We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Esplanade Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Yelf's Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
    Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
    US$107
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$112
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Stattons Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
    US$98
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
    US$88
    US$79
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
    US$98
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (478)
    Filter reviews
    478 results
    Traveller rating
    265
    156
    37
    13
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    265
    156
    37
    13
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsisle of wightmain restaurantfront barsuperior roomsmall hotelcourse dinnernew buildingjasmine suiteshort breaklovely hotelbar mealsvenison piestaff were excellenteggs benedictlast weekendgood nights sleepquiet at night
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    258 - 263 of 478 reviews
    Reviewed 4 August 2014

    This review covers only the Restaurant- I came here for two meals with my family and was very impressed.
    The serving staff were friendly and efficient, and the food arrived relatively quickly. Both times I ordered fish and chips and I did not regret it. They were without doubt the nicest I have ever tasted- something in the batter and the mushy peas. The place was always busy but had a nice, civilised atmosphere that I appreciated. The hotel is so nice that someone even wrote a book about it, and they make Seaview Hotel t-shirts which you can purchase. It wasn't exactly cheap but it wasn't extortionate either and, from a place like this, that is surely what you would want.
    Ice cream parlours, the beach, and a Sailing Club are all just around the corner.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jose_1998
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2014

    This hotel is situated on the main high street with fabulous views of the sea. The rooms are clean with large comfortable beds and lovely bedding. The rooms have all you need for a comfortable stay (decent shower, hair dryer etc). All of the staff including the reception, chamber maids and bar and extremely polite and friendly making us feel very welcome and looked after. Breakfast is a buffet and extensive choice from a menu with very good,food. We stayed with our baby which was fine - we provided our own travel cot for the stay. Only negative point is that they charge £10 per night to supply a travel cot whereas other hotels include this in the room rate. Free parking is also a bonus! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will book again.

    Room Tip: Room 16 was at the front of the hotel and was lovely!
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 95Sally95
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 July 2014

    We have been coming to this hotel and the self catering cottage and apartments for about 4 years and long may it continue. The rooms and very nicely decorated and the location of the hotel is amazing. It is about a two minute walk from the beach which is one of the best beaches we have ever been to for crabbing! It is also dog friendly as is the hotel. The staff are all very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. Is is a small hotel so all the staff get to know you during the stay. Seaview itself is one of my most favourite places in the world. There is so much to do and even when it is raining there is a cinema and bowling 5 mins away in Ryde.

    The beach is great for an evening BBQ and there are several shops which sell take away pizzas etc if need be and you don't want to eat in the hotel.

    Due to the popularity of the village it is busy and at night can be quite noisy but this normally goes off when the hotel shuts around 11pm. It does not bother us but could upset others!

    All the rooms have fans (and good sized ones) for when it gets hot and this has been really helpful this year as so far our summer has been amazing.

    The hotel is an easy journe from the ferry at Fishbourne.

    Totally love this place !

    Room Tip: The apartment for a family is good value with 3 lovely rooms and amazing views. Rooms are quieter at the back of the hotel.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Eskimo03
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Seaview-Hotel A, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

    And we totally love your review :)

    Hope to see you again next year.

    Best regards, Tracy MIkich

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 July 2014

    We spent 3 nights at the Seaview Hotel in a very hot week at the end of July. The double room at the rear in the new wing was excellently appointed, with nice contemporary decor and a comfortable king double bed with excellent bed linen. There was coffee and tea and a complimentary small bottle of water but the room standard cried out for a mini-fridge, mores given the summer heat. The bathroom was excellent and unique with a great C shaped double bath with wet room TV and rainfall shower. Generous set of bathroom goodies and good condition nice size towels. The room was quiet despite having a shared door to an adjoining room, clearly designed for a family, which is fine.
    The room was welcoming and we felt at home throughout our stays overnight. The only (seasonal) shortfall was the tiny desktop fan which was a budget buy and a nod to the requirement for some cooling. Given the location and propensity for summer visitors, some thought should be given to providing some cooling fans or standalone coolers for an investment of less than £100 each. The room was stifling and we lost a lot of sleep deciding whether to have the noisy little fan on or baking in the night air with the windows all open (and therefore visible to many traversing the rear courtyard).

    The hotel bars and public areas were great and the overall atmosphere was that of a boutique hotel. The staff were all helpful and we benefited from their experience on a couple of occasions, not least when they took our direct booking, they offered free or trade discount ferries, and offer of which we were not aware from online sites.

    Breakfast was consistently good, although we would have preferred a premium self service coffee machine rather than modest cups of cona brew coffee which we a bit lacklustre against the quality of the lovely cooked breakfasts.

    Check out was easy and the whole experience really excellent, save that we felt the room needed a seasonal refresh of paint. Great team and highly recommended - the location is superb and convenient without the risk of noisy revellers except perhaps during Cowes week or public holidays. The service was personal and discrete throughout.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Bill D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 July 2014

    as Islanders we regularly visit the Seaview Hotel. The food is always good(lovely chips) the staff are always charming and accomodating and all our friends and family love visiting the hotel with us.There is a good choice of drinks in the very atmospheric bar and a very well thought out menu to cater for all tastes. well done to all the staff.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Service
    1  Thank Annette B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Seaview-Hotel A, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

    Chip-Advisor

    It's always nice to get a review from a local, so thank you very much indeed.

    Best regards, Tracy Mikich

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews