We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sentry Mead
Nearby Hotels
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
US$188
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Passford House(Lymington)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
US$876
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
359
25
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
25
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean pierrehomemade flapjacksfresh milkisle of wightb bjam and marmaladewater bowlwaterfront restaurantextra touchesowners and staffalum baylittle touchestea and coffeecomfortable bedlast minute bookingpublic roomson arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Sentry Mead ticks all the usual boxes - clean, friendly, great location, tremendous breakfasts, stunning gardens, and so on.

It also has a USP that lifts it above the 'ordinarily excellent' - a guest lounge that is a genuinely nice place to be. This takes the experience into the realms of a short stay with old friends, rather than a visit to a B&B.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

It was lovely to meet you and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your comments are fabulous, so thank you very much for reviewing Sentry Mead. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Sentry Mead is a friendly family run business. Always welcoming and positive towards their guest, offering pleasant and relaxed environment. We are regular visitors to this hotel and as of to date never been disappointed. The breakfast is of a very high standard, with service to match.

The location of this hotel is ideal for those who wish to explore the 'downs' and Totland Bay offers some of the most spectacular scenic views and sunsets. We look forward to our next visit.

Certainly a five star experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms are favourable and set to a high standard of presentation. The room rates Really depends on your budget.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flybiggles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We appreciate the time it takes to go online and leave reviews - it's so important and we're very grateful. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again and we hope to welcome you back many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

After reading the reviews which mentioned dogs, we booked into this hotel and were not disappointed. Unlike at some hotels dogs are only allowed in certain / particular bedrooms (tend to be below average) - sometimes we feel like second class guests because we bring our dog! At Sentry Mead we could choose a room fit our budget - we like our dog to enjoy the same luxury and comfort as we do. Our dog was made very welcome and allowed in the lounge (but not dining room - which is very fair) and in the lovely gardens (however, the beach is close by).

Likes: comfortable bed, bright and clean room, useful information on where to eat (with notes where dogs allowed), lovely lawned gardens, good choices for breakfast and very nice hosts! No problem with parking or wifi - all good. Good room lighting.

A few reviewers mentioned the Bistro - this has been closed due to the chef's illness.

Shower over bath, water pressures not great (typical UK plumbing system).

Will definitely stay here again when visiting Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for Sentry Mead. We really appreciate the comments and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying recently for four nights. I can honestly say that it was excellent. We brought our two Westies and they were made to feel very welcome too.

Everything about the Hotel suited us perfectly as it was the first time we had visited the Isle of Wight and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Brook room which was immaculately clean and perfect size for us on the 1st floor. We had breakfast everyday and ate here twice in the evening and ALL meals were beautifully presented and very tasty too,

The lounge and conservatory rooms were very pleasant as were the grounds. The Hotel is situated in an ideal spot for peace and quiet as well as proximity to the beach.

Sarah, Jean-Pierre & Bridget made our stay very enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble and I will have NO hesitation in recommending this lovely place to anyone.

We will definitely book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Brook which was excellent, however, they all looked excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you very much for the review of Sentry Mead. I am particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals in the evening as I am now cooking for my guests and details of what's on offer is on our website. It was a pleasure to meet and you and I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

3 couples found there way to Sentry Mead on Bank Holiday Sunday..we asked if chef could provide lunch (it was 13:15) we ordered some tapas for starters Marinaded mushrooms, artichokes, olives... all delicious ( the mushrooms were exceptionally good). We ordered sea food stew, mussels, fig ham and rocket salads....all were exceptionally good, proffesionally served on the patio.

I asked for some chilli sauce..the chefs homemade variety is it to be treated with caution.

The Chefs homemade Biscotti is exceptionally good... the coffee we had was a not as flavoursome as we had hoped.

We have decided to come back to Sentry Mead for a long weekend to try the rest of the menu.....and the rooms.

Thank you SM for a great lunch.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you stopped by and tried the Bistro. It would be lovely to be able to welcome you to the hotel for a long weekend and we can certainly recommend some excellent places to eat in the local area. Forresters in Yarmouth is particularly good. We can offer a select menu within the hotel and details are on out website. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews