We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 11 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a short break to the Island. It is a beautiful house with stunning gardens. Sarah and Jean-Pierre were the perfect hosts.and the lady serving our breakfast was very pleasant too. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The twin room we stayed in was superb, very clean,beautifully decorated and spacious with very comfortable beds. It wasn't the sea view room which would have been nice, but it was still perfect for us.There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu with lots of fruit, cereals and cooked food. It is situated less than 5 minuets from the beach, was in a great location as it was quiet, but with the Island being small it didn't take long to get anywhere. There is nothing negative about Sentry Mead and its staff. I would give it 11/10 its that good. I will certainly recommend to others and would stay there again. Thank you for making it a perfect place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Your comments are wonderful and make everything we do worth while. Making guests happy is why we're here and you've just made my day. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We hosted or entire wedding party at sentry mead and what wonderful hosts they where! Nothing was ever a problem and all the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect, even to the point of hosting our wedding after party! Thank you so much for making our wedding unforgettable! C&M

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willsie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you so much for leaving a review for Sentry Mead. It was a real pleasure to meet both of you as well as some of your family and friends. I'm very pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable - and the wedding was beautiful. Congratulations to the two of you and best wishes for a long and prosperous future together. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've just returned from a three night stay at Sentry Mead. Everything was lovely! We have nothing negative to say and would highly recommend this well-run, clean, well-situated, friendly and very comfortable establishment to anyone. Well done to the owners and staff!

Room Tip: Room name: Totland. Generous size room. Nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sentry Mead. Your comments are lovely and mean a great deal to us. We're happy you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Sentry Mead ticks all the usual boxes - clean, friendly, great location, tremendous breakfasts, stunning gardens, and so on.

It also has a USP that lifts it above the 'ordinarily excellent' - a guest lounge that is a genuinely nice place to be. This takes the experience into the realms of a short stay with old friends, rather than a visit to a B&B.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

It was lovely to meet you and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your comments are fabulous, so thank you very much for reviewing Sentry Mead. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Sentry Mead is a friendly family run business. Always welcoming and positive towards their guest, offering pleasant and relaxed environment. We are regular visitors to this hotel and as of to date never been disappointed. The breakfast is of a very high standard, with service to match.

The location of this hotel is ideal for those who wish to explore the 'downs' and Totland Bay offers some of the most spectacular scenic views and sunsets. We look forward to our next visit.

Certainly a five star experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms are favourable and set to a high standard of presentation. The room rates Really depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flybiggles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We appreciate the time it takes to go online and leave reviews - it's so important and we're very grateful. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again and we hope to welcome you back many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

After reading the reviews which mentioned dogs, we booked into this hotel and were not disappointed. Unlike at some hotels dogs are only allowed in certain / particular bedrooms (tend to be below average) - sometimes we feel like second class guests because we bring our dog! At Sentry Mead we could choose a room fit our budget - we like our dog to enjoy the same luxury and comfort as we do. Our dog was made very welcome and allowed in the lounge (but not dining room - which is very fair) and in the lovely gardens (however, the beach is close by).

Likes: comfortable bed, bright and clean room, useful information on where to eat (with notes where dogs allowed), lovely lawned gardens, good choices for breakfast and very nice hosts! No problem with parking or wifi - all good. Good room lighting.

A few reviewers mentioned the Bistro - this has been closed due to the chef's illness.

Shower over bath, water pressures not great (typical UK plumbing system).

Will definitely stay here again when visiting Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for Sentry Mead. We really appreciate the comments and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying recently for four nights. I can honestly say that it was excellent. We brought our two Westies and they were made to feel very welcome too.

Everything about the Hotel suited us perfectly as it was the first time we had visited the Isle of Wight and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Brook room which was immaculately clean and perfect size for us on the 1st floor. We had breakfast everyday and ate here twice in the evening and ALL meals were beautifully presented and very tasty too,

The lounge and conservatory rooms were very pleasant as were the grounds. The Hotel is situated in an ideal spot for peace and quiet as well as proximity to the beach.

Sarah, Jean-Pierre & Bridget made our stay very enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble and I will have NO hesitation in recommending this lovely place to anyone.

We will definitely book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Brook which was excellent, however, they all looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you very much for the review of Sentry Mead. I am particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals in the evening as I am now cooking for my guests and details of what's on offer is on our website. It was a pleasure to meet and you and I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
448 reviews
12 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0 mi away
Chart House
Chart House
#3 of 11 in Totland Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
212 reviews
0 mi away
Whitefield
Whitefield
#4 of 11 in Totland Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing