounds and extremely pleasant staff. Restaurants were OK rather than brilliant and cooked breakfast was a bit average. The grounds needed some work doing. We were given Room 20 initially which we found rather depressing but we were able to change to Room 3 which was fully panelled and overlooks the patio. My overwhelming impression was that the owners are economising on maintenance which, given the price they charge, seems inappropriate - at £240 a night B&B on the Isle of Wight I expect things to be in top order. The grounds and some of the decoration certainly were not up to standard

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyscout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing