We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of The Needles

The Needles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large chalk rock formations off the western tip of the island.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our day out to the Needles. Really good location for all ages. Cafeteria really good with tasty reasonable food. Staff all lovely and helpful. Am an adult but enjoyed the sand filling area. The chairlift a little scary but a must to get up close with the real coloured sands and stunning views of the Needles. Really good fun area for families

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank AJChes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chair lift"
in 1,012 reviews
"alum bay"
in 410 reviews
"boat trip"
in 344 reviews
"coloured sand"
in 258 reviews
"isle of wight"
in 371 reviews
"the cliff"
in 248 reviews
"glass blowing"
in 267 reviews
"sweet making"
in 133 reviews
"cable car"
in 235 reviews
"sand shop"
in 188 reviews
"sweet factory"
in 118 reviews
"national trust"
in 161 reviews
"speed boat"
in 43 reviews
"pebble beach"
in 47 reviews
"glass making"
in 83 reviews
"glass factory"
in 59 reviews
"walked down"
in 85 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 3,792 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There really is something for everyone, including my dad and myself. He's 89 and so enjoyed going round in the chairlift. The photo of the two of us as we came back up is great. My kids have enjoyed the Needles from the time they were little, making lighthouses filled with sand and playing crazy golf. The walk out under the Needles is really something because there's so much history in and around the location. It's a lovely place.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank serendipitypm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Needles were our first stop when we arrived on the Isle of Wight. As it was after Xmas the attractions were closed. It all seemed a bit random and tacky. We didn't seem to have to pay for car parking and didn't see any signs. We went to both the old and new batteries which seemed open and surprisingly there was no charge. Not sure we would have appreciated being charged more than £5 just to look out towards the Needles. The view from different angles was rather underwhelming though we were lucky there was a bit of sun which made it less dreary. A friend has been on a boat trip before & did say it was more impressive near the rocks. We did a bit of a coastal walk near there which was nice. One of the main attractions on the island so is a must-see but temper your expectations!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for the day but really didn't need the day so left early however it was a off peak. I feel the majority of it was very over priced for what was on offer. The little sands you can make is the exception and was great fun for the family. The rest of it and the attractions seemed in need of some TLC.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Disney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful iconic attraction where there is so much to see & do as a family with children, couples, or simply being alone, whatever your age & regardless of the time of year, (not everything opens all year round though) the scenery is outstanding like the beautiful cliffs, the beach with different colored sands, plus the famous chairlifts are a must to go on!

There's a nice coffee shop and a restaurant selling various food & drinks with a lovely souvenir shop that has an extension at the back selling lots of homemade goodies made only on the Isle Of Wight such as wine, cheese, olive oil, biscuits & fudge, i can't wait to visit again in warmer weather next time as being icy cold and being soaking wet does take some of the fun away.

There is also ample parking close by and there are regular buses going to various areas around the island itself, as well as to the various ferries back to Hampshire

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TRACEY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing