We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserved break”
Review of Whitefield

Whitefield
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitefield
Ranked #3 of 10 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Shepperton
1 review
“Deserved break”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have just got home from a wonderful stay at Whitefields. I can't praise this delightful B&B highly enough. From the moment we stepped through the front door to time we left we were all made to feel so welcome. My daughter and I had a beautiful room with a bed that was so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning. The Shower was just how a shower should be. Breakfast was amazing, I planned to have just one cooked breakfast as a little treat but ended up having one every morning. As for Lacy and Butch where do I start. What lovely people, who welcome you into their beautiful home and make you feel so at home. My only critism is we were only there four nights. I would have happily stayed several more weeks. Would I go back? Yes tomorrow if I could. Thanks Lacy and Butch. So glad we chose your B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadcatladyShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We visited this charming B&B and were treated to comfort, value for money and scrummy breakfasts! The couple who run it are truly delightful and we didn't want to leave. It was just like home from home.

A superb guest house. First class!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The title of my review may sound extravagant but, in all my travels around the world in all 5 continents, WHITEFIELD B&B wins my International Gold Award (IGA) by a country mile. Having stayed in over 100 B&Bs around the UK over the last 10 years Whitefield B&B leaves all the English B&Bs in the dust and it goes without saying that Whitefield has no real competition in England and certainly not on the Isle of Wight.

Whitefield B&B is run and owned by Lacy and her charming man Butch and it is this team that is the first ingredient that earns Whitefield my never before awarded IGA. Lacy and Butch welcome you into their very luxurious home with all the warmth and generosity that is hard to find in England.

When you walk into Whitefield for the first time, through the big walled garden gate, past a tasteful and modern front garden that leads to the double French door entryway, you are immediately struck by the sensation that you have walked onto the pages of England’s best Country Home coffee table book. As Lacy showed us through the house, from elegant dining room with antique mahogany table for 12 decorated in lace and silver and candelabra, to the beautiful large country kitchen, the guest lounge with the expert taste of antiques and Laura Ashley in perfect balance to the large high ceilinged bedroom with bathroom of almost equal size and hand painted floor, you know that you have just entered the dream world that we see only in Country Living magazines. Some of us might be intimidated by walking into such a beautifully appointed large home but Lacy & Butch make you feel so at home so quickly that you feel instantly relaxed and at peace and we had a wonderful sleep that first night.

The next morning you are greeted by one of those lovely big silver shower heads that waterfalls the perfect temperature water in abundance all over your sleepy body and you know you are still dreaming. Then you are hit by the aroma of top quality London soaps and lotions all dampened by a big soft luxurious white massive cotton radiator warmed bath towel. I’m in heaven and I never want to move out. But then the smell of a beautiful breakfast of fresh toast and bacon and all the rest wafts up to the room to entice you on to the rest of the experience that is the Whitefield B&B. Then fresh coffee in the back walled garden sitting by the raised wooden coy carp pond that is anointed by a trickling waterfall made of local wood and beach stones by a famous local artist. Everything is PERFECT and you are ready for whatever your day holds on the Isle of Wight.

The ingredients that make this perfect B&B recipe are the people who made this dream come true, Lacy & Butch, the amazingly beautiful house with all its extremely tasteful appointments and the quality breakfast of natural local produce that leaves a wonderful taste in you mouth. The whole experience was YUMMY and if you happen to be on the Isle of Wight you should not miss staying with Lacy & Butch at the WHITEFIELD B&B in Totland just a short walk from the beach. ENJOY!

Room Tip: You can have a room with two single beds or a room with a double but all are decorated with immacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolasGrantStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

A beautiful place to stay that has lots of homely touches. Lacy made us feel very welcome with a much needed cup of tea. We had a double room with tea and coffee making facilities, great en-suite, comfortable bed, and lovely linen. Lacy was happy to chat to us about the local facilities and was a great help. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Whitefield is one of those wonderful but rare finds, welcoming characterful hosts, period property lovingly yet sympathetically restored, well-appointed comfortable rooms, spacious proper bathrooms and a breakfast cooked to perfection.

Lacy & Butch are genial hosts assuring that their guests stay is comfortable, both are full of local information to help guests maximise the exploration of the much underrated West Wight. Although kept very backstage, their wonderfully soppy Basset Hounds are available for an audience with dog-loving guests.

Whitefield is a wonderful Victorian property with loads of character, winding staircase and fantastic artist studio in the attic which I think can be used by guests. The house is furnished with an eclectic but wholly appropriate collection of furniture and ornaments. The two-letting rooms have comfortable beds, the usual mod-cons including a retro Roberts radio pre-tuned to Radio 4 (where else!). The bathrooms are thankfully not chopped out of the room space but are proper rooms in their own right. Both with excellent showers and nice fluffy towels. There is a guest lounge with comfortable seating, ideal for winding down, reading or listening to music.

Butch having spent most of his life in catering, produced one of the best cooked breakfasts I have experienced. Quantities just right to fill you up without feeling bloated, endless tea and toast and selection of preserves.

Whitefield is certainly one of West Wight's accommodation gems, shame they only have two rooms!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, one double and one twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zakwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have stayed at the Whitefield twice and both times found the owners very friendly and helpful. I have family on the IOW and sometimes it is not always possible to stay with them, but Whitefield feels as good as home. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms spotlessly clean and it's the little things (such as a torch on the back of the door - just in case you needed it in an emergency) that make all the difference. Both the dining room and the guests’ sitting room have the original fire places and are tastefully decorated. Two basset hounds live here too. However, they are not allowed upstairs and do not greet the guests on their arrival unless it is confirmed that they are dog lovers and want to. The wall surrounding the property makes you feel secure and the courtyard inside is very pretty. On a sunny day you could imagine being abroad due to the flora and white painted brickwork. The location is a short walk from the beach and a few miles from the nearest Ferry service to the mainland.

Room Tip: Whitefield only has two bedrooms and I have stayed in both. One is a twin and one is double. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 10 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chart House
Chart House
#5 of 10 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitefield

Property: Whitefield
Address: Whitefield Madeira Road | Totland Bay, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whitefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitefield Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing