We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good quality and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Rocks

On the Rocks
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$62
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lymington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good quality and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As soon as you enter this buzzy and busy restaurant you are tempted by the array of mouthwatering steaks and seafood. The young team are professional and charming. Yummy bread and dips, jugs of iced water provided without hesitation. The choice then - succulent steaks or seafood selection, go for the surf and turf and have both, you won't be disappointed. Enjoy the fun experience of cooking your selection on the hot rocks and tuck into piping hot fries and the tasty Greek salad. After, well there's always room to share nor of the home-made desserts- boozy chocolate pot, gooey pavlova and crime brûlée . A fun evening and worth the ferry trip over from home. A firm favourite to bring our guests to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    96
    20
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were a party of six and had a really great meal here, the staff were all very friendly and really helped to make the experience an enjoyable one. All the food was terrific and the Salt Marsh Lamb that I had was delicious. Nothing seemed like too much trouble for the staff and the service was great, my son was very impressed with the never ending fries :-)
We're back on the Island for Cowes week and have already booked our table!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chequers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Isobels 21st family dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

When we all arrived we were seated quickly and drinks order taken They had lovely rustic bread and balsamic/v.oil dip on the table. The place was busy and plenty of staff all taking orders. Our table of 13 chose the meat and fish that was going on the hot rock. We had plentiful greek salads and bowls of frites on the table. These are included in the cost of meal and refilled as often as you wished! The meat was local and very tender and flavoursome. We all enjoyed our meals and will return. They surprised our daughter with a lovely dessert with a message of congrats for her 21st on the plate, lovely touch! Not the cheapest, but well worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helenalderclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“what an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

On the Rocks has to be one of my favourite restaurants on the island, the quality of the meat and fish is fantastic, served with lovely rustic bread, salad and all you can eat chips it is a total experience. The staff are friendly and welcoming. I absolutely recommend on the rocks to anyone visiting the island!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just of the centre of Yarmouth, On the Rocks is different to any other restaurant in the area. Primarily a restaurant for meat eaters, On the Rocks sources its produce locally and you choose your choice of meat from the chilled display. it is then served to you along with very hot ceramic flat stone to cook it on which you do yourself at your table.

Whilst this is novel, the stones do loose their heat and the staff are not experienced or aware enough to offer you another stone. With prawns there is always a danger that they may not be cooked through if the stone is too cool which could prove a health issue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derms-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On the Rocks also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to On the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing