We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay at this quiet hotel. The food both breakfast and evening meals, was very good and the level of service in the restaurant was excellent. The room was very clean and of a reasonable size; we stayed in a room in the block across the car park at the rear of the hotel. There is a pleasant sitting room above the bar area. Free wifi was also available in the room. The hotel is not far from Osbourne House and the Harding Roman villa which are both worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for room in the new block at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Director of Sales at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit feedback on the hotel and your island experience.

The Rope Walk Modern block also has the benefit of being nice and quiet as well.

We do hope to see you again.

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    142
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
112
219
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we were away for the weekend and landed on the Island without booking a hotel room, found what appeared to be the last room on the Island at the Seaview. The room was overpriced, small and dated but the worst thing was that the fans for the kitchen were on until 11pm non stop, if you are the type of person that likes a siesta don't book room 4 or 5 unless you have good earplugs. we eat at the Seaview and found the food to be good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Front Office Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. As you mentioned you did take the last 2 rooms in the house at a discounted price. We normally make guests aware of the noise from the fans during food service and I am sorry that this was not the case. We are looking into ways of reducing the noise which affects the rooms you were staying in.

Should you wish to return please let me know and I ensure you are located in suitable rooms.

Have a lovely summer

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A warm welcome greeted us and all through our stay everyone was just so attentive and warm. We stayed 4 nights and were luckily bumped up to "the apartment" which was great! The hotel always has somewhere quiet to sit if you just want to be left in peace to recover from the days excursions and the food is a treat. Fresh produce cooked perfectly :-) We stayed B&B and can heartily recommend any breakfast and any evening meal - especially the fish and chips (freshly caught that day) and the Posh seafood Pie - enough for two people or one greedy me.... If you like a warm friendly place to stay with good food and a relaxed atmosphere this is the place. Clean, friendly, accommodating, tasty food and what more can we say - we'll be back.
A big thank you to Abbey, Maisey, Oliver, Ammely and everyone else - and a big thank you to the Chef Bruce :-)
See you soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, General Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
You can't really beat fish and chips by the sea. We use local ale in the batter and all the chips are homemade.

The staff were happy to read your review and to hear you had such a lovely time.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Seaview is a small maritime village on the north-east corner of the Isle of Wight. The hotel Seaview does not exactly have a sea view, but is just around the corner from the waterfront and literally only a stone throw away from the sea. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, and shown to the room on the first floor. First impression: very tidy, lovely maritime-themed and uncluttered. Our room had access to the rear balcony/deck, overlooking the restaurant. What we noticed a bit later is the constant humming noise of the large airductings ventilating the kitchen. We were assured by the staff that it would be silent after 11PM but in fairness I should also say that we were also offered a different room, but we eventually decided to stay in the room rather than moving. The room was really lovely, but it was a bit small, making it difficult to manoeuvre the luggage etc.
We had our dinner in the hotel and this was of excellent quality, very good value for money and again very competent and friendly service.
At night, returning to our room at 11PM, the noise had now stopped, and it was peacefully silent until the next morning. Breakfast is of good quality, giving a choice of English breakfast, egg Florentine, boiled eggs and similar cooked food, plus a selection of croissants and cereals from the buffet.
Overall, we were happy with all aspects of the stay, in particular the very friendly, patient and helpful staff.
We were outdoors most of the day, so did not mind the humming noise from the ventilation, but if you are likely to stay indoors, you may want to book room towards the front.

Room Tip: try to get a room towards the sea side, avoid the back with the humming noise (daytime only) . Not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBNLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Front Office Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay and we were very pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday.

Unfortunately hotel extraction systems can be a little irritating but we are looking at ways to reduce the noise which seems to affect the balcony rooms. We are always careful to switch off the system once the kitchen has closed.

Thank you for the feedback about the food. Much of our produce is sourced from our own farm and many of the fish are landed within sight of the hotel.

We do hope that you return.

All best, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've just stayed for two nights (a special treat for my mother in her eighties) and what an amazing time we've had! All of the staff were exceptionally welcoming, attentive, professional and charming and I promised to give a special mention to Robin and Abi on Reception and of course the superb Chef, Bruce. Philippa too ensured that breakfast time was a delight. As short breaks go, I can't imagine ever being able to top it. Excellent food, wonderful people, fantastic experience. Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, General Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Exceptional *blushes*

That was a lovely review and all the staff were delighted to read your kind words.

Robin is leaving us this year to go to that there London but he has been a fantastic member of the team and we wish him all the best.

Kind regards

Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently stayed for our second time, my parents' first, and were not disappointed. I was able to request the two outside rooms which are lovely and sunny and my parents were really impressed by the decor and the bathroom. (We were anyway). This is where we stayed last time with our dog which was really handy with the outside seating area.
Really like the bar, quite cosy and full of interesting memorabilia.
Lovely evening meal, really tasty and full of flavour. Attentive staff.
Nice breakfast, good choice of food.
Hopefully we will be back again sometime and this time we should try and stay in the main hotel and see one of the rooms there!
Very helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, General Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It was lovely to read your review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

Many people comment on the nautical memorabilia and over the years we have had many kind donations to our display.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraty
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Seaview Hotel in Seaview, Isle of Wight has been a popular destination for visitors and locals alike for many years. Changing hands a few years ago has meant many changes to the look and feel of the hotel. Diners have been disappointed with the quality of the food, long wait to be served and lack of warmth and greeting. Now with a new Chef and under a new management, the hotel seems to be getting back to its old self. New decor and new themed evenings are helping to encourage diners back. Lunched there the other day and had delicious fish and chips served promptly with a smiling and helpful service. Other diners have reported similar experiences. Let's hope this improvement continues ..... good value for money in a not cheap area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for noticing our improvements.

We have all worked very hard this year and everyone is dedicated to making our small hotel the best it can be.

Kind regards

Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing