We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Seaview”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Seaview”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been coming to this hotel and the self catering cottage and apartments for about 4 years and long may it continue. The rooms and very nicely decorated and the location of the hotel is amazing. It is about a two minute walk from the beach which is one of the best beaches we have ever been to for crabbing! It is also dog friendly as is the hotel. The staff are all very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. Is is a small hotel so all the staff get to know you during the stay. Seaview itself is one of my most favourite places in the world. There is so much to do and even when it is raining there is a cinema and bowling 5 mins away in Ryde.

The beach is great for an evening BBQ and there are several shops which sell take away pizzas etc if need be and you don't want to eat in the hotel.

Due to the popularity of the village it is busy and at night can be quite noisy but this normally goes off when the hotel shuts around 11pm. It does not bother us but could upset others!

All the rooms have fans (and good sized ones) for when it gets hot and this has been really helpful this year as so far our summer has been amazing.

The hotel is an easy journe from the ferry at Fishbourne.

Totally love this place !

Room Tip: The apartment for a family is good value with 3 lovely rooms and amazing views. Rooms are quieter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskimo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
And we totally love your review :)

Hope to see you again next year.

Best regards, Tracy MIkich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    142
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
112
219
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Seaview Hotel in a very hot week at the end of July. The double room at the rear in the new wing was excellently appointed, with nice contemporary decor and a comfortable king double bed with excellent bed linen. There was coffee and tea and a complimentary small bottle of water but the room standard cried out for a mini-fridge, mores given the summer heat. The bathroom was excellent and unique with a great C shaped double bath with wet room TV and rainfall shower. Generous set of bathroom goodies and good condition nice size towels. The room was quiet despite having a shared door to an adjoining room, clearly designed for a family, which is fine.
The room was welcoming and we felt at home throughout our stays overnight. The only (seasonal) shortfall was the tiny desktop fan which was a budget buy and a nod to the requirement for some cooling. Given the location and propensity for summer visitors, some thought should be given to providing some cooling fans or standalone coolers for an investment of less than £100 each. The room was stifling and we lost a lot of sleep deciding whether to have the noisy little fan on or baking in the night air with the windows all open (and therefore visible to many traversing the rear courtyard).

The hotel bars and public areas were great and the overall atmosphere was that of a boutique hotel. The staff were all helpful and we benefited from their experience on a couple of occasions, not least when they took our direct booking, they offered free or trade discount ferries, and offer of which we were not aware from online sites.

Breakfast was consistently good, although we would have preferred a premium self service coffee machine rather than modest cups of cona brew coffee which we a bit lacklustre against the quality of the lovely cooked breakfasts.

Check out was easy and the whole experience really excellent, save that we felt the room needed a seasonal refresh of paint. Great team and highly recommended - the location is superb and convenient without the risk of noisy revellers except perhaps during Cowes week or public holidays. The service was personal and discrete throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

as Islanders we regularly visit the Seaview Hotel. The food is always good(lovely chips) the staff are always charming and accomodating and all our friends and family love visiting the hotel with us.There is a good choice of drinks in the very atmospheric bar and a very well thought out menu to cater for all tastes. well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Chip-Advisor

It's always nice to get a review from a local, so thank you very much indeed.

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The mattress on both beds was terrible, cheapest of the cheap. Rooms needed TLC, not very clean, very dated etc. also expensive . Lovely day in lovely small town, sat outside for sandwiches, ordered the roast beef from the menu which said from own farm!.....told by Barman 'Chef says , beef is too expensive for sandwiches, Menu clearly offered and priced at £6.95. A board was put outside offering Roast beef lunch, so they had the beef. JUST NO BRAIN, I asked my partner to check if this was true and the Barman said yes. No explanation as to why the beef was expensive from own farm, why it was on the menu, no apology,nothing. Suggest you stay at Royal Hotel, Ventnor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay in our 2 bedroom self-catering cottage Myrtle. Myrtle Cottage is an old fisherman's cottage and has a vintage feel . Many guests like the old-world charm and the privacy of Myrtle but it doesn't appeal to everyone. I have passed on your comments about the mattresses and we are looking into that - so thanks for letting us know.

There was a misunderstanding about the roast beef sandwich - the barman was referring to the Sunday roast beef which was indeed from our own farm. We had run out of beef for the sandwiches and the roast Newclose Farm sirloin on the special board was hot out of the oven and allocated for Sunday lunch not the sandwiches as we use cold beef for this. I am sorry if this disappointed you.

Best wishes and I hope that you have a lovely summer.

Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break at the Seaview Hotel. Very friendly hosts made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Room was good. Parking charges were paid by host. Amazing prices for accommodation including whole day meal. Breakfast, packed lunch and dinner were excellent with lots of choices in Indian vegetarian food .Very good location on a very nice and quiet road. Short walk to centre or if you don’t fancy walking there is a tram stop at the end of the road. We will definitely visit Blackpool again and will prefer to stay in same hotel. Thanks to Mrs & Mr Jain for a superb stay.”

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoop K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Whilst we would love to bask in the glory of this 5 star review, well it's not...er us.

However I trust I can speak on Mr and Mrs Jain's behalf, to say we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay :)

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay at this quiet hotel. The food both breakfast and evening meals, was very good and the level of service in the restaurant was excellent. The room was very clean and of a reasonable size; we stayed in a room in the block across the car park at the rear of the hotel. There is a pleasant sitting room above the bar area. Free wifi was also available in the room. The hotel is not far from Osbourne House and the Harding Roman villa which are both worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for room in the new block at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Director of Sales at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit feedback on the hotel and your island experience.

The Rope Walk Modern block also has the benefit of being nice and quiet as well.

We do hope to see you again.

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we were away for the weekend and landed on the Island without booking a hotel room, found what appeared to be the last room on the Island at the Seaview. The room was overpriced, small and dated but the worst thing was that the fans for the kitchen were on until 11pm non stop, if you are the type of person that likes a siesta don't book room 4 or 5 unless you have good earplugs. we eat at the Seaview and found the food to be good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview-Hotel A, Front Office Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. As you mentioned you did take the last 2 rooms in the house at a discounted price. We normally make guests aware of the noise from the fans during food service and I am sorry that this was not the case. We are looking into ways of reducing the noise which affects the rooms you were staying in.

Should you wish to return please let me know and I ensure you are located in suitable rooms.

Have a lovely summer

Best regards, Tracy Mikich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing