We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing place for a multi-generational family...”

Review of Tapnell Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amatths
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing place for a multi-generational family holiday”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We came for our Christmas family celebration, and loved the atmosphere in this wonderful old manor house. The gifts under the Christmas tree were much appreciated! There was plenty of space for all our different activities both inside and out; the children enjoyed the activities on the farm itself, while the braver members relaxed in the hot-tub. What an amazing place for hide and seek and treasure hunts. The kitchen was a 'proper family room' with a lovely Aga as well as conventional oven. There was plenty of space for everyone elsewhere in the comfortable bedrooms, spacious living and dining rooms. So much to do and see on the island (although lots of things seemed to close down for Christmas!) and the farm was great for the children. Sadly we had mixed experiences of the Cow restaurant with some service issues. We would all love to come and stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Hello.

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. It is great to hear that you all enjoyed your Christmas break, including the goodies under the tree!

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Many thanks

Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill197
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic service - setting and great weekend . All so easy and nothing negative - will be back

Restaurant on site fantastic and local areas ..... well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Hi Jason.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review!

It was good to meet you and your family from afar!
Hopefully see you all again soon,

Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mummalink
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant large house for friends and families”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Tapnell Manor and once again, it was brilliant. The house has everything you need, is beautifully furnished and yet informal and relaxed enough not to worry if you are there with piles of children tearing around the place. There is plenty of space so different groups can do different things whether it is drawing at the kitchen table, table tennis in the playroom, a board game in the drawing room and an almighty nerf gun war all around the garden! We did day trips every day but the kids loved hanging out at the house and never got restless and we (the long suffering parents) thoroughly enjoyed a few glasses of rose under the walnut tree in the evenings. I've just booked for next year - it is hard to think of a better place and the addition of all the extra facilities on site went down well with the kids. We love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed feel, plenty of space
Liked least: The cooking area gets a bit congested at 'peak times'!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a really nice review.

It's great to hear how much our guests enjoy staying in the house.

Looking forward to seeing you all again next year.

Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year 2015/2016 - Tapnell Manor”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just come back from a week staying at Tapnell Manor on Tapnell Farm. The Manor house sleeps 20 and is a great house for a large group (4 families - 16 of us in total this trip). Loads of space, big rooms with log fires, fantastic dining room which easily held us all, an aga + separate cooker and outside hot tub. The kids had a great time exploring the house and grounds! Brilliant for dog walks and a downstairs shower room to clean the dog down afterwards in!
We used the facilities on the farm (play barn etc.) and ate in the Cow Shed several times - great food and service all round!
We explored all the grounds and the safari tents, eco pods and cabins all looked amazing and will definitely be back to stay here again in the future.
Thanks to Chloe and all the team at Tapnell Farm!

Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing