We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat, beautiful cottage, the beach and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Views out to sea, and a log fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views out to sea, and a log fire
Wake up to a wonderful view of the sea The dining room, a great place to recount the day's adventures over a family meal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Views out to sea, and a log fire
Wake up to a wonderful view of the sea
The dining room, a great place to recount the day's adventures over a family meal
Completely renovated in 2018, the bathroom features a bath/shower combo and heated towel rail
There's great views from everywhere in this cottage
The kitchen is brand new for 2018
The twin bedroom features original Victorian fireplace, and great views over the woodlands
Yarmouth river. The old railway track along the river provides a great walk to Freshwater
The woodlands and beach next to the cottage
Wake up in a king-size bed to the wonderful sea views!
The coastal path runs right past the cottage
The guns at Fort Victoria, next to the cottage
Next door Fort Victoria has a planetarium, an marine aquarium, and an underwater archaeology museum
The green at the front of the property
The beach in front of the cottage
The beach at Fort Victoria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debbie T
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat, beautiful cottage, the beach and woods were brilliant for the dogs.”
Reviewed 17 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We had never taken our dogs away with us before so were a little apprehensive, the cottage was a wonderful place to stay for people with dogs and children, with a wood directly behind which led sown to the shore.
The shore isn't suitable for bathing but has sand and rocks, with lots of interesting rock pools for your children to explore, just along the coast a little (within walking distance) is a beach suitable for bathing.
We were very sad to leave the cottage and hope to visit again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being able to bring our dogs with us
Liked least: nothing, everything was perfect
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful modern cottage close to beach”
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We only had a short visit to Victoria cottage in Yarmouth but would happily go back for longer. The cottage is very modern and has everything you need for an enjoyable escape to the Isle of Wight. Right by the beach and a short walk to the harbour and town with some lovely pubs and restaurants. It was a freezing cold weekend when we were there so it was lovely to come back and light a real fire in the lounge. Booking was very easy and friendly and arranging arrival and departure was also easy with a friendly neighbour. We benefitted from the wi-fi access but there is plenty of information at the property for eating and activities. Our two year old was very taken with their lovely dog. Had the weather been better this would have been an ideal base for us to explore the island. Would definitely return when things warm up a bit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Bit cold upstairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconluc...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy, charming cottage in a superb location, exceptional value.”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How happy were we when we returned from a great week in Fort Victoria cottages. On arrival we were rewarded with very generous gifts from the owners, and also an amazing place to stay with wi fi, well appointed kitchen and dinning area and rooms with great views over the serene Solent, "what a find"
A fantastic garden, with almost what felt like a private beach.
Very quiet neighbourhood was tucked away but is also a stones through from some great island attractions.
The neighbours Fran and her family were ever so helpful and made our stay a great one, thanks again all at Fort Victoria, would absolutely recommend this to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings
Liked least: Not being able to smoke indoors, but hey who can!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda173
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming and Peaceful”
Reviewed 23 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented the cottage to support 2 social events in Yarmouth, just under a mile away. It was a lovely walk into Yarmouth, so we did not have to drive and could drink. The cottage is comfortably furnished-very comfy bed, sofas and fashionably furnished. It was ideal for us and would be for a family or anyone without significant disability.
We are familiar with storage heaters, and with the open fire and electric heaters we were easily warm enough, until the property had warmed through. Instructions for the storage heaters did not seems to be around for those unfamiliar . A general information booklet would be useful, as we like many renters did not want to bother the caretaker neighbours at No 9.
All in all hard to find fault. BT Broadband fast and useful.
We know the Isle of Wight well and so know there is plenty to do for all ages, and on this occasion enjoyed the tea rooms and Ken Russell photo exhibition at Dimbola Lodge and the Blue Crab Restaurant in Yarmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, interior, comfort
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraW11...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elegant and Cosy Family Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Just come back from a lovely, relaxing weekend at Fort Victoria Cottages. The cottage is beautifully furnished and is well equipped. Our nearly 3 year old loved the surroundings - nice big green grass area to the front of the property which in the summer you could easily just sit outside and watch them play. Beds were super comfy and it was so quiet, lovely to wake up to a sea view. We hope to go again and would have no hesitaton in recommending this to couples or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the tasteful, yet homely feel to the cottage
Liked least: Being uber picky - tv was a bit small
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgaz
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 13 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed in the cottage for a week in October with our dog.The cottage is in a perfect peaceful location,adjacent toFort Victoria country park.To the front of the cottage are wonderful views across the Solent,and a small patioed garden(which we used even in October) leading to a large communal grass garden.To the back is a small garden,with direct access to the woods of Fort Victoria Country Park and the IOW coastal path.We went for a walking week,and it was Tuesday before we needed to drive anywhere.Would recomend the Yar estuary walk,the Red Lion half way round is a must for a thirsty walker!
The cottage is perfect well presented,with everything you need,a real home from home,it was also immaculately clean too. Despite being vey mild for October we lit the lovely cosy open fire every night,which gave the cottage an even more homely feel.Would definately recomend the cottage to anyone wanting a lovely get a way from it feel week.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3Sanges
Berks, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, great location”
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

A week on the IoW with our dogs. The cottage is nicely decorated and modern, all appliances etc were working and there was everything you could need to cook simple meals etc. Towels, sheets fittings all good quality.
Dogs were fine - they have to be on a lead on the grassed area as there is no enclosed grassed area for the cottage - just a small patio with low fence (and there are lots of bunnies!) so can't just run around but the beach is literally accross the road so it's not a problem.
Views of the sea are fantastic, there are lots of great walks without getting in the car and it's only 5 minutes from Yarmouth harbour. We had a great time. Have already recommended to other doggy folks!
Owners nice, good information and fast responses to questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed a bit squeaky but only a bit!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing