We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George was quality”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I changed my mind a few times before writing this review, because it didn't seem as grand at first as i thought it would be.
However on reflection I have given this 4 stars as opposed to 5 for the following reasons.
The George is a very old building probably listed and as such only certain modernisations can be made. Our room was the harbour view Room 27 - not huge but enough for our needs and the floor dipped quite substantially, low ceiling on one side, and a glass of water would slide of the bedside cabinet on its own should it not be propped against something.
Other rooms in the building looked fabulous ( but of course you would pay extra) on average £190 a night. Should I visit again i would opt for the balcony rooms.
There is no concierge which is a shame as i think the place needs 'some one in charge' to address minor issues. One call to reception will get you most things but that doesn't have the 'seeing eye' if things aren't as they should be.
There is no porter and no lift and we were on the 3rd floor.
The stairs are warped with age and would be forgiven for thinking you'd had a brandy too many when negotiating them.
The view of the sea is to die for and that of course is what you're paying for and we had the added advantage of fantastic weather so all this helps.
The gardens are used by locals and non residents alike for drinks and lunch which made it busy at times but pleasant. there is a covered lounging area next to the outside bar which makes it very popular in good weather. the breakfast/dining room is a huge orangery which is bright and contemporary. There are quite a few additional sitting rooms to enjoy peace and quiet. Wood panelled, olde worldly feel but with modern touches and beautiful fresh flowers in the foyer. No one bothers you , one is left to enjoy their holiday unless you ask for something you need to know.
The one downfall is the breakfast/ menu. It is small , uninspiring and on 2 out of the 3 days was over cooked. There is minimal choice.......-enough might one say but I would have liked to have seen something a bit more interesting then kippers and full english. because of this we chose not to dine there in the evening, and as there were plenty of competition on our doorstop I feel we did the right thing.
The staff were polite and helpful, eager to please mostly, if a little young and inexperienced.
We were advised not to bring the car on the ferry as we were only staying a few days and the price was a whopping £100 return. The ferry is literally a stones throw from the hotel so this was good advice. However should I visit the Isle again with family over a longer period it would be worthwhile taking the car- but bear in mind in the summer months the 'places of interest' get mobbed and the car queues were long for the unfortunate few that did have a car. plus there is limited parking in the main town of Yarmouth. None in the hotel.
Saltys bar is next door and this gets busy and rowdy at weekends but it was all good fun and the noise didn't bother us as it quietened down after 12. All in all a nice , chilled laid back hotel, with fabulous views and a nice quiet civilised atmosphere.
Just one last thing it does have free wi fi but its shockingly poor - well on 02 it was anyway.

Room Tip: pay the extra go for a balcony with a view of the Solent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We regularly have lunch there off the boat but this time with the boat full we left the "kids" and had Room 28 at the last moment which was small but charming with spectacular sunset view over the harbour. The receptionist were excellent but somehow there is a strange "not welcome" atmosphere particularly from the breakfast staff.

As said elsewhere the back garden is charming with castle walls and a lovely view over the water BUT we seemed to have committed a cardinal sin by asking to have breakfast outside....it was a lovely sunny day and clearly the managemnet cannot be bothered to set out breakfast tables on the sunny terrace.

The place feels like "look we are only top hotel around here.........take it or leave it?!

Finally they have an anti dog policy even in the garden so we couldn't have a family breakfast...in the sun.

Room Tip: as stated avoid the street side. Room 28 is 2 floors up but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2013.
As stated in othere reviews it looked the part and appeared that it may be worth the money (not cheap!).
However the room weas disappointing with absolutely minimal wardrobe space (there appeared to be a locked gun cupboard in ours which took up most of the room), my wife could hang one or maybe two full length items and then there was no room for my jacket.
No tea or coffee facilities.

As far as eating was concerned, breakfast was poor with toast brought up before anything else and subsequently cold by the time anything else arrived and on two occasions standard breakfact foods "ran out" (muesli one day honey another).

Dinner was very good but very expensive.

Would have been a far better experience had the hotel lived up to it's publicity and reputation.

Such a shame as location is beautiful aaas is the buliding itself but this was a holiday where one comes away feeling cheated!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186225David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is the second time that we have eaten here this year and both times we have not been disappointed. The restaurant is very stylish and with an amazing outlook over the harbour and pier. There is the opportunity to eat outside if the weather is good. The food is beautifully presented and very tasty, some of the items are a little overpriced, but you do get good quality food. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, treat yourself!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sloper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Every thing was very nice at The George Hotel...My mother had a wonderful time sitting in beautiful sunshine and enjoying the amazing view over the sea and yachts...

Room number 1 was clean spacious and comfortable...

The only two problems there are the waiting staff who seem to have a memory lapse at any thing you ask them to bring to your table and the dead Sunflowers that were constantly in the reception..Not a good look..

Room Tip: Room number 1 was rather stylish and comfy...Very close to the Lymington Yarmouth Ferry to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay141958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Good location, but can be noisy and expensive. Beside semi-quaint characterful buildings and town has lots of charm. Good yachting harbour and very convenient for ferries. West Wight is best area to see.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rover099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a very nice dinner in the George last Sunday. You pay for the beautiful setting, which is completely understandable. The waitress was pleasant and efficient. The problem came at the end of our dinner, as we were sat at our table breakfast was set up around us......Weetabix and every thing! It wasn't late, about quarter to ten. So.....go early.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Prill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
9.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £124 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing