We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average experience.....disappointed”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Below Average experience.....disappointed”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

What's good
1. Great location in Yarmouth.
2. Amazing historic building that has been well preserved.
3. Great garden and outside space overlooking the sea.
4. Very comfy bed, lovely bedding.
5. Nice room although very small (side room woken up by bin men early)
6. The waiter who sorted out the disaster that was dinner(see below) in the absence of any management.

What's not so good.
1. Staff not interested, there is no feeling that you are staying in a hotel. The main staff are anonymous you may as well be staying in a B&B. Not that I want overbearing staff but a Good Morning or How was your day? wouldn't go a miss. Part of the problem here is that there is no real reception other than an office under the stairs, with a small desk. Don't know if it was end of Season fatigue, but shouldn't be my problem.
2. The Restaurant - we booked two nights here on the strength of the restaurant reviews. I can only imagine we had a bad day, but it was beyond bad it was an absolute shocker.
In short, I ordered the Veal rump and a fillet and my wife ordered Plaice. After a reasonable starter the Plaice came out to my wife, which was shockingly overdone. It looked like it had been poached in a water bath to an inch of its life - this was bad but worse was to follow. My veal was delivered with an explanation that only the rump was done and I would get the fillet later on a side plate when the chef was ready. I couldn't believe what I was hearing - the fillet eventually came, after I had finished everything else and it was burnt black- i.e. as black as a lump of coal, nice enough on the inside but all you could taste was the burnt meat on the outside. Until this point I would have let it go but this was appaling, I couldn't believe that a chef would consider either serving a dish in two halves or indeed releasing something so clearly burnt. I later learnt it wasn't the regular chef, which if true meant there should have been even better care by the front of house management.
3. This is really the point, it just didn't look like anybody cared or was managing the standards that many reviewers talked about and this summed up the whole experience. You just didn't feel like a guest.

The whole experience was a real let down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    109
    41
    28
    8
See reviews for
73
186
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed for a few days during Cowes week when the whole island is at its busiest. The hotel in right in Yarmouth village on the waterside and seems to be several hundred years old.

inside the decor is very definitely old school English but charming and well maintained. Room was not huge but very comfortable and the bed was a delight.

While we did not have a sea view there was not too much road noise though sleeping with the window open meant being woken by rubbish trucks emptying skips down the lane (at 7am)

The best bit was the restaurant which gave a fantastic fresh cooked breakfast every day and an outstanding meal on the one night we ate in. Top marks.
The garden and bar were well patronised on the sunny days though it did seem to close fairly early at night.

All in all a lovely spot and probably worth the extra for the sea rooms

Room Tip: Avoid side rooms above the bin wagon pickup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed at the George in July. Had the room Charles II stayed in. Full of character - wonky floors and doors and despite the wood panelling it didn't look like a sauna. Downside was it looked out onto the road where there was a noisy pub, although that didn't stay open too late. Ate in the restaurant where the food was interesting and well executed. Restaurant service was mostly very good with some real characters, although some of the waitresses could remember to smile occasionally. Not cheap, but good value for a special weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viermabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Yarmouth is the ferry port for the west of the Isle of Wight and is ideally placed for trips to places of interest. The George is at the heart of the town/village right next to the terminal and within easy walking distance of various pubs and restaurants. It's a great place to spend a few days.

The rooms are priced individually and vary in size considerably - as you would expect in an old building. We had dinner, which becasue of some pretty foul weather, could not be taken on the sea-facing lawn to the rear of the hotel. High quality, if a tad pretentious, but on the expensive side. When the weather is good. the garden is a marvellous spot for lunch but on warm days it gets very busy especially when the yachties are in town.

Thye only real issue was with breakfast, a complete shambles with orders arriving at different times (and in the wrong order in one case!), limp toast (actually it had just been waved at the machine). It is not up to the standard you should expect.

This was my third visit (two previous ones for business reasons) and the George is well worth a vsiit - especially if you can get a deal on the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A wonderful stay..the service was second to none. The standard of food was excellent. Had a fantastic evening meal and this is easily the best place to eat in Yarmouth if not on the whole island. It is in a superb waterfront location looking out across the solent.
One little niggle is the size of the cereal portions in the morning which is half of a small bowl. I always eat plenty of cereal and the waitress had no problem bringing me two full bowls each morning. I am sure the hotel will address this. The salmon eggs benedict was something to die for and everything else was fantastic.
This hotel is great value and the management and staff are lovely. It has our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a lovely stay at The George this weekend, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. For us, the restaurant was the highlight with superb views over the Solent - great atmosphere and both the food and wine excellent. Bedroom was pretty with very comfortable bed, also lovely and clean. Quaint little town with some quirky little shops and loved the cafe at the end of the pier. Good base for walking, had two good long stomps along cliff tops. Definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessjames9985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at The George for three nights and this was our first visit to the Isle of Wight. We arrived on the Lymington-Yarmouth Ferry and within 5 minutes we were in the hotel - the journey on foot was shorter but as we were in the car we had to use the one way system. The hotel is ideally placed for the ferry and the small town which is filled with lovely shops and endless eating venues! The hotel itself doesn't have parking but there is a Pay and Display car park which is 5 minutes away and is 6 pounds 60 pence for 24 hours - which is very reasonable! We were allowed to load and unload the luggage outside the hotel.

The welcome we received at The George was warm and friendly and our room was delightful with a view over the Solent. The bathroom was large and every attention to detail was included. There was even an iron and ironing board in the room but surprisingly no kettle although the staff were happy to bring early morning tea to the room and we were not charged for this!

Dinner was delicious and the restaurant overlooks the water. There is a lovely garden with tables, chairs and umbrellas which goes right down to the pebble "beach". Breakfast was similarly delicious with a good choice on the menu.

All in all we had a delightful and very relaxing stay and we can't wait to return! Thank you to all at The George!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
810 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
292 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing