We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor!”
Review of The Gossips Cafe

The Gossips Cafe
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

On a visit to Yarmouth,we found the Gossips Cafe which is situated by the seas edge with great views. This to our party of 5 is where all the good points ended. To order even basic food took a very long time and then the wait for our order took a whopping 40 minutes for 2 pots of microwave stew and 3 sandwiches. Our hot drinks had gone cold by the time the food arrived.
The order system is to be given a number for your order, but higher numbers then ours were served first, on enquiring why this was we were told it doesn't go in order.
The food and service was below average, nothing to make me want to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pointermanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    211
    82
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Visited last night after let down at Blue Crab. Walked in, found a guy singing to karioke machine, not too bad at all either! Food nice and simple, nice staff, what you see is what you get, and nice view as always. What a night cafe should be and more with singer..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Visit”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent evening meal last night. Three of us. Good burger. Good curry. Good stew and dumplings. Much better than I thought it might be. Recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Overners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful spot to ponder and write”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I don't know about you but JK Rowling and I enjoy the buzz of a good café to write in. I found such a place at The Gossips Café in Yarmouth. I was able to have lunch (a tuna mayo salad sandwich on brown bread) washed down with a lovely tea blend whilst writing on my tablet and waiting for a particular yacht to come into the harbour. My sandwich was made to order - it couldn't have been fresher. The café is perfectly positioned with great picture windows for just such activity. The service was pretty good the day I was there despite being rather busy. I did notice a good turnover rate of the tables (customers leaving, tables cleared and new customers taking over). The staff were all cheery and smiling. The café gives onto the Pier a great spot to fish, enjoy the breeze and watch the boats go by.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Crab Salad”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

From the number of lunchtime diners this is a popular café. The service was quick, prices reasonable and the food tasty. If any complaint it was a little cramped.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gossips Cafe also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Gossips Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing