We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The photos don't do this place justice- it's beautiful!”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 11 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The photos don't do this place justice- it's beautiful!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our room was just lovely- the photo looked nice, but in reality it was even nicer! Lovely slanting roof and a view of the sea (Ventnor Room) and a great bathroom.

The hosts and staff were all very helpful and friendly and breakfast was served quite grandly in the breakfast room- also delicious!

The location of the B&B was great too, we walked to the beach in a few minutes and drove to Alum Bay and the Needles in a jiffy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigglypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you very much for leaving a review and for your lovely comments. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
242
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We spent a wonderful August Bank Holiday weekend with Sarah & Jean Pierre who made us so very welcome! A wonderful place to stay - we can honestly say that this is the best small hotel we've ever stayed in! We can't reccommend this highly enough!!

Room Tip: Brook Room has been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments are wonderful and we are so grateful for the time you took. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

2nd time of visiting and same fantastic standard. Dog friendly though you would never know a dog had been there. Max loved his recent stay. Lots of fantastic walks and the beach close by. Thank you Sarah and the team.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cudowna8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sentry Mead and thank you particularly for the support you kindly showed me while you were here. It was greatly appreciated and we hope to see you all again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely hotel. We stayed in Brighstone, which was a spacious, light, clean and very comfortable room. The staff were welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the hotel's close proximity to the sea. Breakfast was a real pleasure and we also enjoyed the excellent light snacks offered by the hotel. We had a very relaxing break and wished we could have stayed longer. We are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you very much for leaving a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My fiancee and I stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. We were greeted warmly by the owner Jean-Pierre (who was incredibly friendly and helpful) and shown to our lovely room. This hotel is beautifully placed. There is a spectacular view of the bay and pier a 3-4 minute walk down the road. Breakfast each morning was lovely. Food was wonderful and always served with a friendly smile. They even had vegetarian sausages to cater to my fiancee's vegetarian diet. Rooms were so clean and comfortable. The only minor issue we had was with the water pressure for the shower which was a bit low. Other than that, I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldwhat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate all your comments. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this excellent hotel which is only two minutes walk from the beach and sea at Totland Bay. Very friendly and helpful staff, superb breakfast and very comfortable bed. The only tiny gripe is that the water pressure for the shower was a bit low (but we were on the 2nd floor), otherwise an all round winner!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are cooler when its hot. Probably get better water pressure for shower on 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review. You are correct - rooms at the rear of the property are cooler and water pressure is better on the first floor. Unfortunately, without much pipe work, we cannot affect the pressure at this time. We will increase it when we can. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel was recommended by a colleague, and we chose it primarily for its location as it was close to the party we attended in Totland Bay.

We could not have been more pleased - the hotel is a lovely manor house decorated in the style of the period. We had a great welcome from Jean-Pierre, who gave us all the information we needed, and showed us to our room, which was on the top floor. The room was lovely, with tea and coffee (fresh milk is available if preferred), biscuits, bathrobes, TV and radio with iPod dock.

The breakfasts are great - freshly cooked with lots of choice and locally sourced food - Sarah was very attentive and gave us lots of time as we were the last in the breakfast room. I highly recommend the kippers! Jean-Pierre was very accommodating of our habit of having nightcaps on return to the hotel after 10pm - thank you Jean-Pierre!

If you are not bringing a car to the island, the number 7 bus goes from Yarmouth and you just need to alight at the Totland war memorial, the hotel is a short walk from there. The number 7 will also take you to Newport if you are travelling around the island.

All in all a great stay - we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you ever so much for your review. I think your comments are very helpful to future guests. We do have a fully licenced bar on site and can offer guests a drink at any time. There are snacks on offer each evening and the option of supper on some nights as well. All food is home-cooked by ourselves - Sarah and Jean-Pierre. Thank you once more and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
847 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
233 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing