We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite places” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at The George in June, celebrating my mother's 80th birthday - it was a surprise for her and she loved it. As always a really comfortable hotel with a great ambience. We had perfect rooms (chosen with Marylin's help last year), two adjoining balcony rooms and the four poster room. We were hoping to have champagne on the balcony deck but it was far too windy! The food was very good, service also very good - one very helpful guy (sorry don't know his name) in the restaurant who we quizzed remorselessly about various things to do with the history and the food, always came back with an answer and a smile - he was probably glad when we left. Our stay coincided with the IOW festival, and there were a couple of festival goers staying at the hotel (glamping rather than camping!). Look forward to staying again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    102
    37
    26
    6
See reviews for
69
178
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for a weekend here in one of their balcony rooms. We were lucky with the weather so got to experience the best the hotel has to offer. The food was exceptional and that really was the the difference for us. Others have moaned about the service in the hotel but i'm not sure why. I think people must have the wrong expectations from staff these days. Anyway loved the room and the location bang on the ferry terminal is very handy. Parking was not ideal but we didn't stay there for that reason. Would highly recommend for the food alone, worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Visited the George for an after dinner drink Jubilee week. The covered pavilion came with heaters and blankets. Just as well as it was b.....y freezing weather. We just had coffees but the menu looked tempting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My partner took me to Yarmouth as a surprise for my Birthday at the end of April. We stayed at The George for two nights. This hotel is lovely. Inside the decor is classic with a modern twist, and very up together. The service is really second to none, nothing was too much of a problem for any of the staff. Our room (room 1) was huge! And beautifully appointed. We didn't have sea views, but this didn't matter as the room had large sash windows and a lovely large comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge and again very well appointed (it felt new!). The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and really nice and what a view!! The weather was awful all weekend, but this really didnt dampen our spirits, there are lovely shops and restaurants right on the door step of the hotel, and one day we got a taxi over to Cowes which was also lovely.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and we will no doubt be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

As you may already know the Isle of Wight exists to some extent in a time before the worlds current problems, some say even well before time began. The George is about location and in the main absolutely excellent service. The location in the centre of Yarmouth close to the excellent Wightlink ferry service and overlooking the Solent is beautiful, with parking nearby in the town, although it could be somewhat more difficult in the full summer months there were no problems at all in April this year. The restaurant is really well run with all staff welcoming and helpful to the extreme and providing off menu items without a hesitation. Our room overlooking the Solent was well appointed and comfortable.So all good so far but !!.
Apparently the property is owned partly by an ex rock star (explains the many guitars evident as part of the decoration) and the commodore of the local Yacht Club. I am sure both of these people live in the up-to date world where the internet is as much a requirement for travellors as the water out of the taps is. But I am afraid the biggest letdown here is is it's almost unavailable unless you stand on one leg at various times of the day near reception , then Voila !! it is there just.

Come on guys please you can not let yourselves down in this way.

Also as far as technology goes the recent digital upgrade of TV transmissions locally has caught these folk trowsers down BigTime. Again lets catch up and be 100% Please.
We are back on the island shortly, I shall check for upgrades, but we may stay elsewhere which is a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

0verall we had a wonderful 3 nights at the George - the sun shone so we got to sit in the garden and enjoy watching the ferries coming and going beside the pretty pier.
We feel that we were mislead on a few of the details concerning our booking - firstly we were not aware that the hotel did not have its own car park until we received our final confirmation letter. We were on a Romantic Break for two nights which included Champagne and chocolates but actually only half a bottle of champagne was produced. Dinner was excellent as were the breakfasts so well done to the chef, but the service let the occasion down - it appeared that the staff were inexperienced and untrained.
We stayed in Room 26 with rooftop views - no safe but a gun cupboard!!!!. No tea or coffee making facilities! By prior arrangement morning tea was brought to the room which was a nice gesture but not what we were expecting. I had to clean the shower head to get enough water through it, the toilet roll holder was hanging off and the toilet seat was loose! Little things which were easily overcome but our expectations was for very high standards.
We loved our time on the Isle of Wight but did not feel that the standard justified the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonic985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The George never fails to please. We stayed in room 22 which although on the side of the hotel, still afforded a good view of the solent. A charming sitting area with tasteful furnishings. The only slight downside was the bathroom with a very weak shower and a horrible shower curtain. Just silly little things that can be easily rectified. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant which was faultless. The waiting staff are first class with a friendly yet efficient manner and top marks to the kitchen staff. Breakfast was also very good. We have stayed at the George several times and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing