We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 11 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We came across Sentry Mead a year ago when we were staying elsewhere on the Island, and knew that we had to come back and have our holiday here. We have just spent 3 nights here with our two daughters, and we all loved it and can't wait to come again. It is a lovely place to stay. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean; (Brook & Freshwater) which look over the turf walk and have glimpses of the sea. Our hosts were so kind and welcoming, and made us feel like we were special. Totland is a very quiet place, but there are some gorgeous walks round here, and it is a good base for visiting the rest of the Island without staying amongst hoards of other tourists. All the other positive reviews are true, so unless you are particularly impossible to please, you will not be disappointed. Thank you, Sarah, Jean-Pierre & Bridget; we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLA296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and your support. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and we particularly enjoyed the piano. Such talent - you should be very proud. We really hope to see you again! Thank you again, for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to the Sentry Mead Hotel. This experience was equally as pleasurable as our first and we cannot wait to return once again. The hotel location is terrific, it has a great atmosphere and the attention to detail within the building and its grounds is truly outstanding. Sarah, Jean-Pierre and Brigitte are excellent hosts; nothing is too much trouble to ensure an excellent stay. We are already planning a return visit hopefully before the end of the year!!!

Room Tip: Our room (Osbourne) has a stunning view of The Solent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We're looking forward to seeing you both again before the year is out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our first stay and we did not know what to expect. Sarah and Jean-Pierre (and not forgetting Brigitte) were very welcoming and helpful. The Sentry Mead is a lovely hotel with beautiful gardens in an idyllic location with sea views from our room (Alum). We would certainly highly recommend staying here and will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: The Alum room is especially worth staying in with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make Sentry Mead welcoming and relaxing so it's great to hear that we are achieving that. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Sentry Mead over the easter weekend and found it to be a finatastic place to stay. The staff were great and very accomadating to cyclists. There is a great lounge area to enjoy an afternoon tea after a long ride. It is within walking distance to the needles and the rooms were very spacious and affordable. Highly recommened for anyone adventuring around the Isle of Wight.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Heath_T01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your time in leaving a review. The Island is a great place for walkers and cyclists with miles and miles of trails. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wonderful hosts, Jean-Pierre especially was very helpfull. a lovely hotel in an excellent location

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from three nights at the Sentry Mead and we cannot recommend it more highly. Our hosts Jean-Pierre and Sarah were absolutely delightful and could not have done more for us. From the moment we booked, they did as much as possible to make our stay memorable. This included sending lots of information via email about places to go and eat. They even booked tables for us at our request, for all three nights that we were there. This was very thoughtful, as being the Easter bank holiday, we probably would have struggled to get tables had we not had bookings.

The hotel is in a fabulous position, three minutes walk from the beach.

One of the main reasons we decided to book was that we could take our dog, and not only could we do that, but she was made to feel as welcome as we were. She could go everywhere with us in the hotel, apart from the dining room. She even had a little mat in the bedroom to put her food on. There is lots of lovely doggy friendly green area outside the hotel for little outings when necessary!

From the moment we arrived, we were taken care of. Jean-Pierre was charming and welcomed us warmly (all three of us!) He helped carry our bags up to our room and spent time explaining everything there was to know about the hotel and our room.

Our room (Totland) was fabulous. Beautifully decorated with luxurious curtains, cushions and drapes on the bed. Really special. Wonderful comfy bed, duvet and pillows, with lovely soft extra blankets if needed in the wardrobe. There were two bath robes in the wardrobe too. There was plenty of cupboard space, dressing table (with a plug right there for hairdryer, so often missing in hotels or too far away from the mirror!) a full length mirror and a fabulous huge TV. There was a beautifully laid out tray with a kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and horlicks and most importantly, decent sized mugs instead of little cups and saucers for your morning cuppa!

The en-suite bathroom was perfect, totally spotless and with lovely complementary toiletries and the best towels! (there is nothing worse than the wrong type of bath towels, but these were perfect, nice and big and lovely and soft too) All in all the bedroom and everything that went with it, was faultless, right down to the little bag of home made fudge that was on the dressing table when we arrived. (it didn't last long!) And the sea view from Totland was stunning too, so we highly recommend this room.

After arriving (and every afternoon that we were there) there is complimentary tea and coffee available in the lounge downstairs. The downstairs rooms are beautifully decorated too and wonderfully peaceful.

Breakfast in the dining room was perfect. There was a lovely selection of cereals, fresh juices, Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, and pastries. You are then offered a full cooked breakfast of your choice, which was delicious. Brigitte served us in the dining room on all three mornings and was absolutely wonderful. She was attentive, incredibly efficient and could not have done more, and she loved Jazzy our dog!

In summary, we would HIGHLY recommend the Sentry Mead. It was exactly the place we were looking for, and would not hesitate to go back again. Thank you so much Jean-Pierre and Sarah.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacoolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay. A small section of Totland beach remains dog-friendly all year round too, which is great for those visiting in season. I hope you have a fabulous 2012 and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for one night and couldn't have asked for anything more. All our needs were catered for, host Jean-Pierre was attentive and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Sentry Mead is in a great position just 2 mins stroll from the sea front. Breakfast was great with some yummy homemade marmalade. There are some really lovely little touches such as a little bag of homemade fudge in the room. All in all would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLight065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We're very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for leaving a review for Sentry Mead. We really appreciate the time. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
443 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
16.1 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
481 reviews
16.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing