We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful vista, but a loooong walk

We took the bus here after visiting Osborne House. Would have been enough time for a visit except... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
Barbara M
,
Springfield, Missouri
Lovely place very crowded

Lovely views but very crowded long walk to view needles but it’s worth it amusements traditional... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
samanthalush
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 3,783 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Totland
from US$23.80
More Info
from US$63.00
More Info
from US$77.20
More Info
Reviews (3,783)
Filter reviews
3,783 results
Traveller rating
1,172
1,107
798
408
298
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
1,107
798
408
298
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chair lift alum bay boat trip coloured sand the cliff isle of wight glass blowing sweet making cable car sand shop sweet factory national trust speed boat pebble beach glass making walked down chairlift ride
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,783 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We took the bus here after visiting Osborne House. Would have been enough time for a visit except someone told us it was a 20 minute walk to the needles. More than 1 hour each way, unless you're a runner, in my opinion. Getting there is all uphill, but not a bad incline. By the time we got to the battery, it was closed. Walked back down, and shops, etc were shutting down. We missed the next-to-the last bus, and were the only ones left. It would have been an expensive Uber ride, for sure, but one last bus came. It was dark by the time we got back to Ryde. Our fault. We should have checked. The area had a few little shops, and restaurants/snacks, but my biggest surprise was the monument and plaques about Marconi. Interesting!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The views are lovely and the lift to the beach is great but the rest is just a poor touristy rip off. Restaurant very expensive and more like a canteen would be nice to have different tea rooms and choices.
Car parking was pricey too
Much nicer places on isle of wight

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 192lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This was my First beach to visit in UK. Its good, luckily we had sunny day. Got lots of nice pictures. There is a chair ride which takes you to beach, its fun for children and everybody. They have a good tourist store, bought lot of souvenirs which are really unique and not found in London. If you are planning to go, please visit it. best months would be April to September.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chetnabhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We have been to The Needles every time we visit the Island.

We went on the cable car down to the beach, did not get off this time as windy, but enjoyed the views.

Went in the sand shop and made the compulsory sand item! Visited the shop and my favourite sweet shop!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank SussexMum78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We went here in summer, i’m not from the IOW but my partner is and he wanted to take me to fill a bottle with coloured sand because it’s a big touristy thing. The sand place was really nice, you pick a bottle which range in price (cheapest saw was £5) pay, fill, and they mix and seel it.

the view of the sea is really nice and there’s a chair lift for viewing

there’s also children’s fairground rides , a gift shop, a coffee shop and it’s easily accessible by bus

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jemmaj442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews