We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old seaside hotel”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic old seaside hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An unscheduled two day trip to the Isle of Wight landed us here which was very pleasant. The rating is probably 3½ of our stars but we have rounded up. The hotel is set back three or so houses from the waterfront but a walk out the front door takes you to a view to Portsmouth. The building is a classic old seaside hotel with a front ‘saloon’ bar with pub food and a back bar for the locals where you can play darts but also have food but is more ‘pubby’. The back bar is across the main corridor from the restaurant which is quite smart and yields good dining that is not over the top – and the same kitchen provides the good pub food too. Breakfast was served in the dining room as well though I suspect that another room at the front is used for both dining and breakfast when things are busy in the season. Our room was quite adequate with a homely English hotel feel with a modern bathroom. The stairs could be a challenge for the less agile but no worse than any other two story hotel of this ilk. The staff were friendly and helpful and coped very well when an abnormally violent storm hit the area (and many other parts of England) causing the atrium roof over the dining room to create a waterfall across the room in the middle of service. Very picturesque and great entertainment but devastating for the poor staff! But we had a relaxing two days here while investigating the Isle.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    143
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
112
222
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
stratford upon avon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Seaview is terrific if you want comfortable rooms, really good food, delightful staff and, best of all in my husband's eyes, a proper pub with great beer within the hotel. It is in a lovely part of the island with a gorgeous beach you can walk miles on at low tide. Some rooms are better than others, depending on what you want. There are several suites and lots of rooms for couple: Methuen, with its own garden area, is particularly lovely - with a huge bed and outside table. The Modern rooms in a separate block are not particularly characterful but newly furnished, very comfy and with amazing bathrooms (TV at the end of the bath). Some rooms are yet to be upgraded within the hotel itself and only four are dog-friendly. The hotel's self catering cottage, Myrtle, is fine for a casual break. It is nowhere near as comfy as the hotel but good for sandy-footed children and dogs. The tiny sitting room is fine for two adults/two kids but the bathroom is downstairs and two bedrooms fairly basic. We love this hotel for both winter and summer breaks and have become regular visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just had an overnight stay at the sea view hotel, it was so relaxing,the staff were excellent. As for the food, it was amazing, Alan is an amazing chef and it was a pleasure t eat his food. We will defiantly return there in the very near future. Mark and Claire.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We visit this hotel on a fairly regular basis although this was the first time since the New Year ( a bit disappointed with the food then).

This time we stayed in the Vault which used to be the old bank. We love this suite, really quirky and large. Nice sitting and dining area which incorporates the original bank counter. The first bedroom used to be the manager's office and the bunk bedroom used to be the safe. This still has the amazing thick iron or steel (?) door. Nice bathroom with good toiletries.

We were allowed to bring our two small dogs this time but apparently it is something the hotel is trying to curtail. Please don't!

The food has vastly improved thanks to the new chef, Alan Staley. Really good food and the menu at £25 for three courses in the evening was excellent value for money ( my husband said it was one of the best beef dishes he has ever had!) It was our daughter's 13th birthday and Sammy had kindly decorated the table for us. Thank you!

Good nights sleep, very good breakfast in the morning - again a huge improvement and then unfortunately back home!

A lovely stay in a gorgeous location.

Room Tip: Ask for a deal but generally for the views get room 15 or 16 or one of the suites for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I can't quite pigeon-hole this hotel. It is part hotel/bar/B&B/boutique hotel.
We were upgraded to the Methuin Room which was nice. Bathroom was a bit out-dated but clean. Breakfast very good and all staff helpful.
We stayed 2 nights and got little sleep on the first night due to noisy guests in adjacent room (seperated by a dividing door so sounded like they were in our room), the room being too hot (with no thermostat), the glow of the TV standby light ( which you can't turn off) and a huge green light on the ceiling that meant that the room wasn't remotely dark. By the second night I was so shattered that I slept very we'll - think the noisy neighbors had left.

Apart from that first sleepless night, we had a good time so will probably return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge IOW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

You know what to expect from the minute you pic up the phone until the time you pay your bill and leave. Simple excellence enjoyed here always. Thank you for always being reliable. Please note that as as locals to the Isle of Wight we have only used this hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

For some reason it has taken me until past my sell-by date to visit the Isle of Wight (even though for 9 years I lived only 20 miles away!!) Not knowing anything about the island or its accommodation my wife alighted on The Seaview and was so impressed by the attention she received on the phone that we decided to book for a weekend, with our medium sized dog. The room, in the new part at the back, was almost perfect (nice size, very well appointed, with tea and coffee facilities, comfortable bed, and, in my wife's words, a gorgeous bath) etc -could have done with a second bedside light and there was limited drawer space, but these were small niggles). The service is top class, the food was excellent (we had the main restaurant menu in the bar because of the dog, who was made very welcome). Very attentive service even in the bar, a couple of excellent local brews, the best steak and kidney pie I have ever enjoyed. Breakfast also a high standard, again in the bar. Will definitely be back! And the Isle of Wight was a pleasing eye-opener too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing