We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, service and perfect quiet location”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and perfect quiet location”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We booked in at the last minute for a wedding anniversary celebration and they put us in the large seaview room which was a fabulous room to relax and chill out in, with great views across the Solent. We had dinner there on 2 nights, the first in the formal dinning room and we were hugely impressed with the service and the food. The second night they had a corporate Xmas party in the hotelthat had booked up both dinning rooms, but they offered us options on where to dine (either in our room or in the pub) every effort was made to make us feel comfortable and the service and quality of food remained high. We throughly enjoyed time reading in front of the fire and going for walks - look forward to going back again in summer and enjoying the private beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    77
    60
    56
    29
See reviews for
132
170
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cock Bank
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A bit tricky to find down a narrow lane. Sat Nav was useless suggest you phone when nearby. Small car park, pretty stone building, oak beamed bedrooms beautifully decorated. I had to move rooms because of poor WIFI coverage on higher floors but done straight away with no fuss. Food is pricey but very well cooked and presented. I had one of the best steaks I have had for some time. Public areas really nice. Top rooms would be a struggle for those who can not manage stairs easily. Breakfast was good as was watching the Red Squirrels at their feeder just outside the window of the breakfast room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandlynnCockBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryde
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

i havent been to the Hotel/Restaurant in years but after this experience i will defenetly be back soon. we were greeted by the very charming and professionel Restaurant Manager. Had a absolutely out of this world dinner experience complimented by the Managers knoledge and excitment in combining our dessert with a liquior that couldnt have been more suitale for topping just the best dinner in a long time . The flavors of the dishes were outstanding and i was very happy to be told they were from the local orchard and locally sorced. as my Partener is i chef he was also very impressed and stated it was the best meal he had in a long time , worth easely three rosettes!
thank you very much !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed at the hotel in 2009 and had one of the cottages to ourselves. Food was great, all clean, nice bathroom, and the staff friendly. Not sure why it isn't a 4* tbh. The beach area was beautiful and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine__1985_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed in a room which was all wood panelling, a lot of it original. There were original floorboards in the bathroom and the suite was in keeping with the age of the hotel, beautifully done. It suited the time of year, might not have the same effect in the summer. Good breakfast, well served.
Worth a visit if you like old world charm.
Word of warning - we booked on-line and the post code on the website took us into a housing estate! We had to phone to get the correct one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed here on fleeting visit with children. Took one of their cottages with well equipped kitchen and sitting room which was ideal for a family. We have stayed on the island a number of times and would say Priory Bay has unparalled location on the island with a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Only a short walk down their sandy beach. Delicious food and relaxing for parents to sit on terrace enjoying views while kids romped around in garden. would denitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Soooo pleasantly surprised by this hotel but did check it out with Johansens guide !!!!! We have stayed in Johansen recommended hotels in so many different locations....this was equal to Chateau de Bonaban in La Gousniere, St Malo with its room size and tasteful decor and furnishings BUT far surpassed french cuisine; excellent menu, brilliant service, great pastry and meat chef!!! I awaited the usual thimbleful of vegetable puree with trepidation and those miniscule mounds of artistically presented main meat/fish delights, lined up with the trickle of jus!!! Quelle surprise!!!! Proper food!!! A meal where you can use your teeth and bite and chew!!! LOVED it!!!
Our room was magnificent and I won't be able return unless I get the same room so I am not saying which one in case everyone else gets it!!!! Five windows, two with a sea view, huge bed, large bathroom, cotton sheets( not a glimmer of polyester anywhere!)
Private beach with great walk and golf course and RED SQUIRRELS!! Brilliant service, caring but not intrusive. I loved the lounge which had a piano and the hotel book had photos of an opera they had staged!
We will go back, loved the area. My children's grandparents lived in Western Isle of Wight so over a period of 12 years I have visited , perhaps even 3 times a year. I had never been to Seaview. It is brilliant. Great walks and some lovely coastal visits. An Isle of Wight I didn't know existed.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing