We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining at The George”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Six of us did the Fine Dining experience on 17th June in a redecorated room with a slight odour of paint. This didn't bother us, and was soon forgotten. We were the only ones present in a room that could accommodate about 30 covers. The three course menu was a set price of £70 each and the wine list ranged from about £18.00 for a bottle of Fleurie up to about £70. I guess more expensive options might be available. The service was friendly and the two men who served us seemed knowledgeable about the food and wine on offer - I thought they were overfriendly and a bit too informal, but others might not share this view. Service was a tad slow, we arrived at 1930 and rose from the table at 2230. We had the usual amuse bouche offering after we had ordered, and this was a horseradish cream topped with a little red mousse in the form of a small flower. Not sure what that tasted of. Starters included pigeon breast, rabbit and fishy things, which were well presented. Each dish was complicated - that is to say, whilst rabbit was the central element, there were lots of tiny accompaniments on the plate as well. The same could be said of the main courses - lots of little bits on the plate. My Belly of Pork came with a chunk of lobster, and they did not taste as if they were soul mates. The pork was excellent, in spite of the crustacean. The best part of the meal was the desserts, although I now forget what they were! Had the service been quicker, we might have lingered over a coffee and cognac, but we felt it was a bit late. Total bill was £600 but we were light on the wine front (just three bottles) and no cognac. Have a good night out, and it will cost you £130 per head, if you can stay awake until late into the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we are pleased you rated us 4 out of 5. We have passed your comments on to our team. All feedback is welcomed and will help us in our strive for excellence! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was spacious and had the best bed with pillows to match! The food was amazing... We have never had a meal out where one of us has not found fault... This was an exception, it was pricey but every course stood its ground... My bisque to start and his cod amazing... My tuna out do this world and his poussin was so tender and delicious with the chick pea accompaniment WOW!!!! We went to The George as we were hoping to eat Robert Thompsons food... Sadly the new restaurant was closed in Mondays... I hope what we experienced is a taster of the future of the George. It was bloody good!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kerry_dow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you – always a pleasure to receive such great feedback. Please come back very soon and experience Isla’s which is open for dinner Tues-Sat inclusive – 6.30pm -9.30pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Whenever we sail to Yarmouth we always make a point of eating at The George; it is always reliably good, the staff are really nice and always squeeze us in even if we haven't booked. Go there; you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 13_DBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thanks for the review – great that you always receive a good service from our team. That's what we aim for! Come again soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Popped in for a light lunch Weds 11th June, very busy garden in beautiful sunshine, service excellent especially the maître d, food excellent, overall expensive but the garden and views worth it and we'll worth the visit if on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRoffice1, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for the review – we had beautiful sunshine all day on Wednesday and a very busy service. Delighted to hear your excellent feedback and will pass it on to the team. We are very lucky to have a fabulous location with such a stunning view. Pleased you thought we are worth it!

Isla’s Restaurant opens this Friday. Do please come back and try our new fine dining experience.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spotted The George on our approach from Lymington and saw it was the perfect spot for our anniversary meal later in the week. Aware that the hotel has just changed hands and that the new head chef has already built an excellent reputation, so changes are being made. We had an enjoyable evening, but the food was a little disappointing. My husband loved his crab starter and freshly caught plaice, which he said was cooked to perfection. My carpaccio was goid and poussin OK, but the cherry jam and almond tart a big let down. It looked and tasted like it had been nuked in a microwave before serving rendering it cloying and tasteless. I hope this is not the experience in the new fine dining experience opening later this week! Overall price on the menu seemed fair, but charges of £3.50 per side order is outrageous. Surely when main courses cost £16-£20 a selection of veg can be included? Service was very polite and attentive. I wish the new owners and chef well in this venture and hope all is a success. However, they do need to rethink some of their food/pricing options for the bistro to improve the overall experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpgangGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRoffice1, The George Hotel at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback - all comments are helpful when reviewing our operations. We were very pleased that overall you had an enjoyable anniversary evening and we note your comments regarding your dessert and pricing. We will pass your good wishes to the team. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here a number of times a little over two years ago and my opinion then was that improvement was required and money needed to be spent, Well, the new owner since April this year is doing just that, this venue is now a lot tighter and shipshape and the restaurant is vastly improved with the Michelin star chef Robert Thompson at the helm and a new fine dining restaurant to complement the excellent Bistro and its most wonderful views, opens this Friday and will be an excellent place to watch The Round the Island Race on June 21st.
We have had two lunches in the last month and both were absolutely excellent, there is nowhere else to get as good food in West Wight as here, believe me, I am very hard to please. Also the staff are attentive and knowledgeable and eager.
If the rooms have not improved as much as the restaurant then I would be very surprised.
Good luck and all who sail here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRoffice1, Public Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you - we were delighted to read your comments and hear of the ”absolutely excellent” lunches you have enjoyed recently. We will pass your feedback on to the team, especially that you found 'this venue is now a lot tighter and shipshape and the restaurant is vastly improved'. Obviously, any new project takes time, but it is good to see that we are on our way!

We are offering a Round the Island Breakfast from 6.30am on 21st June and Isla’s Restaurant opens this Friday, so please join us for one of these, if you can. Many thanks & kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having enjoyed The George in the early days of it's previous ownership and then experienced it gracefully slide downhill we were full of expectation from the new regime. Perhaps the first really sunny Saturday evening of the year was not a good time to go, perhaps Saturday night is never a good choice.
Good points: The location remains outstanding. The wine list continues to offer a good selection of excellent value house wines, although I strongly suspect that the glass of Chilean Rose that I ordered was actually the French alternative. The greeting was friendly and efficient. The Brasserie restaurant remains comfortable, clean, light and airy with a great view over the garden to the Solent. The first courses, In our case the modern take on gazpacho and a local mozzarella with peas and beans were delicious.
Not so good:
There was a very long wait for the mains to arrive, it is always dispiriting to see one fellow diners streaking ahead to their puds, having started at the same time! When they did arrive they were neither inspired nor inspiring. I am sure that there is a new way of preparing bouillabaisse but this is not it.
It was the "garden salad" that was really unacceptable, it had never seen a garden and almost certainly came out of a bag of leaves from the local supermarket even the insipid dressing couldn't redeem it.
Having already spent £75 for two courses, including two gin and tonics and one and a half glasses of wine we really felt that to gamble on the desserts was unnecessary and went home to fill up.
I am afraid that it will take a lot of very positive comment before we go back.
To use a hackneyed phrase, "you can fool most of the people most of the time but.........."

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRoffice1, Public Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased there were many things that you enjoyed - the outstanding location, good selection of excellent value wines, the friendly & efficient greeting, and our lovely restaurant with great views and of course your starters.

Your points about the not so good - the garden salad, bouillabaisse and long wait will be discussed with the team to assist us in our endeavour to exceed expectations.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
17.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Priory Bay Hotel
Priory Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Seaview
427 reviews
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £137 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing