We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Esplanade Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Yelf's Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
265
156
37
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
156
37
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightmain restaurantfront barsuperior roomsmall hotelcourse dinnernew buildingjasmine suiteshort breaklovely hotelbar mealsvenison piestaff were excellenteggs benedictlast weekendgood nights sleepquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stay at this hotel on a fairly regular basis and I don't write a review every time. We last stayed a couple of weeks ago with friends and think that a more recent review's in order!

I'm afraid I have to agree with previous comments (especially RayandJenny) - the hotel is in need of some hefty updating.

I love this place and particularly like this part of the IOW and I really don't want to have to stay at the Northbank Hotel (previous review) or Priory Bay (expensive and a little out of Seaview) so please, please spend a little time and money replacing tired bathrooms and worn carpets.

I think one of the main problems is the recent turnover in staff, quite a few old faces have gone and I think that this has had an adverse effect on the smooth running of the hotel and attention to detail. I think the owner (think it's Brian Gardner still) needs to spend a couple of days at the hotel as a guest to see what I'm talking about.

Saying that, the hotel has a lovely location and is still nice to visit, please don't ever give up on the lovely extras such as hot water bottles in the beds in the winter, horlicks and the lovely soft toy left as a gift for little guests on their first night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were amazed by the negative comments on here. We travelled with our 5 year old daughter for a weekend stay and were amazed by the quality of the service and of the hotel itself. From the moment you walk through the door you are looked after. Our room was in the new annexe and was very plush - even had a tv in the bathtub. There was a lovely bedturning service with horlicks placed by the bed and a cuddly squirrel left on our daughter's pillow. Breakfast was amazing - so much choice and cooked to order. Presided over brilliantly by a lady called Pillippa who had local knowledge and history. We had dinner on first night in the middle bar and our daughter was really made welcome. We nearly cancelled this trip after reading other reviews here but were so glad we took the plunge. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We haved stayed at the Seaview several times before and after a 3 year absence were really looking forward to our return visit. First we were shown to room 3 which we stayed in on our last visit, room looked slighty shabby and now rather dated, and then we remembered about the sound from the kitchen extractor, however the lovely receptionist managed to find us another room (12) which we took. However the bathroom smelt slightly damp and was very dated, the bedroom soft furnishings and carpet look as though they've been there for 20 years and the walls repainted with whatever colour was to hand. We were attending a family reunion on the island so had a light lunch which was very nice and up to standard. The 'little touchs' in the room were just as sweet as ever, a turn down service (rare these days), horlicks and mug at the bedside, slippers waiting and a daily news sheet and crossword. The young staff were delightful,and tried their best, but suffered from a total lack of training, there was only one young man looking after both bars late (sunny) afternoon on Saturday and he didn't know how to make a Pims, it took 30 minutes to get scrambled egg at breakfast on Sunday as there didn't seem to be a proper chef around and we had to have children's cartons of apple juice as proper stuff had run out. We asked to see the manager when we checked out - we were told he was in London for the weekend and there was no duty manager either - and this was the first weekend of the main summer holidays. We were told that the manager would call us today on our return - we're still waiting.Please Seaview management - get your act together, and stop liviing on past glories.
This is a disgrace at quite a high price.

Room Tip: Book the the rooms in the 'new wing' by the car park.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have stayed her regularly over the last 5 years. Whilst the ownership of the property has not changed the management has and this year they far exceeded my expectations. The receptionist who greeted us was second to none and the overall feel of the hotel staff was so much better. It was lovely to see Phillipa again at breakfast She is so much in control carefully guiding and instructing her young team.

The rooms were lovely we stayed in the new block this time. Nice quality shampoo etc and dressing gowns and even an Iron and a fan in the room!!!

The Isle of Wight is really like stepping back in time 30 years its beautiful. Good old fashioned service.

Well done Seaview this year your service and atmostphere overall was so much better - I would give you *****

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WOODWARDS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A delightful hotel with pleasant bedrooms and excellent food. Very close to the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drwinbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews