We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and welcoming”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 11 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Sentry Mead. Sarah was really helpful throughout the booking process, which was complex because there were 16 family members booking in. The hotel itself is situated on the west side of the Isle of Wight - just a mile or so from The Needles - we walked there along the coast from the hotel, with some helpful directions from Jean Pierre. It has a beautiful setting, just a few minutes from the beach. We had four dogs in total in our party and they were made very welcome at the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean - and the facilities were perfect - Totland Room is a lovely, spacious room with great views of the sea but a lot of the rooms have sea views. We spent lots of time at the beginning and end of the day in the lounge and in the garden as the weather was lovely, it was really special having these facilities to use during the day. Breakfast was great - the usual choice of cereal/fruit/yoghurt, but the cooked breakfast was quite special - lots of choice including eggs benedict, salmon bagels, croissant with scrambled eggs as well as the traditional English - spoilt for choice. We must thank Bridget for being incredibly efficient, and most of all very friendly. All in all we had a wonderful stay, Sarah and Jean Pierre really made us feel that nothing would be too much trouble, so thank you very much. We hope to come back again, and again ...

Room Tip: Totland is a large room with a beautiful view, as is Osborne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eddythedoggydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you so much for the review. I'm very glad that everyone enjoyed their stay with us. We really appreciate the wonderful comments. We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you all back again and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from five days in this superb hotel with our two dogs Thai and Honey. A real home from home. Best value for money ever. Our hosts - Jean-Pierre and Sarah - not forgetting Bridget were so concerned to make our stay a happy one and they certainly succeeded. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of fruits and cereals and the fries were wonderful. We stayed in the Alum room. It was large and extremely comfortable with sea views from it's four windows which overlook a very peaceful well kept garden. The hotel is in a quiet setting close to Totland beach and many good walks over the chalk downland. Thai and Honey were pampered and they really enjoyed the luxury of staying in a hotel. We didn't want to leave and we will certainly be back.
Noreen and Des, Thai and Honey.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you so much for the review and the wonderful comments. Thai and Honey were such fabulous guests - so well behaved, and their owners were really good too! It was an absolute pleasure to have met you all and we do hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to the Sentry Mead and have already booked our fourth visit!!! We stayed in the Totland room which is a beautiful room with wonderful views of the sea, is very spacious, extremely comfortable and has a lovely bathroom with a lovely full sized bath and shower..We are always made to feel so welcome by Jean-Pierre, Sarah and Brigitte.
The breakfast is just amazing (especially the eggs benedict and the home-made jam!)
The house itself is beautifully positioned with a lovely garden, and it is very family and dog friendly. We highly recommend a visit! Whatever your age!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you so much for the review. Each and every one is so important. We were so pleased to see you again and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just come back after staying here again, have lost count of the number of times we've stayed.
Sarah, Jean-Pierre and not forgeting Brigette all do so much to make your stay just lovely. The rooms are lovely, and the food you cannot fault. We are going back again in Sept. Think they are worth 10 stars not 5!
Barbara and Colin P

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARBARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

It was lovely to see you here again. We really appreciate the comments and the time taken to leave the review. It's so important for people to be able to read about us. We look forward to seeing you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just enjoyed another lovely stay at Sentry mead. As we have come to expect, this is year four, we received a warm welcome ( especially Fern our pet miniature Schnauzer ) and stayed in a beautifully room. We started each morning with a lovely breakfast before spending the day enjoying the sights, there are some fantastic walks over Headon Warren towards the Needles and Alum Bay.
In the evening you can walk along the seafront and watch the sunset over Totland Bay.
We will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review for Sentry Mead. We were so please to see you here again and are thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay - Sarah & Jean-Pierre and all the staff were incredibly accommodating and offered nice personal touches such as remembering our baby's and dog's name. The cleanliness of the hotel was superb - couldn't fault anything. Fantastically dog friendly too. Breakfast was very nice and it is in a good location for travel to beaches, bays, a fantastic tea room and The Needles park/Alum Bay. We stayed in the 'Totland' room, which is very large and well appointed. Perfect for fitting both the dog's bed and travel cot. Perhaps the only slight negative was that it was a very warm weekend and the room couldn't be cooled, even with all the bedroom windows open. Plus, sound travels well from the courtyard area, so we could hear every word a very loud (and drunk) guest was saying until late at night. But neither of these are the hotel's fault - it was a one-off, I'm sure. I'm not sure it would be right for families with older children as some of the other guests seemed a little snooty and the atmosphere at breakfast was super quiet, but we would definitely stay again as our baby is only very young. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank NatLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing Sentry Mead. It was lovely to have met you and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I must say that it isn't often we get noisy guests on the patio, so I'm sorry about that.
We are child friendly though - the only restriction is we don't have family rooms so children tend to have to be old enough to have their own room. But as for a bit of noise at breakfast - that would be absolutely fine! I don't want a stuffy breakfast room anyway! Sentry Mead is relaxed and friendly - we don't want anyone to feel the slightest bit uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although we only stayed one night it was clear why this establishment has had such good reviews. We had originally booked to stay at the end of April but had to cancel at only 24 hours notice as our dog died. Sarah was not only kind enough not to charge us for this but also said we could transfer our deposit to a later booking if we were able to come; which we duly did in June. The room, the house and the breakfast were all excellent and the proprietors so nice it was easy to feel we were on holiday, albeit for such a short time. The house is well located and we would highly recommend "The Waterfront" pub for food which is only a few hundred yards away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

It was so nice that you did finally manage to get over to the Island. It was great to meet you both and hopefully we will see you again for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
325 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
903 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Address: Madeira Road, Totland Bay PO39 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range: £88 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing