We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful location situated close to its own private beach. An added bonus were sightings of red squirrels and a woodpecker in the hotel grounds. The bedrooms and communal space are both charming and elegant. The restaurant provides the most perfect food served with great style. The staff were excellent; the front of house manager deserves a special mention for being friendly and helpful. This is a beautiful hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDR0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and appreciate your kind feedback which we have now passed onto the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    77
    62
    56
    31
See reviews for
135
172
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here (my husband having read about it 10 years or so ago and always wanting to visit) for a two night honeymoon. We had room 12 - a most peaceful and calm room, up at the top of the hotel with a balcony and far reaching sea views. The beds were so comfy and it was a perfect honeymoon hideaway. The hotel's location is really special - from our room, all we could hear was the wind in the trees and the sea - a real break from noise and bustle. The walk down to the beach is lovely - and we swam in the sea every morning before breakfast and then walked across to Seaview for crab sandwiches and pints of Ale of Wight at the Old Fort. The hotel has a certain faded glamour about it - so if you want swank - this is probably not the place for you. However, the food is top notch and lots of the staff were delightful (Sarah and Ralph on reception, James the sommelier). What it fell down on was, in part, we think start of summer season hiccups - (i) some of the staff were unsure about procedure; (ii) although we had arranged some champagne on arrival as it was our honeymoon, it never materialised; (iii) although a beach hotel, beach towels are charged at £2 a time (it would be great if one beach towel per stay/day could be absorbed in the cost of the room like so many other beach side hotels); (iv) although we had half board, the bill did not initially take account of this and it needed to be pointed out; (v) we booked a tennis court for half an hour and were not told of the charge until check out - we also had to wait for our court as people who had not booked were playing when we arrived. These are minor points and, had it not been for these the rating would be higher. We certainly plan to go back very soon - next time with our children as it was a great place for them - lots of lovely grounds to run around in and the lovely secluded beach.

Room Tip: Room 12 had amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlottaSeafarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful Honeymoon at the Priory Bay Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you took some wonderful memories away with you and have since shared your feedback with the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have spent many happy holidays on the Isle of Wight and one of the high points has always been a visit to the Priory Bay Hotel, where we usually have a morning drink, a trip to the beach, then return for a light lunch; and occasionally we also book for an evening meal.

Last Monday, holidaying in St. Helens, we anticipated our usual treat. We arrived at about 10.30 and ordered Tea and Biscuits and sat in the beautiful grounds on a perfect Summer day. The waitress explained that the biscuits were not quite ready, and did we mind waiting – no problem in such surroundings! The tea arrived, and after about half an hour – the shortbread, still warm; the teapot was replaced, and the waitress said that as we had to wait, there would be no charge for the biscuits (which were delicious, and well worth the wait).

We had a lovely morning on the private beach, and returned for a light lunch. We ordered sandwiches, and being vegetarian, the only choice was ‘Gallybagger’ Cheese + red onion pickle. , which we ordered plus a portion of chips and cold drinks. The drinks arrived, and after a wait of more than 30 minutes, the sandwiches arrived.
These were a great disappointment – even when served the bread was dry and starting to curl up, there was a very thin layer of cheese which did not reach the edges of the bread (and one still had rind attached), the pickle was sparse and the spread (butter?) too had not covered the complete slice. The garnish was limp and yellow – only the chips were just OK.

Having waited so long, and being hungry, we ate what we could, and I went to reception and paid the fairly high price (£33.75 for 3 of us). I then reported that the sandwiches were not up standard and explained why (certainly not what one would expect of such a hotel).
A lady standing at the desk immediately told the receptionist to ‘refund the gentleman’s money’, she apologised and then left (the receptionist said she was the manager, who had probably gone to sort out the kitchen.)
Whilst our complaint was handled impeccably, and the staff were, as usual pleasant, the two long waits we endured (when there were hardly any other diners) and the substandard lunch makes us reluctant to return (we certainly didn’t book an evening table – we went to Ganders instead and had a fabulous meal).
We are returning to the Isle of Wight in September, but regretfully will be reluctant to return to the Priory Bay Hotel.

PS we later Googled Gallybagger and found this to be an Isle of Wight cheese – made with unpasteurised milk (perhaps a warning should be added to the men?)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Priory Bay Hotel is personally responding to the guest and all issues raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I had an amazing wedding weekend at Priory Bay hotel, we booked out the hotel with the majority of our guests staying on site - we had a fantastic time! The location is amazing, with beautiful forest, pristine grounds (including 6 golf holes and tennis courts) and access to probably the best beach on the Isle of Wight.

We had a beautiful sunset BBQ at the shack overlooking the beach on the Friday night, with fantastic food, fresh mackerel and burgers and salad and drinks. Wedding on Sunday went perfectly, the hotel itself is a beautiful venue with amazing drawing and sitting rooms, the main Oyster Room restaurant was transformed for our ceremony and reception dinner. The waiting staff were great and bar staff also fantastic. We were also very lucky with the weather, hot and sunny which is unlike England!

Must say a big thank you to event organiser Darren and head of the ceremony Ralph, who were brilliant throughout and made our weekend as stress free as possible. Service was fantastic the whole way through and we couldn't have been happier. All of our guests were raving about it! Definitely recommended if you're thinking of having a wedding there.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are great, they're converted attic rooms, with great view of the bay and surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizza_IW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent wedding at the Priory Bay Hotel.

We are thrilled you and your guests had a fantastic experience and that you were impressed with the food and service we provided throughout the weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in hopefully the not too distant future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I've got a superoffer on Booking, so I spent really few money comparing the room, the place, the location we had...simply perfect! We ordered breakfast from the menu (not included in the price) and I think was a bit poor but for the rest nothing more to say! Geeat!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maro2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and very much appreciate your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival receptionist on phone so we waited patiently, then another member of staff arrived behind desk to ask reception a question. Receptionist , instead of dealing with us then proceeded to deal with the staff question. We still waited. Once spoken to staff friendly and helpful . Especially Don who served us, however on having finished our meal a lady then proceeded on taking our plates before Granddaughter had finished .
Therefore beautiful setting , lovely food, very expensive, as most foraged, oh you pay more for that.!!!
AND one more thing , if u have a gated swimming pool , get a lock for it .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Whilst we are pleased you found the setting to be beautiful and the food to be lovely, we are very sorry to hear we did not provide you with an exceptional level of service at all times.

I would like to thank you for alerting us to the issues you encountered and I can reassure you that your comments have been acted upon swiftly and the issue regarding the gate beside the pool has since been addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

First visit to IOW. Brilliant country house hotel. Took a friend for a big unbirthday treat and had two wonderful top floor rooms to ourselves. Ralph organised a surprise unbirthday cake for our friend. Food great. Lovely beach. Helpful staff. I was able to play nine holes while the girls sipped champagne.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryBay, Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Priory Bay Hotel and very much appreciate your kind feedback which we have since shared with Ralph.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory Bay Hotel in the future.

Best regards


Danielle Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
447 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing