We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$265
LateRooms.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
216
20
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari tentpizza ovenelectric blanketstapnell farmhonesty lardercollecting eggshot tubfarm parkfire pitgo kartson sitefairy lightshen housecow restaurantbouncing pillowbell tentfreshly laid eggs
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a 4 night stay with family and friends who stayed in the farm house. Cabin nicely decorated, toasty warm with beautiful views. Staff friendly And helpful. Enjoyed a great meal in the Cow co restaurant. Highly recommend. Thanks for a great stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank shrekndonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe B, Manager at Tom's Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hello there

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It's brilliant to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here at the Farm and the meal in the restaurant too.

Hopefully you'll join us again for more pre-Christmas celebrations!

Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Chloe
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed in the Log Cabin with 6 others for my husbands 30th Birthday. it was warm and cozy and provided the perfect place to get away and relax. Thoughtful gestures on arrival (balloon and flowers). The only disappointing factor was that when we originally booked the accommodation (January) we weren't able to see the property and the member of staff who spoke to us on site informed us it was 4 bedroom. In fact it is three bedrooms with one room having 2 sets of bunk beds. I therefore do not think that it is suitable for 8 adults as some adults would not be able to access the bunk bed meaning 2 of our friends had to sleep on the sofa bed. The hot tub had been fired up ready for us to arrive however it took the whole evening to get hot so could only be used on the Saturday and Sunday. A great place to walk and enjoy the grounds and would still go again but possible stay in the other accommodation.

Room Tip: Log cabin really only suitable for 4 adults not 8.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SHills88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe B, Manager at Tom's Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and also for your feedback.

We apologise for any confusion that may have been caused via miscommunication at your point of booking. We often have groups of the same number of adults staying, as the bunk beds are full size, however we understand the layout may not be everyone's cup of tea for 4 couples. We light the log burning hot tubs to give them a head start ahead of guest' arrival- on future stays please feel free to contact a member of staff is you are struggling to keep them going, as they normally take a maximum of 3 hours to heat. We also have plans to get new and improved log burning hot tubs for Easter 2018 that have a shorter heat up time to help reduce any heating issues.

Once again we apologise if any of these factors affected your stay here with us, as we'd love to have you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Well where do i begin to review Tom's? it started with the glorious sunset over Tennyson down, to entering Cabin 1 and finding nothing was too much trouble. all the fixture and fittings are good quality, a welcome pack of biscuits (posh ones), milk, tea coffee sugar, all mod cons, hair dryer, large fridge freezer dishwasher etc. A lovely birthday balloon and bunting were a lovely touch. We loved the honesty shop and part of the fun of the break was going there with our money to buy necessities like "chocolate" and toilet roll. We chose the log burning hot tub, and it was just so nice, sat in there with a glass of wine and looking up at the night sky full of stars as there is minimal light pollution there, it was magical. A quick hop to Tapnell farm for a visit, where the kids ran amok (the youngest was 19!) which again we couldnt fault. A burger and night out at the Cow and Co, yummy food, good value, we got 10% as Tom's guests. Sunday a scrumptious bbq (bricks etc included) sat on the copious balcony watching the sun set again then another dip in the hot tub. Surrounded by bird song, noisy pheasants, chickens, trees it is just wonderful. The Pizza oven was fantastic, again with unlimited logs you could use it as much as you wanted. Everything was magical and enchanting, we are definately rebooking and cannot recommend it enough. Excellent value for money and quality, superb service with all the trappings of the countryside. PERFECT thank you. Tina, Marnie and friends.

Room Tip: Any of them, all perfect the choice is yours
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TinaBeansIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe B, Manager at Tom's Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Tina

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely and detailed review.

The sunset on the Friday was spectacular and perfectly timed with your arrival time. It sounds as if you had a chance to test out all aspects of the farm, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed all of them!

We will look forward to welcoming you back again in 2018!

Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We travelled without any small children this time and Stayed in a cabin again with just our Labrador. It was a wonderful stay, just as it was with a five year old last time. We often stay on the Island and have stayed in a few different places over the years, but Tom's Eco Lodge/Tapnall wins for us and will probably be our choice always, now.

The service is very good both before arrival and afterwards, with all questions and detail well covered, the cabins well equipped, beds comfortable, the cabins are spacious and the sofas and sitting area VERY comfortable indeed. The beautiful vase of flowers awaiting our arrival was such a lovely welcoming touch.

The setting is glorious and it's just so peaceful. At night you can hear a pin drop wonderful for dogs, with lovely walks straight from the cabin. Our lab just relishes her holiday here. We had five days in November of totally dry, sunny weather. It was gorgeous, however whatever the weather and at any time of year I would highly recommend. In fact we love it all, out of season, and it's great the proximity to Yarmouth.

It might be a different experience in a cabin with 8 or 10 people, but there is surely enough accommodation for that number. I must also say the bathrooms are good and having 2 is a real bonus...well a must really. The walk in shower is excellent and water is hot and the pressure unusually good,

I always congratulate Tapnall on the Honesty Shop. Someone has been SO thoughtful in the stock there, and there is everything you can think of, that you might have forgotten.

Didn't eat at The Cow this time. It was only open at weekends this time of year, but it's great having it so close.

The chickens are fun and the lovely eggs a special bonus.

The wifi is very good as is the mobile reception, at least on our network it was.

The gardens and woods directly around the cabin are a real pleasure too. Whatever accommodation you chose, you would not be disappointed.

This is hard to beat and, all in all, is probably one of the best stays on the Island.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Summer1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe B, Manager at Tom's Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello Judy,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely thoughtful review of your second stay with us last week.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your returning visit, and all the aspects of the accommodation and farm yet again :) We shall look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Take care and best wishes,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Although we only travelled from Bembridge it felt like we were a world away! Amazing stay from start to finish, hot tub was ready on arrival, Chloe was so helpful before hand & checked in on us on arrival. Best place we have ever stayed, so cosy & peaceful! Honesty shed & pizza oven & all the other little touches made it more perfect! We stayed in the Modulog & will definitely be coming back in the new year!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kirstyf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe B, Manager at Tom's Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hi Kirsty

Thank you for leaving us a brilliant review so prompt after your departure! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Farm, and even more so that you are planning to return :)

See you in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews