We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golf House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssue johnbed breakfastbiscuitsfridge with fresh milklovely couple of daysbilliard roomtea coffeeisle of wightminutes walk awaywalk in showernothing is too much troubleon arrivalneedleshostsbath
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Memories of our mid week stay at the Golf House will stay with us forever for all the right reasons.

John, Sue and thier wonderful labradors make superb hosts providing good local knowledge as well as an outstanding breakfast in the conservatory overlooking their well tended garden.

The property is in a fantastic location to provide excellent views and to explore and enjoy the local area. Great walks are to be had along the coastline without needing to set foot in the car. The room was incredibly clean and beutifully maintained, with excellent facilities including a lovely bathroom, TV and DVD player and a very comfy bed.

The Isle of Wight, and west Wight in particular, are well worth a visit, but for us the Golf house provided the icing, the cherry and a little bit more on top! I am told I have quite high standards when it comes to holiday accommodation and I can't recommened this place highly enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We stayed over the Easter weekend in the Tennyson Suite. John and Sue and their 2 labradors are friendly and helpful hosts. The breakfast could be the best I've ever had ( hats off to anyone who can finish it ). My parents-in-law liked the homemade marmalade so much they bought some to take home. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I couldn't have slept better. Finally, location, location, location. For people who don't know West Wight; just go, it's gorgeous countryside. The Golf House is one of the last houses before the Needles, and you walk out of the house and straight up onto Tennyson Down. My only regret - not managing to get a frame of snooker in with John. One more reason to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

.......it would probably be something like this. The Golf House is simply quite stunning, without doubt the best B&B I have had the pleasure of staying in during the course of the last fifteen years spent touring the country for one reason or another.

My girlfriend and I booked a two night stay, and were given a suite rather than a room - our own entrance door leading up to a beautiful sitting room with a leather sofa and two leather armchairs, Sky TV with all sports and film channels included on a massive television with a DVD and CD player attached, a large bathroom with bath and power shower and a bedroom looking over the back garden to the sea in the distance. Every inch of it was spotlessly clean and lovingly maintained. Breakfast in the conservatory was of the size and quality that left no room for evening meal let alone lunch, with a gorgeous freshly prepared fruit salad, home made jams by the owners and a fully cooked breakfast that left us stuffed.

And on top of all this, the owners, John and Sue, together with their two golden labradors, are of the modern variety who offer B&B as a hobby rather than a business, who are committed to making friends with their guests, and who are dedicated to making your stay a magical one. In particular, if you are a couple looking to spend some quality time together, I would heartily recommend it. It will certainly linger long in our memories.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TrappyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Great welcome (2 beautiful Labradors waiting to say Hi!), beautiful house, lovely place. We had a room, bathroom and living room all to ourselves. A breakfast to die for! Good advice from Sue and John about places to visit. Incredible beaches just around the corner. We strongly reccomend this B&B! Enjoy it! M&S

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palacinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews