We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed here at the end of December. All the staff that we encountered during our 2 day stay of the highest calibre, particularly the restauarant manager and the Spanish girl on reception. We ate on the second night at the brasserie, which appeared to have just been extended and refurbished. The food and the service was superb. There was humming from the engines of the ferry that run through the night but it really wasn't a problem and we found it bizzarely soothing ! We found Yarmouth and the Isle of Wight come to that, a delightful place ..and what a pleasure to be served everywhere we went, by bright, cheerful people who understand English....in direct contrast to almost anywhere south of Watford !

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2007

Having found this hotel through the Times' "Boltholes" features. We went down to Yarmouth for a weekend away at the end of October. We booked three nights for the price of two and this made the price seem quite reasonable for a hotel of this standard, we even booked a superior room.

Our room ws spacious (#26 - there are only 28) with a large king size bed, two sash windows overlooking the solent and a seperate bathroom reached by an interconnecting (stepped) passageway. The room was very comfortable and cosy with wood panelling and a rich wallpaper. We spent lots of time, cuddled up, in our room, as we both had terrible colds.

Service was 'laid back', but then this isn't a hotel to use, if you have things to do!! How could we complain, when our day started with a knock at the door, two huge pots of tea/ coffee, the papers and then a huge hour-long breakfast over said papers...

The rest of the food looked great, the brasseries is especially busy and recently extended. Our colds meant that it wasn't worth the blow out (we can recommend the nearby Wheatsheaf for a simpler meal).

The whole hotel is being renovated at present- so check on the affect this may have on your stay. The garden ws being repaved (that lush green lawn has gone, temporarily) and some aspects of the property have scaffolding, whilst they repaint. A planning notice also states that the small outbuilding at the water's edge will be made into a suite- sounds like it will be a great place to stay!

Out of season, the Isle of Wight makes an interesting weekend away. We wandered around Cowes, hiked out to the Needles battery and visited Osborne House (fascinating). It is a bit quiet though, expecially on this side of the island and top the South of Yarmouth.

I'd thoroughly recommend the The George and Yarmouth for a romantic break or to getaway from hectic, everyday life...

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We have been to the Isle of Wight on many occasions and always wanted to stay here. It is very close to the ferry terminal but always seemed too expensive. Even the menu on the outside of the hotel was too expensive for us.
However the hotel has a special offer between 1 November and March 31st. The normal room rate is £255 per night B & B but we had 2 nights for one and paid £255 in total and this also included full evening meals on both nights (this would normally be at least £40 per person per meal at other times)
The Hotel restaurant was being refurbished and we were told in advance in case we would not be happy with the alternative. However we ate in the Brasserie and really enjoyed the food. The tables were a bit spartan (intentionally) but there was a good atmosphere in the restaurant.
The accommodation was on the second floor (no lift) and overlooked the Yarmouth square. There was a good sized room with a separate sitting room . Both rooms had good TV 's and included Sky Sports channel.Large bathroom with separate bath and good size walk in shower. Beds extremely
comfortable.Rooms spotless
Hotel was quiet (as was most of Yarmouth) as it was out of season
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and the evening meal was excellent. Not large portions but very well presented and adequate amount of food for us. The house wine was £14.95.
The proprietor and all the staff were very accommodating and nothing seemed too much trouble.
The hotel was a bit "dark" and could do with some redecoration but we considered it fantastic value for money during this "special offer" period.
One downside is the lack of designated parking but you can park free in the Square between 6.00pm and 10 am. Large paying car park about 500 yards away which is well used .
If you get a chance try the Wheatsheaf pub nearby for lunch-busy (a good sign as the locals go there) and excellent value.
This side of the Isle of Wight has some fantastic walks and Yarmouth harbour is a delight to sit and watch the comings and goings. If you want a momento then pop into Robert Scotts' on the Quay who has some lovely paintings of West Wight scenes. He won't be there if the lifeboat is on duty though!

We thoughly recommend this hotel and will certainly go again in the off season

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Channon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2006

A really lovely hotel with utterly charming staff and great food. I had a disappointing experience elsewhere earlier this week and this was so refreshing. Just off the ferry, a warm welcome, a comfortable room and really lovely food. I was on business but would have loved to have had my partner along.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CloudCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2006

We have returned from a one night stay at the George (2 adults and a 3 yr old).

The hotel is in a nicely maintained Georgian building with a small garden directly on to the Solent. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially with keeping my road racing bike safe in a shed, loaning us a baby monitor and preparing food early for our daughter. I would say they couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was at the top of the hotel and had lots of space for the Z bed for Poppy - in fact it was in a small lounge area.

Our only criticism was the restaurant food (not the cafe/bistro). It had very high ideas and was overly complicated, complications that were not matched by the skill of the chef. The result was seven courses of not terribly well prepared food that was very disappointing and expensive at almost £50 per head without wine. It would have been much more rewarding for the meal to have been 3/4 courses of more thoroughly prepared and thought out food with less skill required.

We would go back but would eat out or in the much less pretentious bistro/cafe in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank shreddie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
East Sussex
134
Reviewed 20 September 2005

We hired two double rooms one with a beautiful view over the solent the other four poster bed overlooking TSB Bank and the entrance to the pier.

We stayed for four nights Friday to Monday morning (Bank Holiday). Advice always book your ferry, there was no suggestion to do this in our booking confirmation and as a result had to leave our car in Lymington and journey with our luguage as foot passengers across the water.

Consolation being that it was a short distance to drag our cases along the pavement to the hotel.

The accommodation would be described as average.

On our first morning for breakfast, although there were few guests in the breakfast room we had a fifty minute wait for our english breakfast to arrive.

The night times were noisy with late drinkers walking by the rooms talking and early mornings the noise of the ferry starting up and the tractor being driven past the rooms by the man whom empties the rubbish bins on the pier, leaving the engine running and slinging the bags into the back of the trailer unit, was I can say very noisy.

I have stayed in much less expensive accommodations around the UK and found this to be, so far the noisiest and most average relating to charges.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis1693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
325 reviews
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £139 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing