We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, character hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, character hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in March. Its a nice hotel and well situated next to the pier in Yarmouth. We stayed in room 15, which is one of the balcony rooms overlooking the solent and is probably the best room in the hotel, so this has no doubt influenced the score. The room was well equipped, only problem was lack of water from the shower, but decided not to deduct from the score for that. Breakfast excellent overlooking the water. We didn't have dinner there so can't comment on that. At our off season rate it was reasonable value, at full price I would score it a 4.

Room Tip: Room 15 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    103
    37
    27
    7
See reviews for
71
178
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel is very quiet (our visit was out of season) and therefore very relaxing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and overlooked the sea which was great. The bed was nice and soft yet supportive so we had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast and lunch were excellent with a focus on good quality ingredients.

From central London to the hotel door it takes about 3 hours 30 minutes by public transport but is well worth the time as the hotel, the town and surrounding area feel a million miles away from working life.

Highly recommended, particularly for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We (three couples) went on a weekend trip to Yarmouth and had booked into The George.......When we went into the Hotel we were welcomed and taken to our rooms by the receptionist, who insisted on carrying our cases for us....The rooms were lovely, spacious and bright....I have never slept in such a comfortable bed, the room overlooked the Solent (room 19) and you could watch the ferry coming and going........The staff couldn't do enough for you, which was great....The weather was terrible, very cold and windy, and the log fire in the lounge was very welcoming....We had dinner in the Hotel to celebrate my Birthday and it was absolutely delicious every course was just perfect...The Hotel organised flowers from my Husband to be delivered to my room, which was a lovely surprise!... The only downside for me was not having tea/ coffee facilities in the room although tea was offered in the mornings served in your room, which again was a nice touch.......We all agreed that we would defiantly want to return to such a wonderful Hotel...Thank you to all the staff for making my weekend very special!

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and 19 had large Balconies over looking the Solent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We visited the IOW during the half term break and due to the weather headed to the nearest place for lunch. The hotel was warm and inviting and the food delicious . The menu catered for the wide range of tastes in our party . The veggie option was outstanding and although its label of carrot salad did not instantly appeal the dish itself was one of the best I have eaten. Our party also ordered chicken, lamb and fish dishes and based on the comments and clean plates were equally delicious .
The service was prompt but not rushed and the staff friendly.
We entended to explore Yarmouth and the pier but instead settled for coffee and hand made chocolates in the wood panelled lounge on a comfy sofa by an open fire.
We will be going back in the summer if not sooner

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmoo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest, uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed on one of the special £120 b&b nights which is very good value. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building is amazing and the Hotel makes you feel relaxed straight away.
Our room was pretty cold on arrival but we dumped our bags and headed to the Kings Head opposite where they had a roaring fire and the rugby match on.
The bed was very comfy and we had a great nights sleep. Morning tea is extra but I guess you could take your own travel kettle and tea etc.
However breakfast was delicious, scrambled egg & smoked salmon, hubby had a full english. It filled us up for the whole day until our evening meal.
Its nice that you don't have to rush to check out the next day, 11am I think.
We took the car this time and parking is in the long stay a short walk away, though there is a short stay car park next to the Hotel. Traffic wardens definitely operate in the area so its not worth the risk.

Room Tip: We always like a sea view room, its therapeutic and mesmerising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilathedoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamonts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We lived on the IOW for many years and had no reason to stay here until now. We booked a last minute night away so see friends and were not disappointed.
As a late deal we paid £99 for two for one night B & B and had intended to book dinner. However the veggie option was carrot risotto - which we did not fancy. So we walked to the Red Lion at Freshwater and had a lovely meal.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and had a lovely a sew-view, we had booked a standard room and that is what we got on the top floor even though the hotel was very empty. Nice robes, towels and toiletries. We arrived around 3pm and asked for some tea & cake, but could not believe that there was nothing for guests to ear. We were told that lunch had ended at 2.30 and dinner was from 7pm I think - I did say we did not want a full afternoon tea, but tea & scone or a toasted tea cake would be fine - but there was nothing available other than a tea or coffee. This shocked me for a hotel of this caliber as surely many people arrive around this time on a Friday afternoon.
Our breakfast the next morning was lovely, helpful staff, lovely view and all in all a very nice place to stay – would certainly stay again – but whether its worth £200 - 300+ a night is another matter

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I spent a lovely weekend at Yarmouth in the The George.

Good: I can not fault the B&B service we received: Great location for Yarmouth and exploring the I.O.W., superb breakfast over looking the sea and bed room finished to a very high standard.The staff were all very friendly.

Bad: I decided to splash out and have dinner at the hotel. Although the dining area is beautiful, unfortunately, for me this meal let the hotel down. Let me explain.

Before our meal we thought we would have pre dinner drinks. The seating next to the bar is lovely but very small. I found the other lounge a bit scruffy and cold. Where are the cocktails? Room information states cocktails are served in the bar, yet when asked about cocktails we were told they did not do them! The ontap beer was also warm. We felt disappointed with our pre-meal drinks and both said we should have gone to the pub.

Sample menus: The website shows sample menus that look incredible however the prices on these are far cheaper than in the restaurant ( e.g.the cheapest meal is under £14 when we were there the cheapest was £17).

The vegetarian evening menu (shown on the website) is not currently available, which means vegetarians only get one (uninspiring) choice per course. I paid almost 20 pounds for a main course which was very bland.Rice with lumps of carrot does not match the standard of the rest of my experience at this hotel. I suggest the chief be more adventurous when planning meat free options as I heared the other choices were lovely. Also, our selection of breads, as stated in the menu never came.My tomato and basil salad was sadly mainly lettuce and I had to ask for dressing. I felt disappointed with this meal as it cost me over £70.

Overall, a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms. I would recommend this hotel (already have) but thought it would not be a balanced truthful review without mentioning my dinning experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveshotsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing