We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...superb short break”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 9th March...excellent room on 2nd floor with a view including Yarmouth Pier and the Solent towards Lymington. Watching the Lymington-Yarmouth car ferry became part of the view also - extremely skillful steering by the captain especially on the very foggy mornings!

The George offers fresh tea/coffee to your room in the morning or you can request a tray with kettle to make your own. A cafetiere with 'proper' coffee and fresh milk was provided each day - much appreciated.

We ate in the restaurant at the hotel on two evenings...the food was very good but some kitchen/service issues were evident both nights. Similar issues were apparent on two of the three mornings for breakfast.

Otherwise we'd have had no hesitation in giving the full 5 stars to this hotel.

Would we visit again? Defintely!

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatnapWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Four intrepid senior snow avoiders sailed across the Solent early February for an awayday in Yarmouth, staying over night at the most comfortable George Hotel. We visited the gallery studios, supped the local Yates ale, watched the international rugby broadcast from Murrayfield, dinned at the King Charles Inn and partied late with the In Crowd band at Bugle Coaching Inn across the square. All within 50 yards of the George. The wellcoming George is situated conveniently adjacent to the Ferry Terminal, on the sea front with pleasant views across the water to Lymington, with cosy oak panelled bar lounge, antique furnishings, and warm log fire, and a delightfuly open breakfast room lounge and patio. Tea served to the room before breakfast. A gem.

Room Tip: Sea views to Lymington
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobTFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of October - fortunately we basked in 30degrees and beautiful sunshine. The hotel was comfortable, spotlessly clean, and the service friendly and helpful. The location and views are stunning. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Slightly quirky - a number of things listed on the menu weren't available - but the explanations given were so charming that it was hard to mind that, for example, there was neither ham nor smoked salmon for the eggs Benedict at breakfast, although the menu offered this choice. The atmosphere is great - lots of vigorous yachting families but plenty of room for the more land bound visitors too. It was good to stay in a hotel which has its own identity, even if chintzy bedrooms are not to one's taste.

It's worth pointing out that one definite drawback for some visitors would be the access - parking in public spaces nearby is very limited and it would be difficult to unload luggage if you were travelling alone with small children or if you or companions had significant mobility problems, since it is not possible to park in the narrow street outside the entrance. There is no lift. The rooms we had did not have walk in showers; I do not know whether there is an accessible ground floor room.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have been to the George at Yarmouth at least a dozen times in the past 5 years. It is a great location with lovely views across the Solent to Lymington and it is great to sit in the garden on a sunny lunctime and watch the comings and goings into the harbour. On this ocassion there were five of us for lunch. My previous visit some 6 weeks or so before had been a little disappointing so allowing them the benefit of the doubt here we were again. A nice table on the patio in the garden overlooking the Solent on a nice hot August day - no sunshade for our table, although some of the other tables did have. There were plenty of staff and probably another 8 or 10 tables were occupied so not what I would consider 'flat out busy'. It took an unacceptable length of time for any of the staff to take our drinks order and even longer for the 2 bottles of wine we ordered to arrive. The lunch time menu is somewhat reduced compared to a couple of years ago with a choice of perhaps 3 starters and three main meals (there used to be a a la carte menu at lunctimes). Unfortunately the waitress managed to give the five of us two different menus - three of us had that days menu and the other two had the previous days menu! When this confusion was overcome and we all had the same menu from which to choose I thought it would be easy - wrong.
Whilst the menus were being exchanged for ones that showed what we could eat today and not yesterday I ordered some oysters as a pre starter for all of us to share whilst enjoying the sunshine and still waiting for the wine to arrive. The wine duly arrived followed some minutes later by the oysters which rather oddly arrived on a plain white plate with no ice but just two halves of lemon. At this point we placed our food order and the waitress disappeared only to return some few minutes later to apologise as the kitchen had run out of some of the dishes we had ordered - back to the menus and another bottle of wine whilst deciding what to have now from the even more condensed menu.
The service was slow, the food when it arrived was very good - as it always has been here but the prices are at the upper end of what you can pay locally (the wine is particuarly expensive - nearly £30 for a New Zealand Sauvignon that is £7 in Waitrose) and there are places offering better value within spitting distance but not with the fabulous views from The George. Would I go back? Probably not - the service has been getting gradually worse with each visit and the prices they charge would be tolerable only if the service was back to the standards of a few years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank michaelc1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was my first trip to the Isle and it could not have gone better!! The staff at The George were excellent - extremely helpful and attentive. The food was superb and all three meals were perfectly presented and delicious. Our seaview room on the top floor had fabulous views and was very comfortable. It was most definitely a 5* weekend and you will be seeing me again next year.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the Solent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were lucky enough to visit the Isle of Wight on the weekend of 1st and 2nd October when the weather was fantastic. Therefore we were not too surprised to find that the windows in our room were wide open when we arrived at 9.30pm. We closed the windows and went into the town to get some food. When we returned we discovered why the windows had been open - the room smelt of cigarette smoke. Despite the late hour I requested that we should be given another room. Whilst the room was nice, nobody should be asked to sleep in an ashtray! Although I was annoyed that we had been given a room which in my opinion was unfit for habitation, the hotel manager recovered the situation by immediately moving us to another room without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HGJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Querky but very good hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. A bit expensive but worth the extra if you want a special weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
9.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £124 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing