We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Highdown Inn

Highdown Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Totland Bay
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Such a waste, lovely location, guilty of no thought. Rubbish by outside gents, food below school meals. No change over last two years.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    68
    24
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We'd been staying in the Isle of Wight for New Years, and on the first non wet day of our holiday we ventured to the Needles and Alum Bay. The horrid theme park by the Needles was all closed (which according to their website is open all year?!?!), and the footpath to the beach was cordoned off for some reason.

Kids needed their lunch, we were hungry so we drove towards Freshwater Bay (looked good on a map) to find a pub, nothing was open or looked any good there. Then my wife remembered this pub we'd passed on the way to the Needles.

The best way to describe the garden and carpark is ramshackle. But I like it. The pub itself is very clean and nicely decorated, with a log fire to greet weary travellers.

This was the 2nd January, the friendly barmaid explained that they'd had a busy New Years day and a few things were in short supply. But it was a great menu and my wife lamb shank and my moules marinere were both excellent. Kids loved playing in the garden, and we'd love to go back when we're next on the Island.

It's a great pub, with excellent food, good pub grub and with friendly staff. It would be fantastic on a spring or summers evening to sample more of their beer whilst the kids enjoyed the climbing frame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“impressed”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First visit to highdown and found it most enjoyable. After a lovely walk with our dogs settled down to an excellent lunch in very nice cosy bar. Had roast dinner s that came with plenty of lovely vegetables. Very dog friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We hadn't been to the Highdown for several years, and having heard that it had had a makeover, decided to go, luckily, for just a drink on Saturday lunchtime. We didn't notice any difference..the place looked grubby and I appealing. There were shelves with all sorts of 'tat' for sale, postcards and leaflets. The door opens directly into the bar, so every time someone came in, there was a gust of cold air. Won't bother to go back again..very average

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A joke of a Saturday night supper”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It was Saturday night, and almost everything on the menu was "off". The food we were able to order was either overcooked (maybe reheated too often?) and covered in glutanous but tasteless sauce, or so basic as impossible to mar.

An extremely drunk regular was sitting at the bar repeatedly annoying anyone who came in.

The saving grace was the lovely girl serving behind the bar who rose above the awfulness of the environment and fare she was expected to serve.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0hnn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highdown Inn also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Highdown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing