We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”

Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Gosport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just spent our 1st Anniversary here we stayed in the delightful garden room with our own decking area and use of the conservatory. We can't praise the place and owners enough, Sue & Roger are lovely people and looked after us so well. The room was very cosy and very comfortable with tea coffee and biscuits in abundance. Breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, full English ( as much as you wanted). We will definitely be going back hopefully for longer next time ( could only have 1 night this time). Sue & Roger thank you very much, hope to see you again very soon. Jan & Simon Gosport

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSiGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at Norton Cottage for a single night post Bestival. Not having showered or properly slept for four days, we arrived at Sue and Roger's charming home looking bedraggled and - I imagine - smelling quite bad. Undeterred, they welcomed us with open arms, and showed us to the lovely garden bedroom, where - we excitedly discovered - there were ferrero rochers sitting on our pillows! Sue was a perfect host, making sure we had everything we needed, including fresh milk, bottled water and a selection of biscuits. And the breakfast was delicious!

If we are in Yarmouth again we will definitely return to Norton Cottage - a beautifully decorated house owned by incredibly attentive and friendly hosts. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Thank you to Sue and Roger for fantastic accommodation, amazing breakfasts and wonderful hospitality. We stayed for three nights and our every need was catered for, including providing vegetarian sausages for breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLyndhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for just one night and wish it could have been more. We were with another couple and had both rooms in the annexe which was almost like having our own appartment complete with outside decking for drinking wine in the lovely evening sunshine. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. We all actually tried to think of something that wasn't available and couldn't find anything. Delicious fresh fruit salad, choice of yoghurts and the cooked breakfast was enourmous. Sue and Roger constantly refilled our coffee, tea and toast and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. We were made to feel so welcome and Sue and Roger were full of useful facts and information about the local area. Would definitely love to stay again. Thank you Sue and Roger for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo201042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had a great time, beautiful room, amazing breakfast and above all warm and welcoming hospitality from Sue and Roger.
The b&b is located a minute walk from a bus station, 10 minutes walk from Yarmouth ferry and is a great place to stay during the Isle Of Wight festival.
Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lior B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Norton Cottage is set in a beautiful position, within easy walking to Yarmouth (just over the Yar Bridge) and the Coastal Path a few minutes away. In a way I didnt really want to let anyone know how wonderful this bed and breakfast establishment is, run by the very professional, super efficient but extremely delightful and caring couple, Sue and Roger, as we wanted to keep it our little secret bolt hole. Whether you need to get away for peace and tranquility (the garden is beautiful with lovely outdoor areas to sit in) or to have a friendly, well run place to come back to after sightseeing, we really could not think of anywhere better to go to. Breakfast is to die for and you could have as much or as little as you wish, cooked as you wanted it to be, lots of fruit, yoghurts, juices, breads, cereals ........could go on and on! We went to the IOW for the festival, Sue and Roger were wonderful hosts throughout this time (we were camping for two nights at the festival) letting us know the latest on the mud situation and traffic, giving us tips on the best approach but most importantly letting us come back late on the last day, so we could have a shower and just climb into a comfy warm bed. Its very rare that we find a place that needs no improvement in any aspect whatsoever, however if you do find one when you stay there, just let Sue know, she is always looking for a way to make things better for her guests. "Added luxuries" ... chocolates on pillows, fresh flowers, biscuits and the best hosts anyone could ever wish for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

When people hear the words “hidden extras” it usually infers nothing good! However, in this case the hidden extras were all in our favour!
After being shown to our rooms we found a chocolate on every pillow. These were replaced every day.
The small fridge in the hall between the rooms was stocked with bottles of water and a jug of fresh milk. Once again these were replaced every day as were the sachets of tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
As Sue was showing us round she asked if we would like to use the FREE Wi-Fi? This is NOT mentioned on their website and was a very welcome surprise
Norton Cottage is exactly three minutes’ drive from the Lymington – Yarmouth car ferry terminal and as such is extremely convenient. However, the cottage its self should be renamed “Wisteria Cottage” as the lovely, white building is covered in this beautiful plant.
The two bedrooms we occupied are in a converted garage. The conversion had been sympathetically carried out and the rooms were lovely. The décor, which had a nautical theme, is soft and attractive, giving the rooms a warm comfortable feel. Both the double room and the single have a good, easily adjusted heater and we were told to have the heat as high or low as we wanted. Gone are the days of the harridan B&B landlady and the coin in the slot gas meters!
Both rooms have an en-suite shower room. The showers are walk in with sliding doors and there was no shortage of lovely, hot water. There are also several items supplied, such as tooth brushes, tooth paste and a razor for those who might have forgotten theirs. The towels were sparklingly white and luxuriously soft.
The beds are of a medium firmness and Jean, mum and I found them very comfortable. The double is large and the single of a good size. Everything was spotlessly clean. Sue came in every morning to “make-up” the rooms. She also offered to do and did, some washing for my mother!
Outside the rooms there is a wooden decking overlooking the garden. This is for the sole use of the guests. At the rear of the main house is a “sun lounge” which leads into the breakfast room. This lounge is also open to guests at any time of the day or night. Jean and I spent an hour or so each morning sitting in this watching the garden wildlife. This consisted of many rabbits, a couple of red squirrels, jays, magpies, crows, pigeons and on a couple of fleeting occasions a fox!
There is an annex to the main building which contains another double bedroom.
BREAKFAST: On our first and subsequent mornings the table was set with fruit juices, cereals, milk, yogurts and best of all for Jean, a very fresh fruit salad. Sue made this every morning and apart from the usual apple, melon and orange, contained such delights as strawberries, blueberries and raspberries.
We were asked what we wanted for our breakfast from the available local sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms. We were then asked how many sausages, rashers of bacon and eggs and how would we like our eggs! Having made our choices were then offered brown or white toast.
On arrival, the breakfasts turned out to be beautifully cooked, large and delicious. Sue and Roger could not seem to stop asking us if we wanted more. They certainly tried to fatten us up, a task very much to my liking.
Sue and Roger bent over backwards to make our far to brief stay (5 nights) a fantastic experience and a holiday we will always remember. They are a mine of useful, local knowledge including the numbers of the local taxis.
So that I could have a drink with dinner we used the taxis every evening to visit local pubs and restaurants. There are enough of these within a 5 – 10 minute drive to fill a couple of weeks of drinking and dining.
We have been very fortunate over the years to have been to many very good B&Bs and can say without hesitation that Norton Cottage is the best in all respects.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank Sue and Roger and wish them lots of luck with their business.
We can happily recommend Sue and Roger’s “home from home” to anyone, no matter how discerning and hard to please!
Peter, Jean & Peggy. :o)

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Norton Cottage Halletts Shute, Yarmouth PO41 0SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Norton Cottage Bed And Breakfast Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing