We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good a year later.”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 10 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Just as good a year later.”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have just spent yet another lovely few days at this gem of a hotel. We loved it just as much this year, and it was a bonus to be able to eat at their newly-opened 'Bay Bistro'. The food was delicious and the chef went out of his way to create a dish that would please our vegetarian daughter. Thanks again to Sarah, Jean-pierre & Bridget for making us so welcome once more. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLA296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
It was lovely to see you again this year. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
228
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hants
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We ate with friends at the newly opened Bay Bistro recently. The food was excellent and a very nice menu to suit all tastes. Its a shame the décor has not been upgraded and perhaps some background music as the atmosphere was zilch! You definitely have the feel of eating in a hotel restaurant rather than a Bistro (which suggests something perhaps more trendy).
The waitress was very nice but seemed to dash around like a headless chicken (if she ever has a busy evening look out!)
Could not fault the food although they try and rush you which I don't think will be popular if they are trying to encourage any local trade

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertaHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Bay Bistro which, although operated with Sentry Mead, was not part of the hotel itself. It was a venture for the local trade but the chef had to pull out and so we won't be open to the public again. Sentry Mead will, of course, continue to offer it's resident guests a range of dishes should they wish to dine in one evening. Full details can be found on our website on the 'dining with us' page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidmouth devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night Easter break with you.Thank-you so much.We,and Mollie the dog,had a lovely,comfortable stay and will definitely be back in the future.
It was great coming back from a day out and having coffee all ready in the reception.
We also used the bistro in the evening...really really good.There was a selection to suit everyone plus you could choose the proportion size with some of the dishes.
Thank-you again.:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molliecollie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review of Sentry Mead. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're very glad you had a good stay. It would be wonderful to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband booked this trip for our silver wedding anniversary and because I am recovering from hip surgey, we had a very relaxing 4 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble, you only had to ask the owners or staff. The stairs were my worry but they are not as deep as house stairs and they are in 3 parts so ideal for my exercises! Our small dog also had a relaxing time - she was very settled and slept extremely well! The food was fantastic. The rooms are excellent with lovely views of Totland Bay. The owners provided a list of dog friendly places to eat, arranged reservations and even booked a taxi for us!

Room Tip: Alum on the 1st floor, multiple windows = good views and spacious with sitting area and 2 TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you every so much for your review of Sentry Mead. We were delighted to read your comments and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Alum is a lovely room and has proved very popular. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were there this time last year and we went again this year - this time for two nights.

Back in the Alum room - a nice big room with two t.v.'s (the smaller one really handy to watch from in bed), big fluffy dressing gowns, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits/chocs etc.......

all this and the welcome mat was also rolled out for the dog too!

Room Tip: Alum room is lovely but if you like showers, it is a shower over a bath - so if you're a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
It was lovely to see you here again and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review Sentry Mead - every review is helpful. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had the perfect stay at the Sentry Mead, there isn't a better hotel in the West of the Island. The owners and staff were fantastic where nothing was too much trouble and Bob our dog was treated as much a guest as we were. We look forward to returning on our next I.O.W visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Brook and would highly recommend this room for a peaceful and comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusandMandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you all. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough Hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

On a cold dark November evening we received a very warm welcome when we arrived with tea and biscuits by the fire. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a wonderful view over the solent. Sentry Mead is a beautifully decorated guest house excellently run where nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors.
There are excellent facilities throughout and we would strongly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wishing to take a break on the Isle of Wight. We shall certainly return and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review for Sentry Mead. It was lovely to meet you and we do hope to welcome you back again. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. West Wight can be extremely pretty in winter, albeit very cold!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Totland Bay
178 reviews
16.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing