We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stephen c...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing view”
Reviewed 23 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Wonderful apartment with the most amazing views. You can hear the sound of the waves as you drop off to sleep. Very comfortable and clean. Well equipped. Those views are to die for and such a quiet little promenade position. Lovely restaurant 200 yards along the prom. A real gem.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frazzledo...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, apartment needs serious attention”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This apartment could be such a fantastic place to stay. The location is absolutely perfect - just the promenade between you and the sea, and the view out of the sea facing windows is amazing. The apartment is light and airy with high ceilings.
Unfortunately the owners apparently do not live on the island and are reliant on their on site cleaner to maintain and clean the property. They tell us that they pay a lot of money for this service. They are not getting value for money.
The apartment was beset with problems - from minor irritations (no batteries in the remote controls, lightbulbs missing, lampshade missing, windows broken) to serious long term cleaning issues leading to a shower that was encrusted with limescale and black mould and tiles behind the cooker that were so sticky with old grease that you could stick things to them. The carpets were stained, some of the furniture had seen better days, and some items just did not work.
We contacted the owners and they replied very promptly, asking the cleaner to come and rectify the cleaning issues - which he tried to, eventually (it took 2 days). He made a cursory attempt. After this, as we continued to find things, we declined their offer for him to come into the property again while we were there, as we had lost confidence in him and we did not want to disrupt the rest of our stay which was only a week.
This apartment is expensive to hire and we expected so much more from it - see our previous stay at Crantock Bay, Cornwall.
We have forwarded photographs and a detailed letter to the owners who have pledged to rectify the problems we encountered. They also paid for us to have a meal at The Waterfront Bay as compensation.
Sadly though, unless this apartment had a serious overhaul and updating, with careful, thorough cleaning and the lovely touches we experienced at Crantock, we will not be returning.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2018
Thank you Nicola for your review. Nobody likes to get a bad review, but we are very grateful that you have brought these issues to our attention. We are devastated that our normal high standards have slipped, and cannot apologise enough that you encountered them and had a less than perfect holiday.

We have taken great care to note the points you have raised and have ensured everything has now been corrected and we are confident that it is now back to the standard upon which we pride ourselve. (By the way, the windows were not broken, a few of the stick-on Georgian bars had come off, as the company who installed the new windows last year did not use a strong enough adhesive tape)

We are putting a monitoring management system in place to ensure that this never happens again.

As you kindly pointed out, it is a beautiful apartment in a wonderful location and we are really sorry if these issues spoiled your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Traveller...
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Beach House at the end of August with our two children. The location of this property is outstanding - the views from the main bedroom and lounge are stunning and the sunsets glorious. We had plenty of room for our family in this lovely apartment which was a great base for exploring the island. The private parking space was a great addition and we loved the beach hut from which we enjoyed barbecues as the sun went down. If you are looking for a special place to explore the island this is a great base from which to do it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancytait
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal base for relaxing, watching the sun set, after exploring the 'Isle'.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The flat was very comfortable with enough equipment to get by. Had no problems with access. The parking space was very handy, relieved that nobody ignored the private signs. Surprised how busy the beach was. I definitely agree with others; the window views out to sea made this a very memorable holiday. Never tired of watching the sea sparkle under the sun. missing it already and we have countless photo's of sunsets. A superstore. local food stores and takeaways all nearby. Wonderful island to visit, loads to do with beautiful views wherever we looked.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoffandGi...
Thundersley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

How great to sit in the lounge looking at and listening to the sea only a few yards away, or to drift off to sleep and wake up with the same sounds and view. The Waterfront restaurant 50 yards away did us proud too. We hardly needed to go out although loved Seaview and Freshwater Bay

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here and although the weather threw some cold and rain at us for the most part of our stay the apartment remained cosy and warm with the most spectacular view of the solent. Much like being on a boat and as regular visitors to the Isle of Wight I know how incredible the sunsets are here. We will without a doubt return and enjoy these apartments again.

The flat we stayed in was incredibly spacious with everything we needed to enjoy our stay, our children had so much space to play in without us all being on top of each other. The kitchen was well equipped and spacious and on the days we didn’t cook we wandered along the seawall to the local restaurant, The Waterfront where we enjoyed some great food with equally amazing views. . They have regular offers on too which helped the holiday budget!

Parking was right outside so very convenient. Travelling with young children can be awkward when you arrive somewhere and can’t get a parking space nearby so the allocated parking was a bonus.

Thank you on behalf of my family for such a wonderful holiday, I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone, we will be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing