We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Cottage bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Cottage bed & Breakfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The welcome was very warm. I stayed in the single room which was comfortable and beautifully furnished. The toiletries were high quality as were the towels and bed-linen. There was a good supply of tea and coffee. There is a comfortable lounge downstairs, which again is very tastefully furnished and appointed. Breakfast was lovely - freshly cooked for each guest. I would highly recommend Ivy Cottage for a visit to Yarmouth.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well we have just returned home from yet another fantastic stay at the wonderful Ivy Cottage. Veronica and Brian are now dear friends after staying so many times. Really wouldn't consider going anywhere else. From the moment you step into the house it's like being home and not in a B&B. the welcome you receive is fantastic, their home is wonderful.....beautifully clean, bright and airy. Our room (we love The Bembridge) is gorgeous and getting into bed with the beautiful crisp white bedding and memory foam mattress is like being given a cuddle and we always sleep so well. Being in the heart of Yarmouth also means not having to drive as everything you need is there. This visit was for our first Old Gaffers Festival and we have already booked in for next year as it was simply brilliant. I'd really love not to tell anybody about this little gem as they are always so busy but you really must stay here and see for yourself. Breakfast was brilliant as always and love that all produce is locally sourced and the homemade yogurt is wonderful. Already looking in the diary to book our next stay in a couple of months!

Room Tip: The back room is quieter but the front room is so bright and spacious and has a bath and a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I visited the Ivy cottage 10/5/2014 as one of a group of five men walking around the isle of Wight, we were given a great welcome and the lady even offered to launder our muddy clothes, add to that the beautifully presented rooms and a fine breakfast prior to our departure it left all other accommodation we visited in the shade.
Super place and lovely people, thank you..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petergibb0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

To state the obvious there are two things any B&B absolutely must get right; the rooms and the breakfast. This place succeeds on both fronts. Add to that the hidden third pillar of great hosting and you have a killer combination.

The rooms (and for that matter the whole property) are clean, bright and spacious. I was there on my own but had the twin room to myself, maybe the bathroom could be a little larger but that would be picky. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities with a small bottle of water provided for each guest, a hairdryer and a small television. All the bedding is of a high quality, although I found the pillows slightly on the hard side and the bed slightly on the soft side. White Company shampoo and shower gel is provided in the bathrooms along with shower cap, sewing kit and few other bits and bobs.

The breakfast is very good and uses quality ingredients. Essentially it consists of cereals, fresh fruit of the day, yogurts, tea/coffee, toast and a cooked breakfast proudly prepared on the Aga and all of high quality. There's a bit of theatre about it with Brian playing the waiter and Veronica the chef, they clearly enjoy what they do and they do it well.

Highly recommended for a stay in Yarmouth and Brian and Veronica are very happy to pull out a map of the island and explain where things are. They're also accommodating to cyclists with a covered porch where bikes can be stored out of the way of prying eyes and Brian was eager to pull out the Swarfega after I'd had a tinker with the gears.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were greeted by Veronica when we arrived who was so welcoming and showed us to our gorgeous room with a view of the lovely Garden. The whole place was spotless and they made us an amazing breakfast in the morning, Veronica and Brian were so friendly and helpful telling us the best towns to see and places to eat!
Would recommend for anyone to stay here as it was perfect, you can't fault anything...we couldn't of asked for anything more!!!
The B&B is gorgeous!! Best place to stay in Yarmouth, and literally round the corner from the ferry!!
Thank you for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

On our arrival we were greeted by Veronica with a nice smile and immediately I could feel the warmth coming from the house, I am a chilly mortal and this was a welcome feeling on a cold November day!
She immediately showed us to our rooms and offered us a coffee/tea in our room or in the very comfortable lounge
My room was a single room at the back overlooking a lovely garden
The room although not huge it was spacious and contained everything I needed – it was spotlessly clean with a crisp clean bedding and fluffy towels in the bathroom
The bathroom had really lovely toiletries – The White Company, London.
Breakfast was fantastic – juice, yogurt, cereal, homemade fruit compote – followed by a full cooked breakfast and toast. The best hotel breakfast I have had in a long while
I have not stayed in a UK B & B for many years and I was completely surprised with the standard or rooms and food
Will definitely be making another visit in the Summer

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wonderful welcome from Veronica, the owner. Beautifully appointed en-suite rooms, great breakfast with home made granola and vegetarian options. Perfect location in centre of Yarmouth - only a short walk from the Ferry so ideal for foot passengers. This was our second stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Cottage bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Cottage bed & Breakfast

Property: Ivy Cottage bed & Breakfast
Address: Ivy Cottage St. James Street, Yarmouth PO41 0NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Cottage is a small bed & breakfast in the heart of Yarmouth. Run by Brian & Veronica Workman who have recently refurbished the house to a high standard. All bedding is White Company - all breakfasts freshly cooked on the aga using local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Cottage Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing