We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic stay at modwena”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning Coastal Cottage in centre of Yarmouth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Coastal Cottage in centre of Yarmouth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Stunning Coastal Cottage in centre of Yarmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
akemp1985
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another fantastic stay at modwena”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It's the second time we have stayed at modwena but the first time with baby's and the kids loved it. Such a warm cosy house with lots of room. A short walk to the town with some great pubs. Would highly recommend to all family's. We will certainly be back soon. Lynn was very helpful and just at the end of the phone if needed. The welcome basket was a lovely touch and the lemon cake was out of this world. Thank you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Dear Emma and Aaron, thank you for such an amazing review! It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Modwena and I am so glad you had a brilliant stay! Best wishes Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Hello Daphne, thank you so much for a fabulous review! You certainly had the best of the weather during your stay! It was lovely to talk to you about your love of the Isle of Wight! We hope that you will come and stay again soon! Very best wishes Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic location and home”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this property. Communcation with the owner was timely and clear. The house is a great layout and all people aged 70 down to 6 found it met their needs. The house is spotless and finished to a very high standard with all the amenities we needed while having little breakable/dangerous opportunities at toddler height (much appreciated!). Fabulously located in central Yarmouth for people who travel to the island, and on the island, via public transport. Lots to walk to / bus to locally. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again the next time we are on the Isle of Wight.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Dear Taryn, thank you for an amazing review! Come back soon! Best wishes, Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect 'home away from home' cottage in Yarmouth”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From the moment we arrived at the cottage we felt right at home. This was due in part to the lovely, homely cottage itself but also due to the obvious care and attention that the owner had made to ensure that we were comfortable.

There was a welcome basket with various items such as tea and coffee. A delicious cake and also items in the fridge to tide us over until we could get to a shop. Very thoughtful.

The cottage itself was lovely. Very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were five adults in our party and there was plenty of room to sit without being on top of each other. I would say that the staircase to upstairs is very steep but negotiable as long as you take care. Younger children would need supervision.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and the shower was fantastic!

The cottage is a 3 minute walk from Yarmouth Harbour and Pier. There are plenty of shops and places to eat nearby. We ate in The Bugle Pub and The Wheatsheaf pub. Both were great. The food is better in The Wheatsheaf although the atmosphere was better in The Bugle. The Bugle has a very large garden to sit in at the back. There is a local shop practically next door to The Bugle and it is very well stocked and sells some local produce.

We had hired a car so explored the island by car however you can hire cycles from a place next to Off The Rails a cafe 3 minutes walk from Modwena cottage. There is a coastal path you can follow with amazing views. There is a nearby goat farm where you can see the goats as well as buy their delicious goats cheese and various other little souvenirs. We also visited Brownrigg's Organic Farm Shop and Butchery which has some amazing local produce. The Waterfront Cafe at Totland has delicious food and amazing views of Totland Bay. Great at sunset. Advisable to book a table though as it gets very busy at times.

Our stay in the Isle of Wight was definitely enhanced by staying at Modwena cottage.

We cannot recommend it highly enough and would definitely book to stay there again. Emma

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Emma, thank you so much for a wonderful review! It sounds like you had a brilliant time! Thank you for being so complimentary about Modwena! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Best wishes, Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susana99...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Instantly feel at home and live like a local in the centre of lively Yarmouth”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A 2-min walk from this well-appointed house brings you to the centre of Yarmouth with all its atmospheric pubs, cafes and harbour. Everything you could ever want is supplied in this cozy house which is also surprisingly spacious. Comfy beds, lots of natural light, and the cutest garden to sit in with an evening glass of wine

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Susan, thank you for a great review on Modwena! We are so glad you enjoyed staying in Modwena and found Yarmouth to be as charming and welcoming as we do! We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Modwena in the future! Best wishes Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev C
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would love to come back ..”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We wanted a last minute break in half-term and luckily Lynn's place was available. Lynn was fabulous to communicate with, really speedy and called a couple of days before arrival to make sure we knew what was where. The house was just gorgeous, kitchen's and bathroom really modern with everything you need. The rest of the house was delightful too, loads of comfy seating and lots of TVs!!! Ideal for our family with two teenage daughters. We wondered if not having parking would be an issue but it was fine, the parking permits did the job and we always got a space a minute or two from the house. The house is in a perfect location for the boat and Yarmouth town, which was great. Lots of lovely places to eat, a deli and mini supermarket too. Just 5 mins from the house. We would love to return!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Hello Bev,

Thank you for this fabulous review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Modwena in the future.

Best wishes,

Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing