We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a stay with friends than a B&B”

Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay on the I of W at Norton cottage. We could not have been treated better had we been family. Sue and Roger were excellent hosts catering for all our needs with joviality and willingness. We went over on bikes which were securely stored when not in use and the room was pleasant and well appointed. We stayed in the Solent room which is detached from the main house, This was excellent comfortable and very quiet the enormous king size bed is great and really comfortable. Breakfast is a feast with all the usual suspects cereal, fruit, juices, yoghurt, toast and a full English with local produce cooked fresh to order. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt really relaxed and at home. Thanks to Sue an Roger for a great place to stay and allowing us just to get on with our break without any accommodation issues. We are already planning a return trip. PS there is a great bus service on the island if you need it with a stop about 50m from the gate of the cottage with a regular service.

Room Tip: Families should go for the Solent room which has a smaller twin close by with own en suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Norton Cottage on our first trip to the IoW. At first we had some difficulties finding the B&B and missed the driveway, but that managed, we found a cute little house and were welcomed warmly by Sue. Our room was adjecent to the main building, tiny but lovingly decorated. There was a tin of bisquits and tea/coffee making equipment waiting for us. The cookies were stocked up every day! Behind the building is a very nice garden and guests are welcome to use the winter garden next to the breakfast room.
Breakfast (full English) is delicious and more than enough.
Sue and Roger are very openminded hosts and really helpful.
We would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had the good fortune to stay in this superb bed and breakfast at the end of May whilst exhibiting at the Gaffers Festival. Sue and Roger really know how to look after you, especially as we were coming in tired after working all day. They are lovely hosts and we hope to stay with them again. We stayed for 3 nights in the Garden Room, which is small but functional with beautiful linens etc. and so so quiet - bliss! Breakfast was yummy and it was lovely having the use of the conservatory to eat our DIY supper each evening by candlelight - thanks Sue.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sawdust17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located in a quiet location about 15 minutes' walk from Yarmouth, the cottage oozes charm, and its rooms are furnished in beautfiul taste and offer every comfort. The hosts (a more suitable word than owners!), Sue and Roger, will work indefatibably to make your stay as special as possible. In addition to serving superb breakfasts, when asked for the loan of an iron, Sue promptly ironed the shirt for a fellow guest. And Roger was up early to drive us to the ferry. A wonderful place with outstanding service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Sue and Roger gave such a warm welcome as we pulled up in the drive. Nothing was too much trouble. We were shown around and before we could put the kettle on, Sue had made a tray of tea - we sat on the veranda enjoying the tea and sunshine!

Breakfast was delicious - especially the large bowl of mixed fresh fruit; the full English platter was one of the best we had ever tasted.

Our room was warm and the bed comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for tired cyclists! The large bottle of water came in very handy too.

Would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My Girlfriend and I stayed at this lovely Cottage on the 23/04/14 for two nights. I kinda picked it at random and have no regrets.
The reason I've only given it an 'Average' score was that the room we was allocated, although functional, was rather small and anymore than a two nights stay would have been too much! Also, the TV provided didn't pick up an adequate signal and kept 'breaking up'. The Radiator in our rooms ( including Shower room ) didn't have an independent On/Off control system and was controlled by the Proprietors using the overall propertys timer ( we was informed that the other rooms did have independent controls )
Saying all that, for the length of time we spent in the place it really wasn't a big deal.
Sue and Roger were very welcoming, pleasant and informative.
The Location was Ok, approx. 15 Min walk to the 'Town Centre', but, because there wasn't an obvious House Number to input into the Sat Nav. we kept driving past when first looking for it!
The Ferry to Lymington is situated only about 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: If staying when it's cold, ask for the Room with the independent On/Off radiator control and may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A very warm welcome by the owners Sue & Roger. They were very friendly and we felt very comfortable because of them.
We booked a stay for a weekend but we liked it so much that we extended our stay by 2 more days.
The Breakfast - It was awesome. A complete English Breakfast.The fruits were simply delicious. The Breakfast was cooked by Sue and it was fantastic.
The Room - We stayed in Solent Room. It was very neat and tidy and classy with a peaceful view. Two Ferrero Rocher, tasty biscuits were kept in our room daily alongwith milk\tea\coffee\cadbury highlights :)
All in all the hospitality was really amazing.
Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaKulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland Bay
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Norton Cottage Halletts Shute, Yarmouth PO41 0SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Norton Cottage Bed And Breakfast Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing