We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those place you would never leave”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I've got a superoffer on Booking, so I spent really few money comparing the room, the place, the location we had...simply perfect! We ordered breakfast from the menu (not included in the price) and I think was a bit poor but for the rest nothing more to say! Geeat!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maro2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and very much appreciate your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival receptionist on phone so we waited patiently, then another member of staff arrived behind desk to ask reception a question. Receptionist , instead of dealing with us then proceeded to deal with the staff question. We still waited. Once spoken to staff friendly and helpful . Especially Don who served us, however on having finished our meal a lady then proceeded on taking our plates before Granddaughter had finished .
Therefore beautiful setting , lovely food, very expensive, as most foraged, oh you pay more for that.!!!
AND one more thing , if u have a gated swimming pool , get a lock for it .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesleyiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Whilst we are pleased you found the setting to be beautiful and the food to be lovely, we are very sorry to hear we did not provide you with an exceptional level of service at all times.

I would like to thank you for alerting us to the issues you encountered and I can reassure you that your comments have been acted upon swiftly and the issue regarding the gate beside the pool has since been addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First visit to IOW. Brilliant country house hotel. Took a friend for a big unbirthday treat and had two wonderful top floor rooms to ourselves. Ralph organised a surprise unbirthday cake for our friend. Food great. Lovely beach. Helpful staff. I was able to play nine holes while the girls sipped champagne.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brian889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and very much appreciate your kind feedback which we have since shared with Ralph.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night and got a great last minute deal for a superior room. Room 4 has amazing views over the grounds and the ocean and is triple aspect so loads of natural light. Super comfy bed and great size room. The grounds are beautiful and the private beach is just perfect. We had our 2 year old with us and brought our own travel cot as the hotel charges £20 for theirs. We bought food locally and made a picnic to take to the beach for dinner as we didn't wish to disturb the other guests with our noisy son! Its a bit of a walk to the beach but its a pretty woodland walk and the beach is lovely and sandy. Breakfast was excellent, my husband went for the cooked option and i went for the continental buffet with delicious croissants and fresh fruit. Highly recommended.

We would have preferred room service for breakfast or dinner but the rooms don't have any menus, although it is possible to get food delivered to your room, it's not easy when you don't know what is available! It would be wonderful if the hotel changed this.

We would have rated 5/5 stars but our stay was slightly marred by a phone message from the hotel less than an hour after checking out, wrongly accusing us of "accidentally taking" the 2 bathrobes! We soon received a second call apologising for their error as housekeeping had later found them but it would have been nice if a more thorough search had been carried out before they called us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and very much appreciate your kind feedback.

We are very sorry regarding the issue with the bathrobes, please accept our sincere apologies for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I say not perfect because the price charged reflects high end hotels but there were a few details wrong, like the dreadfully stained carpets, cheap plastic milk in the room, a rather depleted buffet table at breakfast. Its a shame because the potential for perfection is there with a wonderful setting, tranquil location, lovely building, great comfy bed and staff that tried hard to please. These are the important factors so we would go back.
We were disappointed that the ex Noma chef had moved on but the food was excellent - very high end at remarkable prices. I made the mistake of ordering a steak (that a chef can't do much with) but everything else was scintillating.
Overall, if you can afford it, or get a special deal, this is a lovely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bond1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at the Priory Bay Hotel.
We are addressing the areas you have highlighted and please be assured that your breakfast experience was not representative of our usual standards of service. I am sure that you will find the breakfast service to be much improved on your next return.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very disappointing for the money. Only two sandwiches and no offer of more. Had to ask for more tea jam and cream. Unfortunately the cups were not china they were thick coffee cups. On the positive is a beautiful setting and we had a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Priory Bay is personally dealing with the guest and issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We booked The Tithe barn for 2 nights which was labelled as self catering - despite no fridge, facilities and the place looking like a sad chalet from the 70s. The jacuzzi bath didn't work and the place was tatty and run down. Dinner was expensive and average (Dan's Kitchen in nearby St Helens was significantly better). The whole place was tatty and in desperate need of TLC. The unfriendly Manager didn't ask if we'd enjoyed our stay - which was just as well! Spent over £600 for 2 nights bed and one dinner. Really disappointing. Surprised the other reviews were so positive

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Priory Bay Hotel is personally responding to the guest and all issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
460 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
441 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing