We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money making place!”
Review of The Needles

The Needles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large chalk rock formations off the western tip of the island.
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Not great,ok for young kids for about 2-3 hours. Shabby old rides that cost a lot to go on & shops that are expensive!
Best thing about it was the man who made the sweets in the sweet factory & did the talk at the same time,he actually took the trouble to place young kids at the front so they could see,much appreciated. Shame about the greedy people at the end that grabbed handfuls of the sweets to taste instead of just 1-2,hope their fillings fell out!

Thank Breadpuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,199)
There are newer reviews for The Needles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,449 - 2,453 of 3,201 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have visited The Needles park each year that we have been to the island. It is a small park. Car parking entry is £4 per car but you are given some vouchers to use in the park. Attractions are relatively inexpensive. We use Tesco Clubcard vouchers which give 4 x the value. You then use these to buy supersaver tickets (£9 for 12 tokens). The tokens can be used everywhere - restaurants shops as well as the rides etc. The sand ornaments shop is a must where you can make your own sand ornament using the different coloured sands found at Alum Bay. There is a chair lift ride down to the beach - my family do this each year but I have only been on it once as I am not good with this sort of thing! It does give breathtaking views. There are also steps to the beach. From the beach you can get a boat trip around The Needles. The shops sell all sorts of gifts and postcards etc. There is a restaurant and various food stalls. The Alum Bay Glass factory and shop is lovely and high quality gifts can be purchased - again using your tokens. On a Thursday in the summer they have a firework night. The little beaches around Alum Bay are lovely also, particularly Totland and Colwell Bay just up the road. This part of the island is definitely worth a visit!

Thank Sally824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I will never come back..... It has a nice beach but the rest is just horrible. Prepare to pay for everything and be prepared to pay a lot. The entry is still free, which you will see on every advert, but that is just a joke. Avoid .....

2  Thank Flo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Please rest assured that we read every single review and pass all comments on to our management team. If you'd like us to assist with resolving any issues that you may have experienced during your time here, or would like a more detailed response, please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I first visited Alum Bay on a school trip too many years ago to mention. Back then the resort/attraction consisted of a few vendors selling glass test tubes that you filled with coloured sands for the princely sum of 6d (2.5p). There was no cable car, just a delightful walk down the chine to a pebbly beach called Alum Bay. You could buy an ice-cream at the top of the chine along with a fresh fruit seller. I enjoyed my first ever peach here....memories that stay with with you all your life! The place was simple, attractive and innocent.
How different a vision the attraction is nowadays, and what would a ten year old remember of Alum Bay and the Needles in another 50ish years time ?
Charlatanism ? , Naff rides?, Tatty, over-priced shops ? Artificially coloured sands being sold at £4 a go into Chinese made plastic Isle of Wight shapes ? or being charged to watch sweets being made with the sole intention of selling you them later ?.
Welcome to present day Alum bay; now re-branded The Needles Park. This place destroyed my memories in under ten seconds. The entire site is given over to the exploitation of what's in your pocket. It would be acceptable if what was on offer was of the best quality, but be sure of this, it is all third ,or even fourth rate stuff.
I really did not like anything about the place. Right from the £4 parking fee to the precariously sited cable car down the cliff face. Everything there had an aura of over-priced tat about it, and yet I read reviews that absolutely rave about the place. I must have missed something !.
No, not for me and never again will I visit a place that once was so pretty and now so awful.

4  Thank garrouvian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us to care properly for our wonderful natural landscape, as well as keeping our free public facilities operational 365 days per year. Likewise, on arrival at The Needles Park, every car receives an offer booklet which gives over £5 in free admissions, rides, games and retail gifts. Should guests choose to take advantage of these deals, they fully offset the £4 car parking charge.
Please rest assured that we read every single review and pass all comments on to our management team. If you'd like us to assist with resolving any issues that you may have experienced during your time here, or would like a more detailed response, please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Small attractions complex with views to The Needles. Chairlift to the beach (charge) gives spectacular views & access to the beach where the coloured cliffs can be viewed. Boat trips for a closer view of The Needles depart from the beach.

Glassworks worth a visit.

Thank BlueWoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing