We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have seen them properly”
Review of The Needles

The Needles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large chalk rock formations off the western tip of the island.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish I could have seen them properly”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This review is graded for the horrible theme park at, as far as i know, the only view point for this stunning geographical feature. We could only view from behind a fence, (there is a viewing platform but it was crowded). There were awful looking tat shops and rides and loud brash 'music' noise. What a disappiontment. We left after 10 minutes having paid £4 to get in, and never even saw properly what we had come to see. How can the Isle of White allow the hijacking of this priceless view in this way? We met others of the same opinion.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberrybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us to care properly for our wonderful natural landscape, as well as keeping our free public facilities operational 365 days per year. Likewise, on arrival at The Needles Park, every car receives an offer booklet which gives over £5 in free admissions, rides, games and retail gifts. Should guests choose to take advantage of these deals, they fully offset the £4 car parking charge.
The Needles themselves can be seen via the boat trip, which runs from the beach, or if you wanted to you could have taken a walk along to the old battery where you can view the needles.
If you wish to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact us via The Needles Park website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    827
    654
    328
    251
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
284 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“The most interesting is outside the park”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Needles are the white rocks located at the end of the west cliffs in the Isle of Wight. To get there, you need to park your car in the car park (at cost), an then enter by the "amusement park", where you can find several attractions such us 4D experience, cars for children, restaurants and places to buy ice creams, souvenir shops, and the chairlift (similar to the ski stations) to avoid all the steps to get down to the beach, as this park is located up in the hill.
Once you arrive to the beach, you can see the beautiful needles where they say that sailors hit.
You can obtain the nearest view of the needles by sailing in a boat (independent operated, it's not of the park), you can buy the ticket right there before getting to the boat.
However, in my opinion, this is the best of all, the Needles, that are outside the park.
Interesting place to go.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PezFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us to care properly for our wonderful natural landscape, as well as keeping our free public facilities operational 365 days per year. Likewise, on arrival at The Needles Park, every car receives an offer booklet which gives over £5 in free admissions, rides, games and retail gifts. Should guests choose to take advantage of these deals, they fully offset the £4 car parking charge.
If you have any more questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE NEEDLES IOW”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Brilliant day out!! The cable car is excellent. The beach has pebbles. Great fun for kids. Lots of things to see and do.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louloububu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review; it sounds like you had a really great day! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, but in the meantime if we can be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning attraction!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited Alum Bay, Isle of Wight recently. We arrived at Yarmouth by ferry and took the Needles Breezer tour bus from the bus station a few hundred yards from the ferry terminal.

The open top bus ride is a pleasure in itself, as it winds its way to the Needles. We visited the Needles old battery and its takes you back in time - well worth the entry fee!

Then we took the tour bus to nearby Alum Bay attraction, from where we took the chair lift down to the beach. Spend some time here and look at the 21 different coloured sands in the cliff face!

Take a boat ride out to the Needles and look back at the cliff face. Take chair lift back up and fill up with the different sands from the shop, Finish with a visit to Alum By Glass just across the road
To see a glass making demo. Walk out through the shop with your eyes closed unless you want to spend a lot of money! The objects for sale are just so beautiful!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasuppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review; it sounds like you had a really great day! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, but in the meantime if we can be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beach fine - Cafe to be avoided.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Alum Bay Okay for a trip down to beach, and chairlift fine, staff on there were great with kids and elderly, eating there a different matter. Very little choice, but avoid The Pantry. Take a picnic!
Cafe pricey, food poor, greasy spoon environment with sticky tables, and disinterested staff. Cashier busy texting -didnt even make eye contact when charging for over priced not very good quality food. Fish on offer was pre frozen triangle portions, sunning under a hot lamp- truly awfull. The whole attraction was tacky, and expensive, i would only recommend a few hours max to do the beach and enjoy the views, both of which are free unless you take the chairlift - car park £4 but you can stay all day if you want.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Please rest assured that we read every single review and pass all comments on to our management team. If you'd like us to assist with resolving any issues that you may have experienced during your time here, or would like a more detailed response, please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing