We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 10 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed for one night and couldn't fault the Sentry Mead. The room was stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was great and I enjoyed the beautiful gardens with a pint. Minutes walk to the beach as well. Service faultless. If you are heading to Totland Bay I would suggest that this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoctorIsIn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to write one. It was great to meet you and we're pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
228
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a short break at the Sentry Mead Hotel last week and can thoroughly recommend it. Immaculately clean, very attentive owners and staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfasts - and reasonably priced. Definitely the place to stay on the Isle of Wight!

Room Tip: have a word with Jean-Pierre or Sarah before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Each one is very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent two nights at Sentry Mead at the end of September, we would have been very happy to have stayed longer had time permitted. A lovely peaceful setting, immaculate gardens, a modern clean luxurious bedroom with everything you need (and that was one of the smaller rooms I believe), a more than adequate breakfast with a good choice of freshly cooked food. We had an evening meal on the first night of our stay which was very enjoyable, with choices to suit everyone. Situated very close to the beach (unspoilt) and some nice walks. No, Totland Bay might not have all the amenities of the larger resorts at the other end of the Island but it has peace and quiet and it has the superb Sentry Mead Hotel with delightful owners and pleasant staff which made for a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: Good descriptions on the Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sentry Mead. Your comments are lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. It was a pleasure to have met you and I hope very much to welcome you again sometime. I really like the assessment of Totland - the peace and quiet is its attraction, most definitely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were recommended to visit here for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! Fantastic room - The Totland - much recommended. Great sea view and charming room of character! Came with Teddy Bear to adopt ! Food at breakfast was fantastic and staff most welcoming and helpful. Not far to walk to beach where the views are fantastic! We will defintely return at some point as it was a very relaxing welcoming place to stay. Thank you Sarah and Jean-Pierre for your welcome on such a special occasion! Gina and Steve Hynard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It was a pleasure to have been able to welcome you here during such a special time. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will see you again - just don't wait until your 10th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break staying at the Sentry Mead. I endorse all of the other positive reviews about the Sentry Mead. The property is run by a wonderful family who work so hard to make your holiday with them a great experience. The hotel is over the road from Totland beach, it also has a great area for us dog walkers, Turf Walk. We stayed in the Totland Room which was a lovely room at the top of the hotel. Great breakfasts were provided, all freshly made to order, what more can I say? If you want a nice friendly and relaxed home from home atmosphere look no further than the Sentry Mead, thank you everyone, we had a great time xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sentry Mead and your comments were so lovely to read - it makes everything worthwhile! It was a real pleasure to meet you and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to go online this morning and read such a lovely review - you have got my day off to a fabulous start! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Mine was a sentimental journey to the place I first stayed at with my beloved partner who died in May. To be honest it hasn't moved on much since I was there with her a few years ago and my room at the top of the house was breathtaking - only because you're out of breath by the time you get up there! A lift is a must in the future for guests who aren't mountain climbers. But let's not be churlish, the location is lovely, the hosts equally so and overall it's good value money.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor room - unless you really do need the exercise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Sentry Mead. It was a pleasure to see you again and I'm sorry for your loss. I hope very much you were able to re-visit all the places that had meaning to you and your wife.
On the points you have raised - unfortunately, we aren't able to install a lift in this Victorian building due to the layout. Therefore guests who are booking should be aware that rooms will be on either the first or second floors. Our website describes the rooms and the floor they are on. The first flight of stairs is quite easy, the second flight is a little steeper - but we're here to help with bags!
I'm surprised that you don't feel things have moved on in the last few years. We've been changing things quite fast! We've enlarged four bedrooms, decorated eight of them, changed the breakfast room, changed from being a hotel to being a relaxed and friendly guesthouse and we will be sprucing up the main hallway and stairs over this winter, as well as decorating two more bedrooms! And it won't stop there! Follow progress through our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Wish we could have stayed for more than one night. I have to say service was excellent and a really friendly family who welcomed us with warm hands.
•Location is very close to Yarmouth Ferry and short walk to Totland beach.
•A Victorian house with many rooms branded with their own names and very big and spacious.
•Delicious english breakfast and nice evening complimentary hot beverages  for all. 

Overall a really pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing Sentry Mead. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite it being a very brief one. Perhaps next time you will be able to visit for longer. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Totland Bay
178 reviews
16.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing