We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wings of change.....”
Review of Forresters Wine Bar - CLOSED

Forresters Wine Bar
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The winds of change have hit Forresters. We are now open as a Wine Bar with several bar snacks available from a simple sandwich to salads and house specials, all at very reasonable prices. I have decided that 3 courses of fine dining isn't always the best evening out. Sometimes a prawn cocktail and a glass of wine in elegant surroundings fits the bill perfectly. So there will always be a good choice of food but no longer fine dining. Still the wonderful ambiance of Forresters Hall, always good service but now at a fraction of fine dining and pub prices. How about a cocktail to start off your evening? Or reserve our mezzanine floor for a small private party. Hire out the whole place for functions or family get togethers. Or just pop in for an alternative place for a drink. I am determined to keep both food and drink prices extremely sensible, eg bowl of chilli and a crusty baguette for £5 and spirit and a mixer for £3. Regular live music, not loud but pleasantly entertaining and enjoyable. Regular pianist on most Fridays. I hope that you will still keep us on your list of places to go and look forward to welcoming you to Forresters Wine Bar.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The wings of change.....”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Forresters Wine Bar used to be 'fine dining' and built up a great reputation for quality and ambience created by Amanda. It was the place to eat, I have enjoyed a few gorgeous meals and evenings here.
Amanda is now trying the wine bar side of things, we have attended the 'Open Mic' night which is held on the first Thursday of every month, 3 times now and have enjoyed the atmosphere each time. I hope that word gets about as this is a lovely venue for talented people to entertain with no pressure.
The wine bar is a lovely retreat, over two floors, the top floor ideal for a romantic couple or a family.... safe place to take your children with you, with no lager louts in sight...great wine served in gorgeous glasses.....Pizza's are served with garlic bread and salad, ideal for two sharing.....not the usual pizza's.... fresh ingredients, loads of cheese...delightful ( would also recommend the cheese board) Great venue for all occasions....!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank khela69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    31
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent, would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely place, staff are excellent! Lovely cocktails, very nice pizzas and the cheesy chips are fabulous! Would definitely recommend to anyone, planning on having my 18th birthday there as it is so nice. Definitely worth a visit! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellieemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Now a wine bar”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a shame .... No customers when we visited mid week .... Wine good ! Sad to say a modest pizza menu .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningafter376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Venue - sad to see it changing. Good luck”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of the best restaurants on the IoWight. Consistently provided great meals and atmosphere in this unique historic venue in recent years. We had our wedding reception here in April and it was their last time as a Restaurant before "morphing" into a Wine Bar. What a perfect evening we had. We'd like to wish Amanda and staff continued success in their new business venture. I hope they get lots more customers coming through the door. Thanks for everything. A sad loss to the IoW Restaurant community, we will still visit the Forrester's Wine Bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful - almost perfect”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is one of the best meals we have had out. Lovely building, not too hot, background music not intrusive, tables not crammed together, relaxed friendly service.Be aware this is on the first floor - I didn't notice a lift.
It was midweek, out of season, and we ate early so there were no other diners for most of the time we were there, but the atmosphere was still very pleasant.
The food was excellent, starting with complimentary homemade bread, and olives which were were very fresh and fruity. After a number of bad experiences with tasteless gnocchi in Italy (!) I have avoided it like the plague for years. However I bravely tried some as a starter - so delicious was it that I am still trying to work out what the recipe might be to reproduce it! The other starter of crab and prawn salad was equally as good, and the accompanying salad leaves had a very well balanced dressing.
The mains kept up the high standard - slow roast belly pork which melted in the mouth, with very crispy crackling, and guinea fowl cooked to perfection. The accompanying vegetables included roasted celeriac slices, unusual and again something I intend to try at home. The broccoli was slightly overdone, but it was slight and still enjoyable.
Desserts were slightly more mixed. The creme brulee had a good balance of ginger and rhubarb against the cream, although to our taste the ginger was a little too prominent, and the accompanying shortbreads were light and crispy with just a hint of chewiness in the very centre - excellent!. The citrus tart had lovely flavours - I had worried that the grapefruit on top might be too bitter against the sweetness of the rest of it, but it was just slightly sharp and balanced the sweetness beautifully but the pastry was too thick and cakey rather than thin and crisp.
The meal came to £62 for three courses each for 2 people plus 3 soft drinks. The minor niggles were not enough to spoil a first rate meal. If we are back in this area Forresters would certainly be our first choice of restaurant.
Just a suggestion to the owner - it would be really useful to put opening times on the website.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank grumpidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forresters Wine Bar also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing