We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
266
156
37
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
266
156
37
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightmain restaurantfront barsuperior roomsmall hotelcourse dinnernew buildingjasmine suiteshort breaklovely hotelbar mealsvenison piestaff were excellenteggs benedictlast weekendgood nights sleepquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We had a ground floor room in the new part - essentially this is a separate block, at the back. No view at all, but thats ok. Room was very comfortable, extraordinarily well equipped. there was even a flat screen TV in the bathroom, so you could watch Wimbledon while in the tub. (though the remote control was a bit unreliable). The room was very technology oriented, actually took a while to work out the light switches. Lots of nice touches: bathrobes, home made biscuits, herbal tea...
The only meal we had was breakfast which was (90% perfect, apart from the fact that the 'Assam' tea was Earl Grey. I asked to get it changed and the waitress brought me a box of Twinings tea bags that said Assam, but which contained Earl Grey, so you cant help wondering if they refil the Twinings box from another source. Room was £155 on a Friday night, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Arrived at SeaView and was shown to a beautiful room with 'seaview' at front of hotel that appeared to be recently refurbished. Helpful staff. Lovely location. Excellent meal. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in early June 2009 booking the apartment and another room.

The hotel has a great location and Seaview is very charming but we arrived mid afternoon, no help with luggage up two floors (no lift).

Rooms were very tired. Bathrooms are with a shower attachment on the bath taps so no real showers at all. Room decor and fittings very tired and the hotel generally as though it had seen better days.

The hotel was pretty much empty when we stayed and when I asked at reception for internet access I was confronted with 'are you a resident' - why do you see anyone else around here?

No help with luggage on departure either down two floors. The aprtment is nice enough but only one window has a view of the solent and for some odd reason the chambermaid closes the blind on this window at turn down so that you can't see the view at night or in the morning.

Breakfast was good and the bar has plenty of character and I can imagine that in the height of the summer season it is the place to be in Seaview.

This was the only hotel we stayed at on the Isle of Wight so I can't give a comparison to anything else nearby.

I think the place would grow on you after a while or if you were a regular visitor to Seaview.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Booked the hotel for a 4 day break having seen a glowing review in the Guardian. The food in the restaurant was excellent as were the breakfasts. We had a Modern Room which was over priced at £165 per night B&B. The bar(s) service left something to be desired. The worst point was Sunday, no bar sevice available during the afternoon and when we requested tea/coffee we were made to feel a nuisance (even being asked if we were residents !). Sunday evening was even worse, the restaurant was unavailable due to a quiz night being held, it appears that the owners are more concerned with looking after locals than paying guests. Overall an overpriced stay with service and accommodation not commensurate with prices.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

If you like unspoilt village life, with fantastic beach location then Seaview is the place for you. You will arrive from the short journey from the port in Ryde to find a charming and quaint village next to the lovely seaside. The seaview Hotel a great find - My friend and I with our 4 boys (12 and 15 year olds) stayed in the Brian Gardiner Suite (£345 including breakfast), located directly next door to the main hotel. Fresh, clean with comfortable beds and crisp linen.

We ate in the award winning bar where the prices are reasonable; plently of choice with emphasis on the season and sourced locally - some of which is from the hotel's own farm. Plenty of fish choices too and wonderful puddings to finish! The boys enjoyed their food, and went off to the lounge area to play a selection of board games and select a DVD to watch back at the room later.

My friend and I talked to the friendly staff and locals in the bar and enjoyed our coffee in the lounge later, with the lovely petit fours.
Again, breakfast was cooked to the same standard and with excellent choice - Kippers, Full-English, Scrambled Eggs with salmon etc.

The area is delightful. We had a sunny day and walked down towards Puckpool - the kids enjoying the exercise and exploring the beach. You do not tire of the amazing views of the solent and the lovely properties in the area. The following day we walked into St. Helen's and we had coffee at the Baywatch Cafe while the boys looked for crabs in the rocks.

Overall, a fantastic short break. Our only problem with the suite was having 1 bathroom, which could be difficult for 6/8 people! However, fine for only 1 night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews