We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcomed like an old friend...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Granville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Granville
Ranked #12 of 13 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcomed like an old friend...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Granville in September while visiting family in Yarmouth.
We were met at the door by Dawn who made us feel very welcome. The house is spacious and decorated in a very appealing way. The living and dining rooms on the main floor are large with plenty of light.
In our bedroom we had plenty of thick, soft towels, a flat-screen tv and a hospitality tray with a kettle, tea, coffee and cookies. The bed was very comfortable, made-up with lovely linens and lots of pillows. Welcome touches were added to the room - chocolates on the top of the pile of towels laid out on the bed as well as brochures and magazines on the bedside table with information about the island which were very handy.
Breakfast both days was excellent - a full English breakfast and/or a large selection of fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and fruit.
I would recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who is looking for a decent and comfortable place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank am52Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed for a week in August and Dawn was a charming host. Great location walking distance from Totland Bay. Very good facilities and amenities and lovely breakfasts. I would highly recommend The Granville for a relaxing getaway...Leave your laptop at home and enjoy the best of what the isle of Wight has to offer ;).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I was looking for a last minute accomodation on the Isle of Wight and had almost given up (4 of us only wanted to stay one night - and most B&B's and even hotels have a 2 night minimum policy in the summer) - and then i found the Granville! All as it should be with a B&B but too often isn't - super friendly, didnt have to pay upfront, flexible with the check-in time, great advice on what to do locally. The rooms were nice and very clean, the bathrooms / shower cubicles maybe a bit on the small side - but absolutely fine for a few nights. It's a bit off the beaten track but as most people travel by car it's not really a problem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

what a lovely B and B with a very pleasant hostess, One of the best we have stayed in for a long time. A comfortable, clean and bright rooms with great facilities and a good quality breakfast with plenty of choice

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsshoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

My wife and I really had an enjoyable 3 night stay at The Granville. Dawn's hospitality was warm and gracious and the breakfasts were great. The room we were allocated was both beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: We used local buses only on the IOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boondie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The Granville is located in a quiet residential area of Freshwater about 10 minutes from the ferry in Yarmouth. We were made welcome on arrival and our room was comfortable with all amenities and nice touches such as a choice of teas, bottled water etc. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice from fresh fruit, cereals to the full English which was of the highest standard with local produce. We would not hesitate in recommending the B&B to visitors to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrattoBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We found this B&B after a few hours of searching having almost given up on finding somewhere to stay. Excellent very well presented room and a very good breakfast. Situated in a quieter part of the island where we hadn't stayed before it was a very nice surprise to find this B&B.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centauro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
0.1 mi away
Whitefield
Whitefield
#4 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville

Property: The Granville
Address: The Granville Granville Road | Totland Bay Isle of Wight, Totland Bay PO39 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Bed & Breakfast is situated on the very western side of the Isle of Wight England. Set 2 minutes stroll away from the most stunning bay, which boasts spectacular sunsets, beautiful coastal walks, quite tranquial, get away from it all, detatched Victorian house. All rooms are tastfully decorated and spacious with private en-suite with shower/bath, WC & wash hand basin. Free view TV/radio, radio/clock alarm, wonderfully comfortable beds, King sized or Twin. Black-out blinds, hairdryer and refreshment tray. Chilled water and herbal tea's are freely avaliable. Tea/coffee tray on arrival, enjoy the guest lounge or our sun trap patio area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Granville Totland Bay, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing