We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Roselands on the Isle of Wight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roselands on the Isle of Wight
Master en-suite bedroom with king size bed Spacious lounge with TV, DVD player, CD player & Wi-Fi leading into garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Roselands on the Isle of Wight
Master en-suite bedroom with king size bed
Spacious lounge with TV, DVD player, CD player & Wi-Fi leading into garden
Bedroom 3 - Single bed
The Isle of Wight in the Autumn (beachss only a short walk away)
The Isle of Wight in Summer (beaches only a short walk away)
Garden
Family bathroom with bath (there is a shower in the en-suite room)
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Downstairs wc
The world famous Needles are close by!
Homely dining area in kitchen
Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Selena-Su...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but safety worries.”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Roselands is in a very good location and has lots of space, but the furnishings are basic although adequate. BUT we found some problems that worried us. The microwave was rusty and damp inside and didn't smell good. I washed it with warm water, dried it thoroughly and propped the door ajar which did the trick. We hoped it was safe and used it a lot but it does need replacing. The downstairs smoke alarm is sellotaped to the ceiling but the indicator light is not lit so there is no power to it. The upstairs smoke alarm is falling off the ceiling, although the light is lit. We took out own carbon monoxide detector. The notes I was sent said that the property has current safety certificates but they were not displayed.
The garden is quite big but uneven and the grass was 9 inches tall; not good for small children. There were many other things you wouldn't expect of a holiday home, like greasy cooker etc.
Because of the above concerns I cannot recommend this property, which is a shame as with a little bit of money and some TLC it could be very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Safety concerns.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. Several points mentioned have been rectified. Unfortunately, guests do tamper with the smoke alarms, however, the one on the landing was in full working order. The damaged one has been replaced and a Carbon Monoxide Detector is in place. We do employ a gardener, but due to the abnormal amount of rain during August cutting of the grass was not possible and this is regretted. The safety certificates and information had been removed from the plastic wallet and probably taken in error by a guest. I would say that Roselands is now being fully refurbished and, should we take in guests during 2016 they will find it fully decorated and refurnished. We apologise for any inconvenience you were caused.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice location”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Shower curtain dirty so we replaced it, fridge and microwave not clean ,smoke alarm hanging of ceiling and run out of electric half way through holiday but put back on after owner replied to our phone call.Nice quiet location plenty of room and good parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Parking
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
It's good you found some good things about your holiday at Roselands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Decor was extremely baron/un-homely
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you were always able to park directly outside Roselands, as you should. Just to clarify - the parking space is an allocated space for that property. Unfortunately, the neighbour thinks he can slip on the end at times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrslpoude...
1 review
“Lovely house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just come back from staying for just 3 days and want to go back already.

Barbara ( the owner) could not have been any more friendly and helpful.

The house is in a lovely location near Colwell beach and freshwater beach. Very nice and spacious.

We would highly recommend the local pub ( the vine) for eating.

Also ventnor and shanklin are a must to visit.

We hope you return soon

Thank you for helping make our 2nd wedding anniversary one that we will never forget !!!

Mr and Mrs Poudel

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Hello, I was just reading through reviews etc. Thank you for your lovely review. I know you loved it there and I'm just letting you know that we are now taking holiday bookings for this summer, after renting Roselands out. So please do let me know if you are interested in another stay there. Kind regards Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overner1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation clean, very comfortable and well equipped. Nice location, quiet residential area and a good base for exploring the island. Good range of shops and places to eat within easy distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation very spacious and had good Wi-Fi reception. Also good parking.
Liked least: Sat Nav needs to be up to date otherwise difficult to find.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarey73
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped and spacious”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The house was in a good location and the rooms were spacious enough for our family of 5. The house had everything we needed. There was plenty to do on the island and the beaches were all very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious layout of the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing