We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We came here for lunch on a beautiful sunny day. The two dogs were welcomed and we ordered lunch! Well it was just wonderful! We ended up staying for nearly 6 hours! Food amazing! Service impeccable! Big pat on the back for you guys! Will be visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pkirkp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed your lunch with us but were also able to take advantage of our garden with it's wonderful views. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome in the garden too. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    114
    42
    27
    11
See reviews for
76
192
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lunch today with my wife was almost inedible. I had loin of pork in an Indonesian soup with beans. The pork was virtually uncooked in parts and overall tasteless. At £23 it represented the worst meal and value for money I have experienced in a long time. My wife's fish pie was over salted and at £18 vastly overpriced.
A couple on the next table to us left their meal as it was inedible (Bouillabesse and Catch of the day) as the food was virtually raw.
What a great pity - a lovely location and great promise completely ruined by over-priced and inedible food.

Room Tip: Give The George a very wide berth!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
It is disappointing to receive a review such as this - particularly in light of the great ones we have had recently - but we have spoken at length to our Management Team who were involved with your service yesterday.

Our Head Chef has confirmed that the pork dishes were temperature probed before serving and that this dish is served with a spiced broth underneath which again is taste tested - so it was definitely not cold or without taste.

The fish pie which was a popular choice yesterday and received only positive comments from other diners.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your food - but if you would forward us your contact details,we can reply to you in more detail.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dinner for four in Isla's restaurant on Saturday night was simply excellent. Robert Thompson's menu was very interesting and contained numerous different and unusual food combinations, making choices difficult, not wanting to miss anything. After the amuse-bouche and home made breads and butters, and a small pre-starter, our starters arrived - all beautifully presented and explained by Joe, the young but skilled maître who got the balance between service and friendliness just right. We had a scallop dish, a rabbit selection, and a carpaccio of tuna - all really good. Our mains were three orders of Old Spot pork belly, served with lobster and lobster bisque, and one order of line-caught sea bass. Lots of treats on the plates, and tasted even better than they looked! Deserts were again a difficult choice as they all sounded wonderful. After a "pre-desert", they were, and one of our group had the cheese selection which was again well described. Our cocktails and wines brought the total cost to just under £400 before service. Expensive perhaps for the island, but so good. Diane Thompson, the new owner, was also on hand, making sure everyone in the simple but beautifully elegant dining room was happy and being well looked after. Thompson and Thompson - a winning combination. I suspect it will not be long before a new Star is awarded, and The George becomes a gourmet destination - and even better for us, it is just down the road!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreetopsWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Isla's last Saturday. We are trying to bring new levels of culinary experience to The George - and as Isla's is only two weeks old, things will only get better. Please pop down the road and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

The Thompsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

a warm welcome on our early arrival in the magnificent entrance hall decked with a beautiful floral setting. arriving back to take our room, luggage was already in our room 14. standard double! first rate! linen, bed, furnishings, and plenty of space.
the menus were somewhat fussy for our taste and we dined out.
the breakfast was splendid in every component. a glorious buffet followed by the freshest of cooked selection..crockery, cutlery, linen perfect.
the two young ladies who attended us were delightfully proffesional

Room Tip: room 14. standard double. certainly did not need an up-grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review – we are very proud of our entrance hall and our talented housekeeper who does such a wonderful job arranging the flowers each week. Sorry that you found our menus a little fussy. We can always simplify dishes if you ask. Great to remind you of the days of “Fine English Hotels”! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Six of us did the Fine Dining experience on 17th June in a redecorated room with a slight odour of paint. This didn't bother us, and was soon forgotten. We were the only ones present in a room that could accommodate about 30 covers. The three course menu was a set price of £70 each and the wine list ranged from about £18.00 for a bottle of Fleurie up to about £70. I guess more expensive options might be available. The service was friendly and the two men who served us seemed knowledgeable about the food and wine on offer - I thought they were overfriendly and a bit too informal, but others might not share this view. Service was a tad slow, we arrived at 1930 and rose from the table at 2230. We had the usual amuse bouche offering after we had ordered, and this was a horseradish cream topped with a little red mousse in the form of a small flower. Not sure what that tasted of. Starters included pigeon breast, rabbit and fishy things, which were well presented. Each dish was complicated - that is to say, whilst rabbit was the central element, there were lots of tiny accompaniments on the plate as well. The same could be said of the main courses - lots of little bits on the plate. My Belly of Pork came with a chunk of lobster, and they did not taste as if they were soul mates. The pork was excellent, in spite of the crustacean. The best part of the meal was the desserts, although I now forget what they were! Had the service been quicker, we might have lingered over a coffee and cognac, but we felt it was a bit late. Total bill was £600 but we were light on the wine front (just three bottles) and no cognac. Have a good night out, and it will cost you £130 per head, if you can stay awake until late into the night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we are pleased you rated us 4 out of 5. We have passed your comments on to our team. All feedback is welcomed and will help us in our strive for excellence! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and had the best bed with pillows to match! The food was amazing... We have never had a meal out where one of us has not found fault... This was an exception, it was pricey but every course stood its ground... My bisque to start and his cod amazing... My tuna out do this world and his poussin was so tender and delicious with the chick pea accompaniment WOW!!!! We went to The George as we were hoping to eat Robert Thompsons food... Sadly the new restaurant was closed in Mondays... I hope what we experienced is a taster of the future of the George. It was bloody good!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry_dow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you – always a pleasure to receive such great feedback. Please come back very soon and experience Isla’s which is open for dinner Tues-Sat inclusive – 6.30pm -9.30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Whenever we sail to Yarmouth we always make a point of eating at The George; it is always reliably good, the staff are really nice and always squeeze us in even if we haven't booked. Go there; you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13_DBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for the review – great that you always receive a good service from our team. That's what we aim for! Come again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
299 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing