We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for walking”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Medlars Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for walking”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here with our 9 yr old and two dogs and were very pleased with our stay. We had the family room with ensuite which was lovely and were catered for well with our vegetarian breakfasts. It was our first time in the Isle of Wight and there are lots of well signposted footpaths near the B&B so we could explore the area on foot and bikes. There is also a Bistro on the beach at Fort Victoria a 10min walk away - great for watching the sunset. We got to Compton Bay by bike and climbed down to the quieter end where we had that area of the beach to ourselves on an August weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed one night at Medlars and had a very pleasant stay. The room was spacious with en suite shower and bath. The breakfast was fantastic and set me up for the day! Located just a short (10mins) walk from Yarmouth, it was nice and quiet without being inaccessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights as it is only about 10 min walk max to Yarmouth. Great room with well cooked English breakfast and charming lady who runs it. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgow282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed at Medlars B&B with my eight year old son and could not have had a more pleasant break. The owner was so helpful booking restaurants and taxis for us. The room was bright and airy and just like a B & B should be unpretentious but very compfortable and homely. The breakfast was delicious and my son loved the two friendly little dogs. This is definately a B& B and not a guest house which is what we loved about it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clasa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had a lovely room with ensuite bathroom. Hearty breakfast and only 10 minute walk to Yarmouth village.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HamburgHairyhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Great B&B and a very friendly owner. There appear to be two rooms - one with its own en-suite and the other with sole use of the other bathroom. Maybe worth asking for the ensuite if it s available as that was the one we had and it was great. Massive room. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The main thing here is the location. Very close to the beach at Yarmouth and only a pleasant 15 minute from the centre of the town which has plenty to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballahooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This B and B needs a good clean - it looks lovely on the website but beware - the room was embarrassingly dirty (had not been dusted in months, tea bag stains slopped on the wall etc) - we tried to find alternative accommodation but everywhere else was booked up due to the 'Old Gaffers' festival being on. The owner is friendly and the breakfast was good - but there is no excuse for charging £60 for a dirty room with no en suite (but a grubby bathroom down the corridor.)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watcherbythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#4 of 9 in Freshwater
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Little Idyll
Little Idyll
#1 of 2 in Ningwood
71 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medlars Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medlars Bed & Breakfast

Property: Medlars Bed & Breakfast
Address: Medlars Halletts Shute, Yarmouth PO41 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Medlars Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing