We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chairlift experience, terrible traffic at the site...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Needles

The Needles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large chalk rock formations off the western tip of the island.
Addlestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good chairlift experience, terrible traffic at the site...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have mixed reviews about this place, I came here as a kid and returned as an adult to see the place again. Baring in mind it was a bank holiday weekend, the traffic into the site was awful, it must have tailed back well over a mile! The car parking wasn't great either, the site was more interested in charging £4 for parking than getting people into the site!

Other than the car park, the site seemed good fun for all ages, and the chairlift was by far the most popular attraction. The chairlift is a good experience, quite an open chairlift considering todays health and safety requirements, which made the ride more thrilling!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us to care properly for our wonderful natural landscape, as well as keeping our free public facilities operational 365 days per year. Likewise, on arrival at The Needles Park, every car receives an offer booklet which gives over £5 in free admissions, rides, games and retail gifts. Should guests choose to take advantage of these deals, they fully offset the £4 car parking charge. Could I also assure you that the chairlift is perfectly safe, with daily, weekly and monthly checks as well as annual maintenance.
Should you wish to discuss your review further then please do not hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    799
    626
    320
    246
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Went there and took a cable car down and took a boat ride.... Saw the needles....I think the rocks got the needles shape due to erosion. ..Any ways nice picturesque view!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SujaSivadass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“shame about the amusement park”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

the needles themselves look impressive once you get through all the tat to get to the sea & alum bay is a nice enough beach, but the amusement park/fairground bit at the top is horrendous & purely designed to rip money off from parents with kids.

it would be 10x better if they just charged you £4 for the parking & then let you either get a cable car down for free or for a small extra fee, or walk down if able. the cafes, tiny swimming pools with balls & paddleboats, loud music and the cafes and shops up at the top there are an actual embarrassment to the isle of wight & leave a very poor impression (often a first impression of the isle) on visitors. a real shame as so many people have genuinely fond memories of the place when it was relatively unspoilt.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank upesciunesciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Please rest assured that we read every single review and pass all comments on to our management team. If you'd like us to assist with resolving any issues that you may have experienced during your time here, or would like a more detailed response, please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid the Theme Park - take the steps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The Needles themselves were great.

A long queue to get in the car park. The theme park was over commercial and spoilt the visit. A huge queue for the chair lift so we decided to risk the steps, fearing the worst! There were not that many steps and walking to the beach & back with an 8 & 6 year old was no problem at all.

We were there an hour at most. I suspect there are better view pints without needing to go to the official site

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get away from the tourist trap and the Needles is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Alum Bay is a bit of a tourist trap - it was very busy when we were there and the roads do get choked with cars, unfortunately.

Luckily we went by by Bus - so this saved us a lot of hassle in the long run.



There is a rather quaint little complex of wooden huts with all sorts of fairground stalls, burger / hotdog / past sellers and coffee houses in the centre.

We also tried the chairlift down to the bay itself - not fun if you dont like heights, but it gets you down to the shore quickly!

Once you get away from this and head to the cliff tops on the the left, the stunning views of the Needles and the landscape around is well worth the walk up.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing