We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful b & b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 13 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful b & b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is more than a b&b. from the minute you walk through the doors you feel very valued. The service is exemplary as is the cleanliness and food. 2nd visit for us, we will definitely be back. Well done Sarah, Jean Pierre and Bridget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bibandbrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
It was lovely to meet you and to have been able to welcome you here to Sentry Mead. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
220
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a fantastic welcome from our hosts and a lovely stay at the Sentry Mead. I really felt looked after and the dog even had her own bowl put down for her in the room when we checked in. The building and the gardens were stunning and the view from the room was gorgeous. It was very handy for the beach at Totland Bay and was on a very useful bus service around the island. It was peaceful and comfortable and though the room was small it was just right and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was exceptionally good and there was a huge variety. I felt so welcome and at home the whole time we were there. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms get a great view if they face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sentry Mead. It was a pleasure to meet and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in a good location near the beach, and has a lovely garden and view. Jean-Pierre made us feel very welcome upon arrival. We didn't find it to be quite as exceptional as the reviews suggested though.

Room Tip: Ask about the room size and bathroom size in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_couple370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Sentry Mead. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and am particularly pleased you found it clean and the location good. I'm sorry, however, that you didn't find it to be quite what you were expecting - everybody is different and have different expectations. I would have liked to have heard this from you while you were here - firstly to maybe do something about it and secondly to know what we might improve upon. We are doing work each year and, hopefully, this winter we will be doing a room conversion to make a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A beautiful Hotel on a glorious Island, the rooms are lovely, and the view from our room was second to none, the food is great and the Staff are really helpful.
We will be back and would recommend this B&B to all.
Top marks to Sarah and Jean-Pierre seven straight As

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review of Sentry Mead. We appreciate the time very much and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Sentry Mead exceeded our expectations. Everything was excellent. This was an exceptional B and B. We were a party of six and stayed four nights and found the service faultless throughout. Sentry Mead is ideally located for local beaches, tourist attractions and the ferry.

The staff were extremely friendly and the service was first class. Even though it was a B and B we had an excellent meal one evening and superb breakfasts every day.

We all thoroughly recommend Sentry Mead for both short and long stays.

Room Tip: We stayed in Osborne, Alum and Brook . All these excellent. Lovely views from Osborne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you all for the review of Sentry Mead. It was lovely having you to stay - you were all so friendly. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Sarah's menu is on offer 5 nights a week to guests and is online for people to check. There's also loads of good places to eat in the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Admittedly, I am extremely fussy when it comes to accommodation so when my husband got an assignment to photograph a wedding on the Isle of Wight and suggested we make a weekend of it, my initially thoughts were "Oh no, that means staying in a B&B!" I started my research and came across Sentry Mead. The images looked good and I was encouraged by the reviews. Well, I can report that the wedding was beautiful, the sun shone and Sentry Mead did not let us down. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room (Totland Room) was tastefully decorated, spacious, clean and had a wonderful view of the sea. The staff were very attentive and the breakfast was lovely. Would we come back again... Definitely - we can't wait. Just one thing to bear in mind... Local taxi's don't run late into the night. Following the evening wedding reception, there was just one taxi company (called 07) that was willing to take our fare and the latest we could book was 10:30pm. But what a great driver... my husband left his mobile phones in the taxi and the driver came back to Sentry Mead in the morning to return them - what a service! Having been extremely relieved to be reunited with his phones, my husband unfortunately forgot to thank the driver with 'a drink' so when we go back, we'll definitely have to book him again and give him a very generous tip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sentry Mead. I remember the phone incident! It is definitely worth taking note that the Isle of Wight is not like big towns or cities - taxis don't like running late or early in the morning - it is impossible to get a taxi on a Sunday morning, for instance! Also, restaurants tend to have last orders about 8.30 pm - even pubs are rarely past 9 pm! Just contact Sentry Mead if, as a future guest, you have queries regarding any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a last minute trip for 1 night to the Sentry Mead.

We received a warm welcome and went up to a lovely, light, spotless room.

Everything had been thought about and it was a real home from home.

Great breakfast the next day too.

We'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to hear you hope to return, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
16.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing