We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Highdown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highdown Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We found this pub via trip adviser and we were first a little skeptical when walking in to book a table for later, as the pub was pretty much empty. When we arrived to eat we were sat next to a log fire, which was VERY welcoming as it had been freezing outside. You order at the bar, but this was expected as a pub meal, so we weren't too fussed, just hungry! The food arrived very quickly and exceeded all my expectations taste-wise, as I was expecting a basic pub meal. The portions were quite large, but I cant complain! (rather have too much than too little). The ambiance was also great, not too loud and had a very local feel to it. Overall, a great little restaurant and pub!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Living on the Island and eating out at week-ends i.e. Fri,Sat,Sun the Island is full of lovely places to eat and drink, one of our favourites is the Highdown.
You can guarantee that whenever you visit from Thursday through to Sunday evening the food is both plentiful and excellent from fresh Shellfish and Locally caught Fish to some of the lovely local fresh Lamb,Beef or Pork that comes from the Island the choices are unlimited, apart from the choice of the home made deserts here.
Also there is a very well stocked wine list and some wonderful local beers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Visited the pub recently with friends and was disappointed when we had to wait 40 mins for our order. A positve was that the food was hot & good quality. This is a locals pub and it did standout that food pre-ordered was served first before visitors.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowcombe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were staying in a cottage in Freshwater over Christmas and chose the Highdown Inn for our Christmas Lunch.
the dinning room is very small, and most of the guests were locals who made us feel very welcome.
I would say that the standard of food was average, but the cosy atmosphere made up for that.
We looked around a few places that we thought might do lunches on Christmas Day but it seems there are not too many, probably due to the amount of hotels catering for christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheemee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We received a very friendly welcome at this busy pub with good ale and a splendid board full of tasty choices. A mix of bikers, walkers and dogs, and visitors made for cheery company.We had Ham/Egg and chips; lobster/prawn salad (which was enormous) and steak and kidney pudding. All delicious and generous portions. Ringwoods and Black Sheep ales were fine companions.On our second visit it was a pity that the catch of the day was gone before seven, but the substitutes were fine. A first class traditional pub; well worth calling in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at the highdown inn Totland august bank holiday 2012 for the first and last time.I found the carpets very worn and dirty,The bedroom we had smelt stale and musty and water marks evident on the wall by the chimney breast.
The shower cubicle had cracked tiles and the room needs total refurbishment.Please be aware the prices on the website start from £30 each per night,so make sure this is clarified when booking with them as you will get charged more on a bank holiday.The restaurant carpet was dirty on both mornings.The service was not what we were expecting and the staff unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Probably just about the best sea food menu we've seen in a pub anywhere.

We popped in because we were staying at the campsite across the road and spotted that they did sea food. We arrived after 8 and had resigned ourselves to checking out the menus over a pint with a view to returning the following day. We were pleasantly surprised to be told we could be accommodated until around 9 and then to be presented with a choice from three blackboards of mains, most of which were fish-based (though there were some veggie options too). Our only regret is that we were so full after our mains of haddock and fishcake that we didn't get chance to sample the deserts.

Everyone was lovely and friendly and we'll definitely be back. An absolute gem that we can't praise too highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golf House
The Golf House
#3 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Inn

Property: The Highdown Inn
Address: Highdoon Highdown Lane, Totland Bay PO39 0HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Highdown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Inn Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing